Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 73
  • 0
  • 5
Dialled in
913 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

I have a SuperHub 3 (M350 package), area 21.

My downstream bonded channels:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500005.438256 qam21
2218750000538256 qam11
3226750000538256 qam12
42347500005.338256 qam13
52427500005.338256 qam14
62507500004.638256 qam15
7258750000538256 qam16
82667500005.438256 qam17
92747500004.838256 qam18
102827500005.138256 qam19
112907500005.538256 qam20
123067500004.838256 qam22
13314750000538256 qam23
143227500005.138256 qam24
154027500004.438256 qam25
164107500004.838256 qam26
174187500005.138256 qam27
18426750000538256 qam28
194347500005.340256 qam29
204427500004.638256 qam30
214507500003.938256 qam31
224587500004.438256 qam32
23466750000538256 qam33
244747500005.438256 qam

34

 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.690
2Locked38.670
3Locked38.6120
4Locked38.990
5Locked38.970
6Locked38.920
7Locked38.970
8Locked38.970
9Locked38.920
10Locked38.960
11Locked38.970
12Locked38.9140
13Locked38.9200
14Locked38.9180
15Locked38.970
16Locked38.930
17Locked38.960
18Locked38.940
19Locked40.360
20Locked38.980
21Locked38.630
22Locked38.980
23Locked38.660
24Locked38.920

 

I have tried turning the SuperHub 3 off for 10 minutes then turning it back on. Have checked all cables, tried different ports.

I tried running the online status test, but it's not working (says try again in 10 minutes).

Highlighted
  • 5.34K
  • 602
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
869 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Figures posted so far look to be within spec.  Could you post the Upstream figures and the network log?

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 73
  • 0
  • 5
Dialled in
858 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461998164.8512016 qam3
2393998754.725512016 qam4
3602996774.75512016 qam1
4537000604.825512016 qam2

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461998164.8512016 qam3
2393998754.725512016 qam4
3602996774.75512016 qam1
4537000604.825512016 qam2

 

Upstream seems to be working fine - around 36Mbps.

Network log:

 

Time Priority Description

17/12/2019 12:02:31Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2019 12:24:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 03:41:2ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 09:28:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 17:13:35ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 17:17:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 23:59:51ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/12/2019 04:11:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/12/2019 05:04:33ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/12/2019 06:46:11ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/12/2019 12:10:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2019 21:07:18ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2019 01:14:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2019 08:53:49ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2019 19:18:56Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2019 19:56:12ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2019 20:40:25ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2019 00:13:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/12/2019 23:01:4Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2019 00:52:21critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.34K
  • 602
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
854 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Your upload speed may be fine but the Upstream stats are showing only 16 qam modulation when normally it should be 64 qam.  This suggests that all is not well with the connection and the hub is struggling to connect at 64 qam.  Whatever is impacting the upstream connection could also be impacting download speeds.

Worth checking all VM cables are finger tight and if so then it might need a technician to visit and take a look at your connection.  It could also be a local area issue.  You can try calling VM and see if they are aware of an issue and / or book a tech visit.  Alternatively you can wait for the forum team to pick up this thread and see if their checks reveal anything.  I'd recommend the latter option as the staff here are more clued up than the call centre staff (usually 😉).

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 73
  • 0
  • 5
Dialled in
845 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Thanks for all your help! I just ran another speed test, and am now getting 378Mbps down, and 36Mbps up 🙂


@SCA1972 wrote:

Your upload speed may be fine but the Upstream stats are showing only 16 qam modulation when normally it should be 64 qam.


☝️Is this something I should be concerned about? Should I still call Virgin Media about this issue?

I checked all my cables/connections lastnight, but will do this again just to make sure.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 82
  • 1
  • 7
Up to speed
831 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Hello Scott was actually just about to post the exact same thread Area 21 here (Edgware) with Superhub 3 and on 200Mbps service and yesterday evening I too can confirm I went from 200Mbps to 10Mbps, several reboots and trying modem or router mode did not make any difference, and all wiring is tight.

I just figured VM were throttling me, but then realized they don't throttle or manage bandwidth anymore.

Anyhow speedtest this morning now shows 200+Mbps so its fixed for now.

So It probably was something on VM side that caused the 10x speed reduction yesterday evening especially if 2 people noticed it.

Highlighted
  • 3.76K
  • 55
  • 892
Community elder
798 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Tiny note, Scott, the upstream modulation doesn't indicate anything as far as a specific modem goes. It's based on measured SNR, pre- and post-FEC error rates on the upstream channel.

Modems have individual transmit power measurements that are responded to but no negotiation as far as SNR from a single device goes.

If a modem can't talk back at the modulation required and it's the only one the customer will see copious amounts of packet loss - see the cases of punters with low upstream transmit power and who are on 64 QAM channels. 

Highlighted
  • 82
  • 1
  • 7
Up to speed
770 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

Ok I ran some further test, speedtest site shows 200+Mbps, but as soon as I start a heavy download its auto throttling and capping me to 10Mbps.

Switching the downloads off and trying speed test shows I have been limited to 10Mbps from 200Mbps.

If I switch off the router and restart it sometimes I can get 200+Mbps again but as soon as I do a heavy download again it restricts it to 10Mbps.

Does VM still throttle or manage bandwidth ?

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.68K
  • 501
  • 871
Legend
754 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

How do you know that it isn't the other end running at 10Mbs?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.34K
  • 602
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
748 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: M350, Area 21, download speed only 7Mbps

While you are both area 21, that is just a billing code rather than a geographical area.  It indicates the cable company that originally laid cables in your area and some companies covered large and in some cases very far apart areas of the UK.

@scottdeagan are you anywhere near Edgware?  If so than you and @Topbloke may be impacted by an area fault that is local to you guys.

VM stopped throttling years ago so it is not VM throttling a connection, at least not deliberately due to a customer's usage.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks