Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
226 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

M100 new customer - slow speeds

Hi, had M100 installed 3 weeks ago.  Speed is variable, using speedtest.net sometimes get 70-90Mbps download, but often get 8-25Mbps.  Noticeable to son playing Xbox and streaming.

See below Downstream, upstream and network logs from Router status page.

Thanks for any help,

John.

=======================


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 138750000 7.9 38 256 qam 1
2 146750000 7.8 38 256 qam 2
3 154750000 7.3 38 256 qam 3
4 162750000 7 38 256 qam 4
5 170750000 7 40 256 qam 5
6 178750000 6.9 38 256 qam 6
7 186750000 6.9 38 256 qam 7
8 194750000 6.8 40 256 qam 8
9 202750000 6.6 40 256 qam 9
10 210750000 6.5 38 256 qam 10
11 218750000 6.3 38 256 qam 11
12 226750000 6.1 38 256 qam 12
13 234750000 6.3 38 256 qam 13
14 242750000 6 38 256 qam 14
15 250750000 6.4 38 256 qam 15
16 258750000 6.3 40 256 qam 16
17 266750000 6.8 38 256 qam 17
18 274750000 6.5 38 256 qam 18
19 282750000 7 38 256 qam 19
20 290750000 6.6 38 256 qam 20
21 298750000 7.1 38 256 qam 21
22 306750000 6.8 38 256 qam 22
23 314750000 7.1 38 256 qam 23
24 322750000 6.8 38 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 7 0
2 Locked 38.9 7 0
3 Locked 38.9 6 0
4 Locked 38.9 8 0
5 Locked 40.3 5 0
6 Locked 38.9 8 0
7 Locked 38.9 5 0
8 Locked 40.3 7 0
9 Locked 40.3 6 0
10 Locked 38.6 6 0
11 Locked 38.6 6 0
12 Locked 38.9 6 0
13 Locked 38.9 7 0
14 Locked 38.9 9 0
15 Locked 38.9 6 0
16 Locked 40.3 6 0
17 Locked 38.9 3 0
18 Locked 38.6 7 0
19 Locked 38.9 5 0
20 Locked 38.9 5 0
21 Locked 38.6 13 0
22 Locked 38.6 1 0
23 Locked 38.6 6 0
24 Locked 38.6 0 0

==========================

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46200000 41 5120 64 qam 3
2 39400000 40.5 5120 64 qam 4
3 32600000 40.3 5120 64 qam 5
4 25800000 39.5 5120 64 qam 6


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

======================

Network Log
Time Priority Description
24/10/2020 11:06:34 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/10/2020 13:01:42 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/10/2020 22:48:0 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:36 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/10/2020 02:43:32 notice SW download Successful - Via NMS
22/10/2020 02:38:47 notice SW Download INIT - Via NMS
21/10/2020 03:15:50 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/10/2020 01:34:15 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 22:38:57 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 20:55:42 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 14:07:39 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/10/2020 22:05:46 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/10/2020 10:01:18 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/10/2020 08:01:9 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2020 19:23:52 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/10/2020 11:02:39 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/10/2020 11:00:18 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/10/2020 11:00:13 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/10/2020 11:00:13 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/10/2020 11:00:13 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.81K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
216 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

What speed do you get at >> speedtest.net << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
209 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

Hi Mike, thanks for replying.

Answer is it varies a lot. 3 tests done today results were 15, 43 and 28 Mbps for download, see screenshots below.  Upload is usually 8-10, which I assume is correct.  Laptop is connected with CAT5e cable.  Not sure if laptop is 1Gbps capable, but earlier this week, the test result was 100-110 Mbps download with same setup (which I assume is full speed expected).

Cheers, John.

 

john186m_0-1603552706799.png

john186m_1-1603552968171.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
205 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

Also meant to add - I have followed the Virgin website standard troubleshooting and restarted the router, but haven't done a factory reset.  Would this help?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.81K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
203 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what does it report the 'connection speed’ as for the cable connected device you used for the speed test ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.81K
  • 925
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
202 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

If you want to try a factory reset , use this method ...

DO NOT DO THIS if the password on the base of the Hub is not legible or missing.

Instructions for Hub 3

Disconnect all unneeded ethernet cables from the rear of the Hub.

With the Hub Powered on use a paperclip or similar (I use a mobile phone SIM Slot tool) and do a pinhole reset.

Depress the pinhole switch for a timed 60 seconds then release.

DO NOT reboot the hub but allow it 5 to 10 minutes for it to boot itself up.

Once a steady white and no other lights are illuminated check your system again.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
196 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

The connection speed for ethernet connected laptop was 1000Mbps, so I take that as 1Gbps.

I will try doing the factory reset as per your method below.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.47K
  • 614
  • 1.82K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
187 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 new customer - slow speeds

@john186m Your speed test images have been rejected as they contain your WAN IP address and this is against the forum rules, to protect your privacy.  If you use the share options on the speed test results page you can add a link or embed an image of your results without your IP address.

Like this: 

 

The hub stats posted look OK.  The log shows some unusual errors on the 14th but nothing major since then.

Is it slow at any time of day?  Since the lock down a few areas are struggling with a lack of capacity, this typically results in slow speeds between 7am and midnight weekdays and all weekend but normal speeds outside of those hours.  

______________________
Scott

My setup: VM TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply