forumarchive,nothingtosee,
Menu
Reply
donnapkelly
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
752 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

I have a package which includes M100 fibre at a little over £100/month and I'm in the WA10 postcode district.

I have a Hub 2 in Modem Mode, and a Gigabit VPN router connected to that.  My computers are Gigabit hardwired to the router.  I don't use WiFi for machine connectivity, only for TV, phones, tablet.  Here's the issue:

Lunchtime download speeds on four consecutive days:  8.40, 7.81 Mbps, 9.42, and 6.18 Mbps.  I've ensured there's no other activity during these tests except the speed checker.  These very slow speeds are seriously affecting Remote Desktop session and and playing havoc with Teams and WebEx.

I sent a message via the online complaints facility but I haven't had a reply (I asked for email).  Anybody got any advice?

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
721 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ or http://192.168.100.1/  for modem mode . Don't log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs? (The tabs may differ slightly since it's a HUB 2).

At least we can check the stats to rule out an issue with the line.

0 Kudos
Reply
donnapkelly
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
671 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

Carl,

thanks for the quick response.

FYI, I've changed the Hub yesterday from 2 to a 3, but no significant difference.  Being a Sunday @ 1740 instead of mid-day during the work week helps, though.  Download speed a few moments ago is 13.2 Mbps.

The data requested is below.  By the way,, I didn't understand what you meant by 'don't log in'.  It's a bit tough to get to the Cable Modem Status  Home>Advanced Settings>Tools>Network Status otherwise.  I also included Status and General Configuration data at the end, just in case they might prove useful.

Also FYI, I've had to break this message into multiple posts because of the length limit.

Cheers, Donna

Network Log

Time Priority Description

26/07/2020 16:36:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 16:36:4Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/07/2020 21:48:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/07/2020 21:28:43noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/07/2020 17:29:13noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
24/07/2020 17:27:3noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
17/07/2020 20:26:0criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/07/2020 20:26:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/07/2020 20:22:32noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/07/2020 20:14:11noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
17/07/2020 20:08:44noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999694.45512064 qam3
2394000314.3512064 qam4
3537000144.45512064 qam2
4603000094.45512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
donnapkelly
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
668 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

<second part of response>

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13870000000.437256 qam32
22670000000.937256 qam17
32750000001.237256 qam18
42830000000.737256 qam19
52910000001.237256 qam20
62990000001.737256 qam21
73070000001.437256 qam22
8315000000137256 qam23
93230000000.737256 qam24
103310000000.938256 qam25
113390000000.737256 qam26
123470000000.537256 qam27
133550000000.737256 qam28
143630000000.938256 qam29
153710000000.237256 qam30
163790000000.437256 qam31
17395000000037256 qam33
18403000000-0.237256 qam34
194110000000.437256 qam35
204190000000.237256 qam36
21427000000037256 qam37
224350000000.237256 qam38
23443000000037256 qam39
24451000000-0.737256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.61200
2Locked37.3540
3Locked37.3370
4Locked37.6500
5Locked37.3410
6Locked37.6410
7Locked37.6360
8Locked37.6440
9Locked37.6550
10Locked38.6450
11Locked37.6720
12Locked37.6940
13Locked37.6800
14Locked38.6900
15Locked37.31410
16Locked37.61200
17Locked37.61920
18Locked37.31920
19Locked37.32130
20Locked37.62230
21Locked37.62370
22Locked37.62330
23Locked37.32520
24Locked37.34080

 

Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
387000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46199969
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
Bsgvca69834ncxv9873254k;fg87d



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID30102
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID6920
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
664 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

You can access the stats, without signing in, following the initial setup of the HUB 3:

Your stats look ok.

Could you confirm if you are using the HUB in modem mode, as you were previously?

You also metioned it was a 'Gigabit VPN' router. Is there a VPN permanently setup?

0 Kudos
Reply
donnapkelly
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
627 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

Carl,

again, thank you for getting back so promptly.

I can confirm that Hub 3 is indeed in modem mode, all the stuff in my previous messages came from 192.168.100.1.

VPN?  No, I took it down.  I did not want to have anything else running when I was doing speed trials.

Today, according to https://broadbandtest.which.co.uk/ we have 7.5 Mbps, according to https://broadbandnow.com/speedtest it is 5.45 Mbps, and according to https://www.broadbandspeedtest.org.uk/ it is 9.98 Mbps.

Regards, Donna 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
donnapkelly
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
626 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

Thanks for pointing out the Router Status link.  I didn't spot that,

0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 4.74K
  • 403
  • 707
Superstar
606 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

With the stats looking ok I would suggest you setup a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor):

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality 

Once you've created an account you will need to start a new monitor.

Leave it for 24 hours (It doesn't affect your internet connection) then post the results on here.

0 Kudos
Reply
Buffer6
  • 9.76K
  • 88
  • 605
Hero
557 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

Try your speedtests@ https://www.speedtest.net/  The which site is wildly out

0 Kudos
Reply
comparefibre
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
191 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 - Getting speeds as low as 6.18 Mbps

Or try the Virgin specific speedtest at https://comparefibre.co.uk/virgin-media-speed-test/ 

0 Kudos
Reply