Menu
Reply
Artemicion
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
444 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

M100 Consistently Slow Upload Speed

Hi, my M100 connection does a fine job of hitting its promised 100Mbps down, but consistently only gets ~1Mbps up, often slowing to even less than that which makes remote working a real chore. I've noticed that the contractual minimum Virgin pormised is 3Mbps with an advertised speed of 6Mbps, so I'd be able to cancel it given this performance but thought I'd see if anyone has solved this issue before. Issue replicated even by using a LAN cable direct into the router. 

Some router status, if this clarifies anything:

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
402750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200180
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462001804.45512032 qam1
2258000424.325512032 qam4
3394001664.4512032 qam2
4326000004.375512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Appreciate anyone's help, thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.28K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.03K
Alessandro Volta
422 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 Consistently Slow Upload Speed

All 4 upstream should be in 64QAM but only one is.

You'll need an engineer visit. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Artemicion
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
365 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 Consistently Slow Upload Speed

How disappointing. Is there a way to get one sorted out through the forums? I don't really have 3 hours to sit on the phone to Virgin....

0 Kudos
Reply
Artemicion
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
360 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 Consistently Slow Upload Speed

Just ran it again - all four channels actually are 64QAM now:

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462001374.425512064 qam1
2258004544.3512064 qam4
3394001804.4512064 qam2
4326001494.35512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Speed test: 0.73Mbps upload speed..... pretty pathetic. Anyone have any other ideas before I'm forced to cancel Virgin or battle for a refund please? Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.28K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.03K
Alessandro Volta
345 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 Consistently Slow Upload Speed

Request an engineer?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Melissa_F
  • 2.78K
  • 160
  • 219
Moderator
Moderator
242 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 Consistently Slow Upload Speed

Hi Artemicion,

 

Thanks for your post. 

 

I'm sorry you're having problems with your upload speed at the moment. I can appreciate you're keen to understand what's going on. 

 

I've had a look at the backend of your services, and I can see that there is currently a congestion issue in your area which you'll be impacted by. The reference number for this is 
F008099261 and the current estimated fix time is 22nd July 12:20.

 

Thanks

 

Melissa 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply