Menu
Reply
JazQ
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
313 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Low speeds on new account

Hi all,

Experiencing very poor speeds and connection on a new M500 Fibre Broadband account via ethernet connection. Using a new Super Hub 4 plugged into an existing wall outlet (from previous owners who had broadband and TV).

Have gone through the processes of turning off & on again, restoring factory settings, checking connections, and carrying out multiple speed tests. 

Details for further help:

Downstream

Spoiler
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1402750000-2.440256 qam30
22027500000.740256 qam9
32107500000.540256 qam10
4218750000040256 qam11
5226750000040256 qam12
6234750000040256 qam13
7242750000040256 qam14
8250750000040256 qam15
9258750000-0.240256 qam16
10266750000-0.540256 qam17
11274750000-140256 qam18
12282750000-1.240256 qam19
13290750000-140256 qam20
14298750000-1.240256 qam21
15306750000-1.740256 qam22
16314750000-1.740256 qam23
17322750000-240256 qam24
18330750000-240256 qam25
19370750000-1.740256 qam26
20378750000-240256 qam27
21386750000-2.240256 qam28
22394750000-2.240256 qam29
23410750000-2.240256 qam31
24418750000-2.240256 qam32


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.91500
2Locked40.91510
3Locked40.91760
4Locked40.913550
5Locked40.31660
6Locked40.31180
7Locked40.32790
8Locked40.32540
9Locked40.91770
10Locked40.92240
11Locked40.31800
12Locked40.91210
13Locked40.32670
14Locked40.3970
15Locked40.91170
16Locked40.93570
17Locked40.31540
18Locked40.31460
19Locked40.91020
20Locked40.91000
21Locked40.32840
22Locked40.31150
23Locked40.33620
24Locked40.91350

 

0 Kudos
Reply
JazQ
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
312 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Upstream:

Spoiler
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000042.8512064 qam2
22580000042.3512064 qam4
33260000042.8512064 qam3
44620000044.3512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA00140
2ATDMA00240
3ATDMA00230
4ATDMA00110

Network Log:

Spoiler
Network LogTime Priority Description
11/07/2021 21:06:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:06:39criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:05:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:05:54criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:05:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:05:6criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:04:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:04:26criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:03:47Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:01:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 21:01:25criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:59:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:59:45criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:58:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:58:14criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:57:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:57:26criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:57:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:57:7criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/07/2021 20:53:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 458
Trouble shooter
263 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Power levels and SNR look to be fine - yet masses of T3 timeouts!

Is there a local area issue?

The most useful and up to date info comes from the 0800 561 0061 number. Try that to see if there are any faults that the web service hasn't picked up!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

Paul_DN
  • 6.24K
  • 359
  • 652
Forum Team
Forum Team
222 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Hi JazQ,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us in our community and welcome, sorry to hear you have been receiving lower than expected speeds.

 

 

I have had a look at things our end as I have located your account with the details we have for you and I cannot see any issues at all, when you are running a speed test is this on a wired or WIFI connection, please can you try putting the Router in Modem mode and unplug everything else other than 1 wired device with a Gigabit network card and a Cat 6 or above Ethernet cable, please can you also use Samknow and not Speedtest.net as this isn't compatible with the Hub 4.0?

 

 

So we can also have a better look into things can you set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with us. Make sure you uncheck the “ignore ping from WAN side” box in the settings if you see a wall of "red" - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture. please run this for 72 hours and post the results here so we can have a further look into this for you.

 

Kind regards

 

Paul.

 

Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
216 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

A BQM is well worth setting up, but could I politely observe that if the remote diagnostics are reporting no issues at all, then they appear to be missing all those T3 timeouts recorded by VM's Hub and spotted by @lotharmat .  Putting the hub in modem mode will trigger a full re-registration and so all channels will be clean and fresh, and therefore if speed is good that indicates nothing unless repeatedly tested for a prolonged period.

It may also be worth checking if this is a Hub 4, as the posted data only shows 24 downstream channels.

@JazQHow new a connection?  And are you still in the 14 day cooling off period?

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

JazQ
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
163 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Hi all,

Thank you for looking into this and your advice @lotharmat, @Paul_DN, and @Andrew-G - we've not experienced any noticeable slow-downs about a day after making the original thread but are continuing to monitor closely. At the time, we were just heading out of the cooling down period which was on the 14th, does this affect the quality of connection? 

It is a Hub 4 we are using, and will set-up a BQM if we require further assistance. 

Thank you all again!

Megan_L
  • 2.63K
  • 159
  • 273
Forum Team
Forum Team
132 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Hi JazQ, 

Thanks for coming back to us with an update on your connection, I am glad things are looking good now after some help from the community 🙂

The 14 day cooling off period doesn't affect the performance of the connection, so don't worry about that!

Please continue to monitor the broadband for now, and if you see any dips in performance you know where to come for help!

Just for future issues with your services and for any other users that are looking at this thread for help, I have a few links below that might help with general issues - 

  • Our Service Checker is a good tool to use to check if there are any area outages ongoing with Broadband, TV, Landline and Mobile. It usually lets you know what is wrong and how long it's going to take for the engineers to fix (estimated time of course)
  • Your Online Account also has a good tool which helps diagnose a fault within your home network with your Broadband, TV and Landline, it will tell you what's up and what to do next. 
  • We also have a good section for faults on our website here - Help Website - it will give you flows for diagnosing and rectifying faults on a multitude of aspects. A really good link to bookmark!  

Thanks,

Megan_L

lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 458
Trouble shooter
128 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Low speeds on new account

Watch out for hub 4 performance issues and heat - They have a fan in the bottom - Some people have raised the hub up with extra 'rubber feet' on the existing ones to improve airflow!

Too hot can equal throttling of performance!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

JazQ
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
110 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Ah will definitely keep this in mind (particularly with the warm weather we've been having) and get it raised up!

Thank you for letting me know and thank you again for your assistance, was a bit panicked with it all as we work from home but so pleased to be all up and running and be a part of a wonderfully helpful community! 

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 5.28K
  • 369
  • 536
Forum Team
Forum Team
72 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low speeds on new account

Thanks for coming back to us @JazQ and we;re glad to hear that your services are now up and running as they should be.

 

Please do let us know, if you have any further issues.

 

Regards,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply