Menu
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
458 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

Hi all,

New customer today,

I was wondering if you could help me. I have had my new m500 package installed today but I am having a couple of issues that I need some help with. 

My download speed is great. Receiving 500 as expected.  

My upload is only getting 14mb on average. I was expecting more like 30+? 

----------------------

I would like to use VOLT to upgrade to the next speed level. I have both and o2 pay monthly sim contract and the m500 package. However when I go onto the o2 website to activate volt I get the following message:

"Already got Virgin Media at your address, but it's not in your name? You're not eligible for Volt benefits right now, but we're changing this soon. Keep an eye on My O2 and read our Volt FAQs for more information."

I have both accounts setup in my name so this is not the reason for not being able to activate the volt speed upgrade. 

-------------

Bill issue. 

I signed up using an offer which stated the activation fee would be free however I have been charged £35 for this on my account. 

 

I would appreciate some help with all of these problems. I will post router stats in next post. 

 

Regards, 

Tom

 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
454 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

Cable Modem StatusItem Status CommentsChannel Overview Downstream Upstream

Cable Modem Status
Online
DOCSIS 3.1
Primary downstream channel
Locked
SC-QAM
DOCSIS 3.0 channels
31
4
DOCSIS 3.1 channels
1
0

 

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
16030000036.35120 KSym/sec64QAM1
24620000036.55120 KSym/sec64QAM3
35370000036.35120 KSym/sec64QAM2
43940000036.55120 KSym/sec64QAM4


3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0001
3US_TYPE_STDMA0001
4US_TYPE_STDMA000

0

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
453 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

 

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
253310000005.835.8QAM25625
11390000007.435.8QAM2561
21470000007.235.8QAM2562
31550000007.135.6QAM2563
41630000007.235.8QAM2564
51710000007.235.6QAM2565
61790000007.235.8QAM2566
71870000007.335.8QAM2567
81950000007.436.4QAM2568
92030000007.536.4QAM2569
102110000007.636.4QAM25610
112190000007.636.4QAM25611
122270000007.536.4QAM25612
132350000007.536.4QAM25613
142430000007.636.6QAM25614
152510000007.335.8QAM25615
162590000007.536.4QAM25616
172670000007.236.4QAM25617
18275000000736.4QAM25618
192830000006.836.4QAM25619
202910000006.736.4QAM25620
21299000000736.4QAM25621
223070000006.836.6QAM25622
233150000006.435.8QAM25623
24323000000636.4QAM25624
26339000000636.4QAM25626
273470000006.336.4QAM25627
283550000006.336QAM25628
293630000006.436.4QAM25629
303710000006.536.4QAM25630
313790000006.436.4QAM25631


3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
25Locked35.77991100
1Locked35.77991100
2Locked35.77991100
3Locked35.59507800
4Locked35.77991100
5Locked35.59507800
6Locked35.77991100
7Locked35.77991100
8Locked36.38689000
9Locked36.38689000
10Locked36.38689000
11Locked36.38689000
12Locked36.38689000
13Locked36.38689000
14Locked36.60965300
15Locked35.77991100
16Locked36.38689000
17Locked36.38689000
18Locked36.38689000
19Locked36.38689000
20Locked36.38689000
21Locked36.38689000
22Locked36.60965300
23Locked35.77991100
24Locked36.38689000
26Locked36.38689000
27Locked36.38689000
28Locked35.97296100
29Locked36.38689000
30Locked36.38689000
31Locked36.38689000


3.1 Downstream channels

Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33964K1880QAM4096759


3.1 Downstream channels

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked397.6414116110
0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
451 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

General Configuration
Network access
true
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
true
DOCSIS Mode
3.1
Config file
cmreg-vmdg640-bbt053-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID
380
Max Traffic Rate
575000000
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0


Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID
379
Max Traffic Rate
38520000
Max Traffic Burst
42600
Min Traffic Rate
0
Max Concatenated Burst
16320
Scheduling Type
bestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
396 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

upload and lag now fixed with a reset of the router. 

However I am still unable to upgrade using VOLT. Can somebody please help me with this. I have just spent 3 hours on webchat being passed around the same cycle of talking to a BOT then then being told im in a que for a customer service agent, then being past back too the bot again. Very frustrating start to being a virgin media customer! 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 5.77K
  • 473
  • 1.45K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
353 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

For the VOLT upgrade the users accounts have to be EXACTLY the same, name, address etc. AFAIK any slight differences will be flagged as two different users.

You are configured for 30mb upload, so how are you testing?  VM do not guarantee any wifi speeds, so tests have to be done wired directly to the Hub with a known good Cat 6a cable.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
341 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

The account names are exactly the same on both o2 and virgin media 

0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
329 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

my upload issue was resolved with a router restart. My volt issue still exists. Customer name is identical on both and address is the same. Only difference i can see is that for some reason the postcode is listed twice on my virgin media bill. I cant seem to see anywhere that I can edit the address though 

0 Kudos
Reply
tB1ZLE
  • 9
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
307 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

I managed to speak to somebody on the live chat and they informed me that if I was to apply volt to my package I would have to spend an extra £26 per month.

I thought VOLT was a free upgrade on any contract? They are saying that because i bought my contract in a black friday deal that I cannot use the VOLT upgrade. 

0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 11.11K
  • 1.52K
  • 3.3K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
296 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Low Upload and no option to use Volt upgrade

That sounds like rubbish.

Have you tried via the O2 website?

Scroll down the page on the following link https://www.o2.co.uk/virgin-media-o2 

and then click on the Go to My O2 button

Info from the above page:-

Who can get Volt benefits?

To get your Volt benefits, you need to be a customer of both O2 mobile and Virgin Media broadband. If you're an existing Pay Monthly customer of O2, you'll need to get broadband from Virgin Media. Or, if you're already a Virgin Media broadband customer, you'll also need to get a Pay Monthly mobile with O2.

Already got both O2 mobile and Virgin Media Broadband? You can check your eligibility and activate your benefits in My O2. Your O2 Pay Monthly mobile plan must be registered in the same name and address as your Virgin Media Broadband.

Please be aware that your O2 Pay Monthly mobile plan and Virgin Media broadband accounts must be registered with the same name and address. If your name is spelled differently then you may not receive the correct offer. If you think that everything’s correct but you haven’t been able to activate your Volt benefits, then please get in touch by calling 202 from your O2 mobile.

Benefits will be applied to every mobile device on your O2 account excluding smartwatches.

 

 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I don't work for Virgin Media.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge. Learn more

Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules
0 Kudos
Reply