Menu
Reply
piperazine
  • 53
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
923 Views
Message 1 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Low Power Levels....again!

Hello,

Downstream power levels are getting on the chilly side..... again...

Pretty sure anthing less than -6dBmV was time to call an engineer? (Some TV channels are glitching too)

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000-4.238256 qam21
2266750000-4.238256 qam17
3274750000-4.538256 qam18
4282750000-4.738256 qam19
5290750000-4.538256 qam20
6306750000-4.538256 qam22
7314750000-4.738256 qam23
8322750000-4.938256 qam24
9330750000-5.238256 qam25
10370750000-5.938256 qam26
11378750000-638256 qam27
12386750000-6.238256 qam28
13394750000-6.538256 qam29
14402750000-6.438256 qam30
15410750000-6.238256 qam31
16418750000-6.238256 qam32
17426750000-638256 qam33
18434750000-638256 qam34
19442750000-638256 qam35
20450750000-638256 qam36
21458750000-6.537256 qam37
22466750000-6.938256 qam38
23474750000-737256 qam39
24482750000-737256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.63433658562
2Locked38.93390875713
3Locked38.63316865681
4Locked38.93399274644
5Locked38.63397574007
6Locked38.93405257678
7Locked38.93592675807
8Locked38.63602767482
9Locked38.63723673056
10Locked38.64019175610
11Locked38.64068883764
12Locked38.94207877970
13Locked38.64271881954
14Locked38.64251979051
15Locked38.64175571506
16Locked38.64111670248
17Locked38.94244989233
18Locked38.64173379453
19Locked38.64189986639
20Locked38.64228678405
21Locked37.64401382858
22Locked38.64556082205
23Locked37.64519485156
24Locked37.34468984101

.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1536998945.025512064 qam1
2462000004.825512064 qam2
3394001104.725512064 qam3
4326000764.6512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.15K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
906 Views
Message 2 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

The technology that cable internet uses is a very dark art indeed, and "low" power of itself may not be a problem in some instances.  What concerns me in your hub stats are that this occurs along with high error counts and highish upstream power.  Could you reboot your hub, give it a good few hours (or overnight) and then re-post the lot again?  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

piperazine
  • 53
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
896 Views
Message 3 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

Just rebooted... Will repost stats again tomorrow sometime. Thanks for the input!

0 Kudos
Reply
cje85
  • 2.63K
  • 169
  • 693
Trouble shooter
880 Views
Message 4 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

Hot weather will cause power levels to drop so you may find it's worse tomorrow with high temperatures due in many parts of the country. 

0 Kudos
Reply
piperazine
  • 53
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
796 Views
Message 5 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

Hello,
 
Here are the updated stats...... Router has been powered up for about 20hours.
 
Power levels have improved a bit (even though its hotter today).
 
Although I'm now a bit concered about the RS errors... (Not really sure what they mean though) I'm guessing that they are a bit high perhaps?
 
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1298750000-3.438256 qam21
2266750000-3.240256 qam17
3274750000-3.538256 qam18
4282750000-3.738256 qam19
5290750000-3.538256 qam20
6306750000-3.538256 qam22
7314750000-3.738256 qam23
8322750000-3.938256 qam24
9330750000-4.238256 qam25
10370750000-538256 qam26
11378750000-538256 qam27
12386750000-5.438256 qam28
13394750000-5.538256 qam29
14402750000-5.538256 qam30
15410750000-5.438256 qam31
16418750000-5.538256 qam32
17426750000-5.238256 qam33
18434750000-5.238256 qam34
19442750000-538256 qam35
20450750000-5.238256 qam36
21458750000-5.538256 qam37
22466750000-5.738256 qam38
23474750000-638256 qam39
24482750000-638256 qam40


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.987607931
2Locked40.384957362
3Locked38.985137586
4Locked38.988137768
5Locked38.987847866
6Locked38.987437817
7Locked38.990578223
8Locked38.990818462
9Locked38.991278827
10Locked38.9971110054
11Locked38.698209996
12Locked38.91008810207
13Locked38.6998610587
14Locked38.91025410524
15Locked38.91028510634
16Locked38.91020110551
17Locked38.9992610647
18Locked38.6996110616
19Locked38.9995610592
20Locked38.6993310889
21Locked38.61032211221
22Locked38.61051911565
23Locked38.61048011748
24Locked38.61067212016
 
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1537000835512064 qam1
2461999514.8512064 qam2
3394000004.675512064 qam3
4326000004.575512064 qam4


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
773 Views
Message 6 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

Do you have a device, similar to below, attached between your HUB and white cable to the wall socket?

0 Kudos
Reply
piperazine
  • 53
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
766 Views
Message 7 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

Hello,

No. The supahub is connected directly to a powered splitter.

The powered splitter was fitted a while back to solve previous low signal problems. The other output of the powered splitter goes to a V6 telly box. 

There are TWO more "standard" splitters (for other telly boxes) before it gets to the powered splitter with the supahub 😕 

The routing of the cabling through the house has become very convoluted over the years, where devices have been added or moved, and some of the cabling is pretty old now (almost 30 years).

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
760 Views
Message 8 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

It sounds like the power levels require adjusting based on the number of devices you are using.

0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 6.54K
  • 473
  • 1.14K
Legend
752 Views
Message 9 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

I think a tech needs to be called out to try things such as removal of the booster and moving the cable onto a lower tap point. Once we see the effect on signal levels and Post RS Errors we might be in a better position to figure out what (if anything) needs to be done.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Lisa_CC
  • 3.98K
  • 236
  • 445
Moderator
Moderator
611 Views
Message 10 of 20
Flag for a moderator

Re: Low Power Levels....again!

Hi piperazine,

 

I've had a big 'ole nosey at your networks and can't find anything out of spec. I can confirm that everything is well within range and there are no utlisation issues either. I've tried to look at your WiFi details but I'm unable to. It may be the tool going weird at the moment but can you check that your WiFi is on so I can take a look at the complete picture?

 

Aside from the stats on your Hub, can you describe how it's affecting your internet usage? 

 

Thanks,

 

Lisa

0 Kudos
Reply