Menu
Reply
simon1988
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
843 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Lag spikes on ps4

Hi, I'm on the 100 package and seem to be getting the speed just fine according to speed test, but when I'm gaming (directly via ethernet) on PS4 I'll get lag spikes constantly and it becomes unplayable. I never had this issue with my fibre at all, can someone help?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
831 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Various possible causes.  Let's see how latency and packet loss are on your broadband connection: Setup a BQM over at https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality that'll show what's going on with your VM connection.  Post a LINK to a LIVE, SHARED graph here and we'll see what's happening.  Usually needs to run for 24 hours before we can draw reasonable conclusions, but the live graph will continuously update so you can post the link immediately.

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
simon1988
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
824 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Thanks I'll give it a go. Does it have to be connected to laptop via ethernet for 24hours?

0 Kudos
Reply
simon1988
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
817 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Checking my speed test, the upload seems to have dropped quite a lot: 

 

EDIT: Noticing a lot of drops with upload, between 1-3mb results

11533422493

and here is a live graph

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d5c22a30d64b5a0c69cd3c62d23ec8baca...

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
804 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Does it have to be connected to laptop via ethernet for 24hours?

No, not at all.  The BQM is made by the ThinkBroadband server communicating with your hub.  Your computers and devices can be turned off or used normally as they aren't involved.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

risc19
  • 849
  • 27
  • 253
Well-informed
795 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Well that BQM already looks horrifically bad.

 

Can you login to your router and copy and paste all the stats here?

http://192.168.0.1/

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Lagfest Modem Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
simon1988
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
783 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Hi

Thanks for your reply

 

Is this the information you need?

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
419000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39399988
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

config.pngdownstream2.pngdownstream1.pngupstream.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 849
  • 27
  • 253
Well-informed
760 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

All you specs look fine.

There could be a fault in your area or your area is over subscribed.

Did you check on the service checker?

Either way it looks like things are ok at your end.

I'll flag this for virgin to take a look at.

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Lagfest Modem Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
751 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

You don't have a second router in use to extend the wifi, do you?

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Alex_RM
  • 5.95K
  • 319
  • 448
Forum Team
Forum Team
705 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lag spikes on ps4

Hi simon1988,

 

Thanks for posting and sorry to hear you're having some issues with your connection.

 

I've been able to locate your account using your forum details, the hub looks to be within the specifications we would expect.

 

Can you confirm if you're having any connection issues on other devices, or is this just when gaming?

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply