Menu
Reply
sistasmith
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
705 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

LIVID - speed

Why am i paying for a service that is not working, self help not working, speed test not working offline. I live in a major city, I pay our bill on time ALWAYS, rely on my internet because Im Disabled and I am abondoned with no help. If there are any VM staff on here, please book an engineer to sort this out for me.

 

 

 

[MOD EDIT: Subject title changed for clarity]

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
671 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

Ok.

Let's see if we can help.

What is the actual problem?

What isn't working?



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
sistasmith
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
657 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

Thank U for responding, my connection keeps dropping very low, non of the self help tools are working.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32K
  • 3.14K
  • 6.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
644 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

Are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

VM - only guarantee connection/speeds over ethernet

What Hub model is it and what are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
sistasmith
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
638 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

I use ethernet wire, Hub 3 with white light on, I have tried all the tests on VM help guides, and some are not working at all. It has briefly worked perfectly when they got us to extend our contract, after about 2 months back to this again. The last VM check I did said if it doesnt right itself in 23 hours, try test again and an engineer would be book (all automated) since then cant do the test again.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32K
  • 3.14K
  • 6.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
635 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

lets see the connection stats and data - can you do this...
_________________________________________________

In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up - dont log/sign in just click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle or top/right of the first page up

Then just copy/paste the normal “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free, secure and “offlsite” - “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
sistasmith
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
607 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1 267000000 -0.2 37 256 qam 17
2 275000000 0 37 256 qam 18
3 283000000 0.5 37 256 qam 19
4 291000000 0.7 37 256 qam 20
5 299000000 0.5 37 256 qam 21
6 307000000 0.5 38 256 qam 22
7 315000000 0.2 38 256 qam 23
8 323000000 0 37 256 qam 24
9 331000000 0.2 37 256 qam 25
10 339000000 0.2 37 256 qam 26
11 347000000 0 38 256 qam 27
12 355000000 0 38 256 qam 28
13 363000000 -0.5 38 256 qam 29
14 371000000 -1.4 37 256 qam 30
15 379000000 -1.7 37 256 qam 31
16 387000000 -2 37 256 qam 32
17 395000000 -2.2 37 256 qam 33
18 403000000 -2 37 256 qam 34
19 411000000 -1.7 37 256 qam 35
20 419000000 -1.7 37 256 qam 36
21 427000000 -1.7 37 256 qam 37
22 435000000 -2.2 37 256 qam 38
23 443000000 -2.2 37 256 qam 39
24 451000000 -2 37 256 qam 40

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1 Locked 37.3 331 0
2 Locked 37.6 590 11
3 Locked 37.6 208 0
4 Locked 37.6 748 2
5 Locked 37.6 639 176
6 Locked 38.9 197 0
7 Locked 38.6 580 0
8 Locked 37.3 784 5
9 Locked 37.6 264 3
10 Locked 37.6 381 0
11 Locked 38.2 678 0
12 Locked 38.6 243 0
13 Locked 38.6 244 10
14 Locked 37.3 436 0
15 Locked 37.3 469 13
16 Locked 37.3 506 0
17 Locked 37.3 633 0
18 Locked 37.3 443 1
19 Locked 37.6 426 0
20 Locked 37.6 260 0
21 Locked 37.3 331 0
22 Locked 37.3 632 1
23 Locked 37.6 334 0
24 Locked 37.3 285 0


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 32600103 44 5120 64 qam 8
2 39400048 44.5 5120 64 qam 7
3 46199927 46.3 5120 64 qam 3
4 25800000 43.3 5120 64 qam 11

 

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 3 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 4 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 3 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 2 0


Network Log
Time Priority Description
22/09/2021 09:33:53 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/09/2021 00:26:54 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 16:38:49 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 12:03:53 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 12:00:47 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/09/2021 09:54:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/09/2021 15:08:2 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/09/2021 10:33:21 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/09/2021 20:45:43 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/09/2021 18:40:13 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/09/2021 22:12:23 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/09/2021 13:48:48 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:42:11 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:38:10 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:36:50 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:34:43 Warning! Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:34:37 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:34:36 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2021 23:34:36 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/09/2021 22:35:49 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 32K
  • 3.14K
  • 6.07K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
560 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

A few "errors" that could be an issue or may be historical accumulation - so can you do this...
_________________________________________________________________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it from the mains supply for five minutes. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box (no “staples, etc.,) piercing the cables.. Then switch the Hub back on and leave ~5 minutes

When all done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3 errors have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
sistasmith
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
535 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

I keep rebooting the hub, and that isnt stable for that long, unfortunatly not a solution, so it looks like i will have to get the engineers out.

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 6.12K
  • 315
  • 545
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
484 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: LIVID - speed

Good morning @sistasmith

 

Welcome to the forums and thank you for taking the time to post. 

 

I am really sorry to hear that you have been having some issues with your broadband. 

 

I have managed to locate your account, I have run some diagnostics and have found that one of your power levels is out of spec. 

 

I am going to need to get an engineer out to get this resolved. 

 

I will pop you over a PM so that I can confirm your address.

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply