Menu
Reply
Culwenspoint
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
570 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Just joined - Broadband Issues

Hello,

I tried looking to contact Virgin but I think they've disabled all their communications... so I am posting here as a final resort. Hoping I get some response on an official capacity, or just some helpful information from current users.

I have read a lot on these forums and a bit like when you google symptoms, you think you have a myriad of diseases. So rather than claiming to be in everyone's boat, which might well be the case! I thought I would post what my first experience with Virgin broadband is and see if there's a way to resolve it

Context: I have been trying to use the wireless feature of my Broadband. I initially tried using my work laptop and found that the Download speed would intermittently drop down below 1mbps using SpeedTest. Reading the forums, the suggestions seemed to point in using an ethernet cable. Which I have and I can gladly say, my laptop is fine in terms of speed. 

However, the issue with using Wireless seems to persist and to be frank, I know that it isn't guaranteed by Virgin, but if I can't use simply to play an online mobile game without it dropping every time. I just don't understand the point in having wireless if it's this unreliable. I know other places that don't have this issue so I can't say that this is expected. What I have to do it disconnect the wifi from the mobile and then reconnect in the hopes that it refreshed/reminds the Hub to send me some download speed. I have a feeling the issue of it dropping to below 1mbps is the reason why it drops out.

FYI:

  • My package is 200 Mbps
  • I have looked at logs previously and see that my Hub has the No Ranging Response error.
  • I have reset the hub numerous times.
  • I have also have a Virgin landline issue which claims there to be a voltage issue (using Virgin's Server Status tool)
  • I have set up a BQM which looks normal (what I think looks normal - no red) most days My BQM 
    • Only noticeable downtime was on the 9th for most of the day and the 11th for a short moment

So my question is:

  1. Is this a phase? Is everyone suffering this issue?
  2. Is this expected to be a teething issue when joining Virgin?
  3. Is this likely due to be a voltage issue?
  4. If it is a voltage issue, how would I get about getting Virgin to assist if their Help, isn't available right now?

Any further assistance would be appreciated!

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
555 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Just joined - Broadband Issues

Your >> BQM << is fine.

Let's get the worst bit over and done with ...

VM do not, and never have guaranteed Wi-Fi speed or coverage, so whatever you get out of the Hub is as good as it gets from that piece of equipment.

 

Now that is done we can look at the Hub and see if everything as it should be ...

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again.

Use one post for each tab if you wish.

Please do not use screen shots.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Culwenspoint
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
534 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just joined - Broadband Issues

Thanks Mike. Much appreciated.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12027500005.138256 qam9
21387500006.538256 qam1
31467500006.338256 qam2
41547500006.340256 qam3
5162750000640256 qam4
61707500006.138256 qam5
7178750000638256 qam6
8186750000638256 qam7
91947500005.540256 qam8
102107500004.938256 qam10
11218750000540256 qam11
122267500004.838256 qam12
132347500004.840256 qam13
14242750000538256 qam14
152507500005.538256 qam15
162587500005.838256 qam16
172667500002.438256 qam17
182747500003.738256 qam18
192827500004.140256 qam19
202907500004.540256 qam20
212987500004.940256 qam21
223067500004.640256 qam22
233147500004.640256 qam23
243227500004.940256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9180
2Locked38.9270
3Locked38.9120
4Locked40.3130
5Locked40.3130
6Locked38.9190
7Locked38.6250
8Locked38.9120
9Locked40.3110
10Locked38.990
11Locked40.3110
12Locked38.9120
13Locked40.3120
14Locked38.9120
15Locked38.9110
16Locked38.960
17Locked38.93840
18Locked38.9160
19Locked40.3130
20Locked40.380
21Locked40.3230
22Locked40.3570
23Locked40.3110
24Locked40.3190

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000045.3512064 qam2
24620000045.3512064 qam3
33940000045.3512064 qam4
46029994145.3512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID198952
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID198951
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

 

Time Priority Description

13/01/2021 01:09:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/01/2021 18:07:4noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/01/2021 05:18:0noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
09/01/2021 05:15:40noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
08/01/2021 11:07:47noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 21:59:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 15:18:46Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/01/2021 14:14:13noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2021 16:25:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/01/2021 20:50:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/01/2021 04:25:26ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/12/2020 08:43:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 16:25:27ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 15:38:59noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 15:27:22ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 15:19:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 14:58:59noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
29/12/2020 14:57:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 14:56:46noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file



0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
522 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just joined - Broadband Issues

Your Hub data looks OK.

What speeds do you get at >>  SamKnows << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E or better ethernet cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

Then immediately after …

Can you Login to the Hub Settings and navigate to the Connected Devices page - what is the reported 'connection speed’ for the ethernet cable connected device you used for the speed test ?


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Culwenspoint
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
517 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just joined - Broadband Issues

This is the SamsKnows

 

Culwenspoint_0-1610549142439.png

The reported connection is supposedly 1000 mbps! which doesn't make sense.

Culwenspoint_1-1610549302586.png

 

I've also included the other devices with range from above 100 which is fine but some hit a low 6 mbps. 

Ethernet connection is fine. I'm trying to figure out if there's an issue that I can resolve for Wireless.

I know the disclaimer about WiFi but do you know how I can troubleshoot it as from experience, something isn't right about it if it keeps dropping out. Most of the devices are Amazon speakers so I can't imagine them taxing the download speed when not actively downloading.

Update: Refreshing the Hub 3.0 list of devices, the 6 mbps speeds have jumped to expected levels. It feels like there's a strain causing a drop somewhere. Could it be a voltage issue?

Also, are all those error messages in the log fine? Aren't they things that need to be fixed?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
513 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just joined - Broadband Issues


@Culwenspoint wrote:

This is the SamsKnows

 

Culwenspoint_0-1610549142439.png

The reported connection is supposedly 1000 mbps! which doesn't make sense.

Culwenspoint_1-1610549302586.png

 

I've also included the other devices with range from above 100 which is fine but some hit a low 6 mbps. 

Ethernet connection is fine. I'm trying to figure out if there's an issue that I can resolve for Wireless.

I know the disclaimer about WiFi but do you know how I can troubleshoot it as from experience, something isn't right about it if it keeps dropping out. Most of the devices are Amazon speakers so I can't imagine them taxing the download speed when not actively downloading.

Update: Refreshing the Hub 3.0 list of devices, the 6 mbps speeds have jumped to expected levels. It feels like there's a strain causing a drop somewhere. Could it be a voltage issue?

Also, are all those error messages in the log fine? Aren't they things that need to be fixed?


The 1000Mbs is the connection capability, meaning your cable and NIC are capable of working at 1000Mbs.

Your WAN speed is good.

Just need to look at the Wi-Fi. 

You have to realise that VM do not, and never have guaranteed Wi-Fi speed or coverage.

May I advise you to download and install a Wi-Fi analyser to show if there are any foreign Wi-Fi broadcasts interfering with your own Wi-Fi signals and where there are poor signal strengths..

From there you can look at refining your own Wi-Fi broadcasts.

I use this one ...

WiFi Analyzer Premium - Apps on Google Play

wifi-2

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Culwenspoint
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
344 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Just joined - Broadband Issues

Just an update:

I have had an engineer who replaced the Hub 3.0. This solved an voltage issue that I had that was caused by my old phoneline still being connected.

This meant there was no longer a red flashing symbol for the phone line.

After the replaced Hub, the mobile games that I used as a test of the wireless became bearable (such that they didn't constantly drop out or lag).

I still had issues of connectivity to the wireless aspect of my broadband.

I since invested in to a mesh system (eero specifically as the synergy with my current Alexa related products was better). As soon as I installed the eero mesh product, my wireless was flawless. No longer dropping out.

Therefore, as advise to others, constant drop out could be that there's too many devices connecting to the Hub and with the mesh system, it shares the load and so there's less interference. I've read on various forums that the Hub 3 is just not great and so definitely recommend the mesh system.