Menu
DaveB20
Joining in
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Issue with ethernet download speed. M500

Hello ,

I am new to Virgin and recently got the M500 package. 

I have been having issues with the download speed when using ethernet. After checking the forums, and looking at the helpful guides that people have posted, I have noticed on the "Connected Devices" tab, it shows that 2 devices are connect. These are my phone, which is connected wireless and my PC which is ethernet. 

The issue I am seeing is the WiFi connection speed is 512Mbps which is fine, but the ethernet speed is only showing as 100Mbps. 

I am unsure as to why this would be the case, but could this be down to that i'm using a powerline adapter that is not capable of handling the high speeds up to 500Mbps and would it be best to purchase a new powerline adapter capable of up to 1000Mbps? 

Appreciate any help you can provide. 

0 Kudos
DJ_Shadow1966
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Issue with ethernet download speed. M500

Hello

What powerlines are yoou running ?

Powerline connections can vary even when getting the best as it relies on the mains in the property and can vary depending on condition, age, what other appliances are on the mains etc.

I myself am running power lines to go from upstairs down to kitchen, these being 1000mbps ones and the most I get wired over them is around the 100mbps.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
DaveB20
Joining in
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Hello, thanks for replying.

From what I have found out, they are capable of up to 200 Mbps and are a brand that I havent really heard of before called Comtrend.