Menu
Reply
Rumble1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
436 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Is my upload being throttled

I live in Southampton. This last week I have been experiencing bad upload speed. Normally I get 370-387mb download and 37 upload. My daughter is a speed runner and streams live. Normally we have no issue I'm able to access and work live on my work server while she streams and my son dose what he wants.

Since last Thursday we have had incredible bad upload speed (just upload). The speed is between 0.6 to 8mb. With the occasional normal. We are getting these silly slow speed any time of the the day. I have checked at 6.30am to 11pm. Today I was even disconnected from my works server several times. I have restarted and factory restored the router and nothing has changed. The last test speed test gave me a 10png, 385.56mbps download and a 0.61mbps upload. This suggest to me that I am having my upload throttled.

Is anyone else having this type of issue?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
434 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Is my upload being throttled

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
Rumble1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
422 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Is my upload being throttled

Hi MikeRobbo

I have posted the requested information below.

Thanks

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/f10f99d2d5e12997053ec02e07f4569c83...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11947500006.840256 qam8
21387500006.440256 qam1
31467500006.540256 qam2
41547500006.440256 qam3
5162750000640256 qam4
61707500006.540256 qam5
71787500006.340256 qam6
81867500006.540256 qam7
92027500006.540256 qam9
102107500006.440256 qam10
112187500006.840256 qam11
122267500006.640256 qam12
13234750000740256 qam13
14242750000740256 qam14
152507500006.940256 qam15
16258750000740256 qam16
17266750000740256 qam17
18274750000740256 qam18
192827500007.640256 qam19
202907500007.540256 qam20
212987500007.540256 qam21
223067500007.340256 qam22
233147500007.140256 qam23
243227500007.340256 qam24

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3230
2Locked40.980
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.390
5Locked40.920
6Locked40.980
7Locked40.370
8Locked40.3240
9Locked40.3210
10Locked40.9210
11Locked40.9200
12Locked40.9170
13Locked40.9210
14Locked40.9170
15Locked40.9120
16Locked40.9120
17Locked40.3210
18Locked40.9220
19Locked40.9170
20Locked40.9150
21Locked40.3320
22Locked40.3150
23Locked40.9170
24Locked40.3260

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1257996754.15512016 qam6
2394000004.175512064 qam4
3325999954.175512064 qam5
4462000004.225512064 qam3

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
419 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Is my upload being throttled

Your BQM is a mess and points to an area outage.

One of your Upstream Channels is at 16 QAM, it should be at 64 QAM the same as the others.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1257996754.15512016 qam6
2394000004.175512064 qam4
3325999954.175512064 qam5
4462000004.225512064 qam3

 

Try a pinhole / factory reset using this exact method to see if it gets back to normal otherwise it will require an engineer visit to put things right.

DO NOT DO THIS if the password on the base of the Hub is not legible or missing.

Instructions for Hub 3

Disconnect all unneeded ethernet cables from the rear of the Hub.

With the Hub Powered on use a paperclip or similar and do a pinhole reset.

Depress the pinhole switch for a timed 60 seconds then release.

DO NOT reboot the hub but allow it 5 to 10 minutes for it to boot itself up.

Once a steady white and no other lights are illuminated check your system again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
Rumble1
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
398 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Is my upload being throttled

Hi MikeRobbo

I have had the opportunity to reset the router. However the 16QAM is still there. I assume this is the time I book an engineer? 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
387 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Is my upload being throttled

It is, you can phone at 08:00 to avoid the really long queues or wait on here until a VM Staff member gets to your thread,


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.