Menu
Reply
DavidV
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
436 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Internet was faster in the 90's BR4

Hello, can someone check these logs and tell me why I'm getting 4mbs download and 0mb upload, but feels like dial up? 

Ps - side note, why isn't there a standard copy text button that the Hub 3.0 can provide this information is forum accepted format?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12987500003.740256 qam21
22347500002.540256 qam13
32427500002.740256 qam14
42507500002.740256 qam15
52587500002.740256 qam16
6266750000340256 qam17
72747500003.240256 qam18
82827500003.440256 qam19
92907500003.540256 qam20
103067500003.740256 qam22
113147500003.740256 qam23
123227500003.940256 qam24
133307500003.940256 qam25
143947500004.540256 qam26
154027500004.340256 qam27
164107500004.440256 qam28
17418750000340256 qam29
184267500003.440256 qam30
194347500003.940256 qam31
204427500003.940256 qam32
21450750000440256 qam33
22458750000440256 qam34
23466750000440256 qam35
244747500004.140256 qam36



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.31537501567
2Locked40.32664756357
3Locked40.32370695028
4Locked40.92210374029
5Locked40.33982572917
6Locked40.31969102408
7Locked40.31829902040
8Locked40.31702111873
9Locked40.31612131639
10Locked40.31469131458
11Locked40.31412941335
12Locked40.31367491238
13Locked40.31329911210
14Locked40.3109362795
15Locked40.3110119795
16Locked40.3111767790
17Locked40.3121840953
18Locked40.31379611232
19Locked40.31369011321
20Locked40.91241361237
21Locked40.31184942313
22Locked40.31123482517
23Locked40.31057832994
24Locked40.3961491933

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1358004714.35512064 qam2
2537000004.425512064 qam4
3274000004.225512032 qam3
4458000004.45512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000




* There's a reason why they put the Reset button on the front of the V+ box!
0 Kudos
Reply
DavidV
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
435 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet was faster in the 90's BR4

Also seems like there is a lot of errors on the network log?

Network Log

Time Priority Description

04/06/2020 10:41:12noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2020 05:02:41noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2020 05:02:41ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2020 04:42:34ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2020 04:39:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2020 18:20:47ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2020 09:32:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/06/2020 07:38:59ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2020 10:55:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2020 01:12:23noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/05/2020 01:12:23ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/05/2020 19:39:20ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2020 19:22:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2020 07:18:21noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2020 07:18:21ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2020 02:14:52ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/05/2020 00:14:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/05/2020 11:04:37ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/05/2020 12:32:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/05/2020 10:19:18Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
* There's a reason why they put the Reset button on the front of the V+ box!
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.51K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
407 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet was faster in the 90's BR4

Only thing standing out in the stats is that the RS error counts are high - but these may be "historical build up". Can you reboot the Hub,then look to see that those counts have reset to 0. Then look every hour or so for a day or two to see if they start re-appearing. The PostRS ones shouldn't.

Or better still pinhole reset the Hub

Note that a pinhole reset on a Hub3 can be a bit problematic - so do it EXACTLY this way (not as the VM website says!).

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !

With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT restart the Hub after that. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings one to access the Hub.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
DavidV
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
369 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet was faster in the 90's BR4

Or I could turn it off and back on again - all zero's now.

Still no joy on the speed though

* There's a reason why they put the Reset button on the front of the V+ box!
0 Kudos
Reply
DavidV
  • 28
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
332 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet was faster in the 90's BR4

Just an update - still terrible internet - does this explain anything?

My Broadband Ping - broadndand

 

* There's a reason why they put the Reset button on the front of the V+ box!
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.51K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.03K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
310 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet was faster in the 90's BR4

Try the pinhole reset - a lot of the VM techs are telling people to try that first - hence why I suggested it rather than reboot.

Worth doing a quick check that all of your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc with no “unterminated loose ends, and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing. Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

If none of that helps you will need VM tech input - they may respond on here or you can still get through on the phoe - they are picking up.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply