Menu
Reply
mrBishop
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
964 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc....

Hi, 

Signed up for 100m in December, and was initially impressed, having only ever had 30mb in old property.

But we have continually had issues with connections being dropped, or stuttering /  when doing basic stuff like trying to have a Zoom call (like my 30mb internet could handle easily).

Whenever i check the speed, this is always down on what we are 'paying' for. over the last two weeks for example i have not seen it over 50mb download (Usually around 45mb)....but should be getting 100mb.

I have tried to reset router, and have checked connections but still low speeds... but Router says everything is operating correctly

I have also suffered issues with my Macbook 'loosing' connection, and usually have to reboot or turn wifi on/off...But want other issue resolved first, as seems to be getting worse. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
943 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc....

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as text, not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
mrBishop
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
928 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc....

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1475000000-4.538256 qam9
2411000000-4.240256 qam1
3419000000-4.240256 qam2
4427000000-440256 qam3
5435000000-4.238256 qam4
6443000000-4.240256 qam5
7451000000-4.440256 qam6
8459000000-4.538256 qam7
9467000000-4.538256 qam8
10483000000-4.738256 qam10
11491000000-4.738256 qam11
12499000000-538256 qam12
13507000000-4.938256 qam13
14515000000-538256 qam14
15523000000-538256 qam15
16531000000-5.238256 qam16
17539000000-5.238256 qam17
18547000000-5.238256 qam18
19555000000-4.940256 qam19
20563000000-4.938256 qam20
21571000000-5.438256 qam21
22579000000-5.538256 qam22
23587000000-5.440256 qam23
24595000000-5.238256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9940
2Locked40.3950
3Locked40.3290
4Locked40.3320
5Locked38.9660
6Locked40.3460
7Locked40.3430
8Locked38.9380
9Locked38.9630
10Locked38.9630
11Locked38.9600
12Locked38.9960
13Locked38.9760
14Locked38.9730
15Locked38.92370
16Locked38.61030
17Locked38.91490
18Locked38.91690
19Locked40.3910
20Locked38.6750
21Locked38.91420
22Locked38.91690
23Locked40.31150
24Locked38.62390

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030000050512064 qam1
25370000049.5512064 qam2
34620000049.3512064 qam3
43940000049512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0050
2ATDMA00100
3ATDMA00130
4ATDMA0050

 

 

   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
   
22/04/2021 23:15:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
mrBishop
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
927 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc....

Network Log

Time Priority Description

14/05/2021 14:45:9noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/05/2021 04:44:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2021 22:17:3ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/05/2021 08:04:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/05/2021 18:06:42noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/05/2021 18:06:32Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/05/2021 17:49:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/05/2021 17:46:34Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2021 12:11:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/05/2021 10:17:2ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/05/2021 01:01:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/05/2021 22:26:33ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/05/2021 12:00:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/05/2021 11:40:39noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/05/2021 09:07:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 21:10:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 21:07:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 09:20:3criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 09:07:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MA
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.53K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
846 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc....

Downstream power is too low - I've flagged for forum staff to advise, they'll book a technician to fix this unless it's a known fault already being worked on.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Ayisha_B
  • 2.82K
  • 98
  • 260
Forum Team
Forum Team
813 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc...

Hi @mrBishop

 

Welcome to our Community Forums and thank you for posting. 

 

I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your broadband. 

 

I have taken a look at your account as as advised by @Andrew-G, your downstream power levels are out of spec. As such I will need to book you a technician visit. 

 

Will follow up with you via PM now as we need to confirm your address before an appointment can be booked 🙂

 

Speak soon. 

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 2.82K
  • 98
  • 260
Forum Team
Forum Team
758 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc...

Hi @mrBishop

 

Thank you for providing me with your address via PM.

 

I have booked the first available engineer appointment for you. Should you find this not suitable, feel free to re-schedule via your online account.

 

Let me know how the visit goes 🙂

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 2.82K
  • 98
  • 260
Forum Team
Forum Team
454 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc...

Hi @mrBishop

 

Thank you for your PM. 

 

I am sorry to hear you are having some issues with your broadband speed. 

 

Can I ask if this is also impacting wired connections as I note the speed test results you sent via PM was on WiFi?

 

How have things been performing since the technician visit we booked last month? Do you having any other issues with the service?

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
steve3961uk
  • 42
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
242 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc....

I've had speed fluctuations from 56Mbps to 88 Mbps for my 200Mbps speed package for the last few weeks. As like other customers, should we not be getting somewhere close to what we pay for?  Superhub 3 rebooted and computer working fine. Tried calling helpdesk on 0845 and sales team on 0800 xxxxxx to discuss but on hold for over an hour or disconnected/cut off

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 2.97K
  • 100
  • 205
Forum Team
Forum Team
219 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed below what i subscribe to...and have issues using it with things like ZOOM etc...

Hi @steve3961uk,

Welcome back to our Community Forums! Thank you for your post, and I'm sorry to hear that this has been your experience with us and with our call queues. I can understand how frustrating this can be.

I understand that your issue is similar to that of the original poster of this thread. We would advise that next time, it would be best to create a thread separate for your issue. This is because even though your issues may be similar, they may need a different resolution. 

However, I was able to locate your account on our system, and after running some checks, I can see that your downstream power levels are out of specification and could be responsible for your ongoing speed issues. As we're unable to resolve this issue remotely, we will require for a technician to attend your property to look into this issue further. I will send you a Private Message to confirm a few details, so please keep an eye out for a purple envelope at the top right corner of your Forum page. I will be in touch soon.

Thank you.

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply