Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
331 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

Ok so I am in the Leicester area and I just had my hub installed and set up by an engineer 2 days ago. We checked and speedtested the connection while he was here and it was running at 280mbps which is lower than advertised but very understandable considering how many people are stuck at home at the moment.
It maintained good connectivity and steady speed for the next 3 hours or so and then I started having connectivity issues on my desktop that I managed to somewhat solve, but I also have massive cutbacks on speed. I have speedtested anywhere from 3mbps to 40mbps but nothing anywhere near the 181 minimum guaranteed speed for M350. This has now been the case for the past 2 days without any improvement (yes I have followed all the instructions of rebooting the hub, checking connections of all cables etc).

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.33K
  • 600
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
321 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

Are you testing with a wired Ethernet connection or a wireless connection?  VM do not guarantee wireless speeds.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
306 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

wired, but it matters not I am having the same problem over 4 devices. and even for wireless 3mbps is unforgivably low.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.33K
  • 600
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
301 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

OK, just had to check as there is no point chasing line connection issues that turn out to be just wireless interference.

If you go to http://192.168.0.1/ (or http://192.168.100.1/ if you are in modem mode) to get the VM hub GUI. Don't login (unless you have a Hub 3 and this is your first visit to the hub GUI, which does require you to login) but instead click on Router Status which is either a button in the top right of the screen or a text link at the bottom of the screen depending on which hub you have. Click on the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log sections and copy & paste the figures from those screens and post them here, don't worry about the formatting or you can post screenshots if that is easier. If using screenshots be careful to edit out or obscure any reference to your WAN IP or MAC address in the log to protect your privacy.  If you copy and paste the log then the forum will automatically censor this sensitive information. Also note that images will take time to appear on the forum due to a combination of awaiting moderator approval and buggy code.

The community can have a look for you and see if anything in the figures looks wrong and advise accordingly. Or you can wait for the VM staff to pick up this thread (will take a few days due to the current crisis) and run checks on your line.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
287 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1139000000937256 qam1
21470000008.437256 qam2
3155000000837256 qam3
41630000007.838256 qam4
51710000007.838256 qam5
61790000007.437256 qam6
71870000007.637256 qam7
8195000000737256 qam8
92030000006.338256 qam9
102110000006.637256 qam10
112190000006.538256 qam11
122270000006.137256 qam12
132350000005.837256 qam13
142430000005.938256 qam14
152510000005.537256 qam15
16259000000537256 qam16
172670000004.837256 qam17
18275000000537256 qam18
192830000004.637256 qam19
202910000004.437256 qam20
212990000004.337256 qam21
223070000004.637256 qam22
233150000004.537256 qam23
243230000003.937256 qam

24

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000003.75512064 qam2
2462000003.85512064 qam1
3258000003.65512064 qam4
4326000003.675512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID709868
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID709867
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.33K
  • 600
  • 1.77K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
279 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

@QuarantineDad The figures posted so far look to be within the normal ranges for power levels.  If you could post the second half of the downstream figures, the ones that show Pre and Post RS errors and the network log it might show something.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
250 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.6380
2Locked37.3210
3Locked38.6210
4Locked38.6260
5Locked38.9400
6Locked37.6280
7Locked37.6310
8Locked38.6390
9Locked38.6670
10Locked37.3290
11Locked38.6130
12Locked37.6350
13Locked38.6210
14Locked38.6150
15Locked37.6250
16Locked38.6380
17Locked37.6420
18Locked38.6220
19Locked37.6210
20Locked37.6310
21Locked37.6520
22Locked37.6320
23Locked37.6220
24Locked37.6270

Network Log

Time Priority Description

09/04/2020 19:56:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/04/2020 20:03:16noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/04/2020 13:47:22noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
08/04/2020 13:44:55noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
08/04/2020 13:44:50ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
08/04/2020 13:42:5noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
17/02/2020 08:27:13noticeUnit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/02/2020 08:00:54noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
17/02/2020 07:52:3noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
216 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Internet speed at 1/100 of what it should be.

Still the same problems across the board today. Yes, this is a bit of a bump.

0 Kudos
Reply