Menu
Reply
kcitym
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
630 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent speeds on M350

Hi,

For a few days now I've had intermittent speeds and ping. I upgraded from M200 to M350 about 2 weeks ago.

For a week or so the connection was fine with consistently over 350Mbps but a few days ago speeds are wildly fluctuating between 80MBps and 170MBps. I am connected to the Hub 3 router via Cat8 cable from my PC with a gigabit ethernet port. I also get intermittent speeds via Wi-Fi.

There doesn't seem to be any outages in my area.

Here is the log from my Hub 3 router:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1258750000-140256 qam16
2250750000-140256 qam15
3266750000-0.740256 qam17
4274750000-0.740256 qam18
5282750000-0.740256 qam19
6290750000-0.740256 qam20
7298750000-0.540256 qam21
8306750000-0.740256 qam22
9314750000-0.740256 qam23
10322750000-140256 qam24
11330750000-0.740256 qam25
12370750000-140256 qam26
13378750000-1.238256 qam27
14386750000-1.240256 qam28
15394750000-140256 qam29
16402750000-0.940256 qam30
17410750000-0.740256 qam31
18418750000-0.540256 qam32
19426750000-0.540256 qam33
20434750000-0.540256 qam34
21442750000-0.740256 qam35
22450750000-0.540256 qam36
23458750000-0.738256 qam37
24466750000-0.740256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.350
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.360
4Locked40.370
5Locked40.350
6Locked40.370
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.380
9Locked40.370
10Locked40.3130
11Locked40.360
12Locked40.930
13Locked38.980
14Locked40.390
15Locked40.380
16Locked40.380
17Locked40.3180
18Locked40.3200
19Locked40.390
20Locked40.3190
21Locked40.360
22Locked40.3170
23Locked38.940
24Locked40.320

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000049.8512064 qam2
24620000049.8512064 qam1
33260002449.5512064 qam3
45370000050512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID1517314
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID1517313
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

25/12/2020 03:14:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/12/2020 03:03:40noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2020 13:41:46ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2020 01:33:54noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/12/2020 10:07:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2020 18:32:17ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/12/2020 20:53:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2020 23:11:3noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2020 23:10:57Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2020 17:30:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 20:44:15noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:51:15ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 19:13:53noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 18:53:4ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 18:35:56noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2020 18:24:25noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
16/12/2020 18:22:17noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
612 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Please post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Live Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
kcitym
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
575 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

My BQM 

0 Kudos
Reply
kcitym
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
532 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

Could this be traffic shaping?

Speed is improving later in the night:

https://www.speedtest.net/my-result/d/114989e5-906c-4b43-85f7-b83b6a3a7f0a

https://www.speedtest.net/my-result/d/68ba5857-05e4-4b27-a45b-867408e30ac1

https://www.speedtest.net/my-result/d/14a2bf18-97cd-4ae3-9dca-2a7541f1f58f

I don't understand why this is happening though. When I was on Hub 2ac and M200 package earlier this month which I was on for 6 years, pretty much always got between 190Mbps & 220Mbps at all times. I'm in the same house with the same wiring.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
505 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

It isn't traffic shaping !!

Up to now your >> BQM << is showing signs that you are in an area of high usage but it will need to run for a full 24 hours to be able to confirm that it is a utilisation problem.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
kcitym
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
483 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

Would a Hub 4 resolve a utilisation issue?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
474 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

No.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
papa_lazarou
  • 28
  • 2
  • 2
On our wavelength
456 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

hey, read the info of your post, just makes me say what a con this all is. Bring on starlink, good old elon musk, not sure if it will arrive in my area, or the uk, yet but must be better that this piece of virgin media crap.

0 Kudos
Reply
kcitym
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
453 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent speeds on M350

Apparently a Hub 4 could help in a high utilisation area because of DOCSIS 3.1?

I'm in a Gig1 area.

0 Kudos
Reply