Menu
Reply
xPhilip
  • 81
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
687 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent connection problems

Internet cuts off seemingly at random. Hub 3.0 status shows Internet access denied.

Not sure if hub is overheating, I have 2 fans pointed at it because that's what I thought the problem could be.

I have seen multiple different light colours; green, red, orange, white

Think bb BQM graph shows nothing because my IP changed the first time the connection went down.

Modem mode doesn't work either.

I have factory reset the hub. 

For a while the web page at 192.168.0.1 went light blue and had a UPC logo in the top left instead of a VM logo..

I dont know what is wrong and its so frustrating having to do stuff via my phone all day. 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.5K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
655 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

have you set up another bqm with your current i.p address?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
xPhilip
  • 81
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
647 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Yeah I set one up when I realised

 

My Broadband Ping - Home Superhub 3

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
607 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Can you post a link to your Live BQM graph please.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
xPhilip
  • 81
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
594 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
587 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Your BQM is a mess.

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
xPhilip
  • 81
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
579 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Connection is currently down so I'm not sure if this is of any use, but this is what it currently says (I'll post it all again when connection is back up). Every couple of refreshes my page goes to this too - https://i.imgur.com/SpKmAjM.png
 
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1194750000-238256 qam8


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.650

 

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID



Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

 

Network LogTime Priority Description
12/08/2020 11:19:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:18:51criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:18:51ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:18:51criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:18:51criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:18:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:17:52criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:17:52ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:17:52criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:17:52criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:15:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:14:37criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:14:37ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:14:37criticalRegistration RSP rejected unspecified reason;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:14:36criticalRegistration RSP rejected message syntax error;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:11:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:10:8noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:10:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:09:31criticalREG RSP not received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 11:09:31ErrorT6 Timeout and retries exceeded;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
576 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

If there is nothing showing you will need an engineer visit to fix the problems but looking at the BQM there is an area fault affecting your broadband.

You can contact VM to report your problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Lisa_CC
  • 3.99K
  • 236
  • 451
Moderator
Moderator
552 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Hey there xPhilip,

 

I'm sorry to hear about your broadband issues and thanks for posting your BQM, I've tried to find your details but I'm unable to. I'm unsure whether you've contacted us since you last posted about it but I'll send you a Private Message just in case.

 

If you're still having problems, please reply back to it so I can take a look.

 

Thanks,

 

Lisa

0 Kudos
Reply
Lisa_CC
  • 3.99K
  • 236
  • 451
Moderator
Moderator
497 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection problems

Thanks for confirming your details for me @xPhilip 🙂 I've had a nosey at your details and can confirm that the agent you spoke to is correct in that an engineer is required. There is only one upstream channel and it's power levels are quite high. There isn't anything I can add to this but to wait for the tech to arrive to take a look. I've added details in the job notes for the tech to see but they'll be able to check whilst at your property.

 

Do update us as to how it goes.

 

Thanks,

 

Lisa