Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
764 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Here is the result from a speed test using a wired connection

Heres my config info from the hub 3.0

config.jpg

Can anyone help?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.6K
  • 844
  • 1.22K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
761 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Hello

Can you also please post your upstream, downstream and logs from the hub so we can check for power related problems.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
754 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Thanks for your reply, Is this what you want?  

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1299000000-4.538256 qam21
2187000000-338256 qam7
3195000000-340256 qam8
4203000000-3.240256 qam9
5211000000-3.438256 qam10
6219000000-3.240256 qam11
7227000000-3.440256 qam12
8235000000-3.738256 qam13
9243000000-438256 qam14
10251000000-438256 qam15
11259000000-4.238256 qam16
12267000000-4.438256 qam17
13275000000-4.538256 qam18
14283000000-4.440256 qam19
15291000000-4.738256 qam20
16307000000-4.540256 qam22
17315000000-4.738256 qam23
18323000000-538256 qam24
19379000000-5.238256 qam25
20387000000-5.240256 qam26
21395000000-5.240256 qam27
22403000000-5.438256 qam28
23411000000-5.238256 qam29
24419000000-5.238256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.970
2Locked38.9210
3Locked40.3200
4Locked40.350
5Locked38.950
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.950
8Locked38.960
9Locked38.950
10Locked38.670
11Locked38.980
12Locked38.650
13Locked38.960
14Locked40.950
15Locked38.9140
16Locked40.360
17Locked38.980
18Locked38.980
19Locked38.600
20Locked40.3100
21Locked40.350
22Locked38.990
23Locked38.6240
24Locked38.950

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1257999963.725512064 qam4
2326000123.725512064 qam3
3393999643.725512064 qam2
4462000433.725512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
749 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

I'm not sure why the images aren't working in my OP.

Heres the other logs just incase.

Status

Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
25799996
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
g87dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID6566
Max Traffic Rate575000000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID6565
Max Traffic Rate38520000
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

12/12/2019 04:14:4ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2019 16:22:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2019 19:59:4ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/12/2019 21:48:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2019 03:51:34ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2019 11:44:7ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2019 11:44:7noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxxl500u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2019 15:06:0criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/12/2019 11:55:19ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2019 03:43:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2019 05:08:55ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2019 07:36:39ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2019 07:36:39noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxxl500u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2019 08:11:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 22:08:50Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 22:08:51criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 22:08:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 22:08:51criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 22:08:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2019 22:08:55criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.48K
  • 564
  • 1.36K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
740 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Your downstream power levels are out of spec, should not be below -5 dBmV, but between -5 and +10, ideally closer to 0 dBmV.

Luckily that's a fairly simple thing to fix, but there's nothing can be done remotely, nor that you can do yourself, it will need a technician to visit.  You could try phoning VM's awful first line tech support (but I recommend against it unless you have a lot of time to waste), best option is wait for VM's helpful forum staff to pick this up and arrange a technician to visit.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
735 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Thanks for the reply. We were supposed to have a technician come out when we first upgraded to M500 but they never showed up.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
630 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Are Virgin staff likely to reply to this?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.44K
  • 1.62K
  • 2.64K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
601 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

Can take a day ot two before they pick up the threads or a VIP can ping them. May be worth trying your luck on the phone whilst waiting.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.28K
  • 596
  • 1.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
568 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.


@Andruser wrote:

Your downstream power levels are out of spec, should not be below -5 dBmV, but between -5 and +10, ideally closer to 0 dBmV.

Luckily that's a fairly simple thing to fix, but there's nothing can be done remotely, nor that you can do yourself, it will need a technician to visit.  You could try phoning VM's awful first line tech support (but I recommend against it unless you have a lot of time to waste), best option is wait for VM's helpful forum staff to pick this up and arrange a technician to visit.


I was told that the recommended range was -6 to +10, but even so those power levels could be better.

@ModTeam Please can you ask one of the forum team to take a look at @LukeBostwick's connection and if necessary arrange for a tech visit.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 48
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
564 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: I was upgraded from M200 to M500 a few weeks ago but haven't had an increase in speed.

I don't really see anything wrong with the levels. The modem is performing fine. Good SNR with zero lost codewords.
0 Kudos
Reply