Menu
Reply
Oum87
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
530 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

I AM PUZZLED

Is that a normal speed reading for a 500Mbps Oomph customer????Since I joined this company(three weeks ago). My speed has never been about 10Mbps....very far from the initial promise. 

Screenshot_20200524-204912_Speedtest.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.8K
  • 1.76K
  • 3.76K
Alessandro Volta
525 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

Images need to be approved.

How are you Speedtesting and via what device?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Oum87
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
501 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

Download speed between 8 and 9Mbps and upload speed around around 35Mbps.(Daily)

Devices tested on are as followed:

(Wifi 5ghz)Samsung note 10, iphone 11 and macbook pro.

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 28.8K
  • 1.76K
  • 3.76K
Alessandro Volta
493 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

You need to speedtest when wired direct to the hub. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.5K
  • 964
  • 2.27K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
429 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

Speed tests over wireless can be affected by a lot of things, but on a 5 GHz connected device you really ought to be seeing much higher speeds - potentially up to around 300 Mbps, maybe even around 500 on the iPhone 11.

Whilst it could be a wireless fault, I doubt that it would be so slow (and if it were a wifi problem you'd then expect your upload to be similarly constrained).  All of which points to a fault with your cable connection.  Normally there's little joy speaking to VM in your situation - the lazy corporate policy is to blame wireless wherever possible (ie customer's problem, not VM).  But if we can pinpoint what's going on they can be asked to fix that.

So, connect to your hub, don't log in, but at the log in page click on the link for Check router status.  That brings up a window with five tabs, of which three may diagnose a resolvable fault.  Can you copy and paste in replies here (as text, not images) the contents of the tabs titled Downstream, Upstream and Network log.  You'll often have to press the "Post/Reply" button on the page twice if it comes back and says "correct highlighted formatting errors", but doesn't highlight anything. 

Then from that information we can see if there's a noise, error or power level problem.  Armed with that you should be able to get it fixed. 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Oum87
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
400 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

Kindly enlighten my lantern.

 

Downstream bonded channels

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID14190000000.237256 qam302187000000-1.237256 qam73195000000-1.437256 qam84203000000-1.536256 qam95211000000-1.537256 qam106219000000-129256 qam117227000000-125256 qam128235000000-137256 qam139243000000-1.237256 qam1410251000000-1.537256 qam1511259000000-1.537256 qam1612267000000-1.537256 qam1713275000000-1.437256 qam1814283000000-1.237256 qam1915291000000-137256 qam2016299000000-137256 qam2117307000000-137256 qam2218315000000-0.737256 qam2319323000000-0.537256 qam24203790000000.237256 qam25213870000000.437256 qam26223950000000.537256 qam27234030000000.437256 qam28244110000000.537256 qam29

Downstream bonded channels

ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors1Locked37.64702Locked37.338503Locked37.689404Locked36.6160005Locked37.320206Locked29.76605425331258700817Locked25.936435090415772194488Locked37.396709Locked37.3589010Locked37.6120011Locked37.6195012Locked37.3401013Locked37.3379014Locked37.61016015Locked37.31236016Locked37.61003017Locked37.342018Locked37.6115019Locked37.329020Locked37.611021Locked37.612022Locked37.626023Locked37.610024Locked37.6170


Upstream bonded channels

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID1603002535.1512064 qam12462002105.1512064 qam33537002085.1512064 qam24394000165.1512032 qam4

Upstream bonded channels

ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts1ATDMA00002ATDMA00003ATDMA00004ATDMA0000

 


Network Log

TimePriorityDescription25/05/2020 10:37:15Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:37:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:35:15Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:35:5Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:35:3Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:34:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:33:40Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:31:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:30:3Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:20:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 10:18:55Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:53:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:51:31Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:51:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:49:19Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:49:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:48:31Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:48:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:48:7Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;25/05/2020 09:48:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 2.49K
  • 176
  • 511
Problem sorter
395 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

Your US power is too high (should be below 51) and you have some DS channels with too low a power (should be above 34db). You will need an engineer to fix this. BTW the 5.1 on the US is a bug, it should read 51. The decimal point is in the wrong place ...
0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.5K
  • 964
  • 2.27K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
320 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

And your network log shows multiple flags for RCS Partial service, which is when the hub loses one or more of the channels used to communicate on (meaning slow downs or loss of connection), and one of the upstream channels is dropping back to 32QAM.  So with the things that Adduxi has already spotted, you've got a thoroughly rotten connection, and (unless part of an area fault) it will need a VM technician to come and fix. 

You can try phoning in (or texting for a call back) and may already have done so, but there's always a danger that you'll get the useless offshore crew, who may follow a script that ends up blaming your wireless, or claiming everything looks OK from their end.  If you hold on here, the VM forum team will pick this up, they can see what you're experiencing, they can I believe check your hub status remotely, and they can see mine and Adduxi's comments.  They will advise on next steps.  This can take a day or two, but I'd advise be patient, and don't bump the thread (that can often make a VM staff response slower).

Be assured, this data proves you've got a rubbish connection, and has zip to do with your wireless.  Certainly, the Hub 3 wireless is pants, but that's a separate story, in which we community amateurs encourage people to invest in their own router or mesh wifi setup, and at the moment doing that would not make any difference to the problems you're having.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Oum87
  • 16
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
307 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

Great stuff!!! I have an Engineer scheduled for the coming days, I have taken on board the advices and will keep the community updated.

0 Kudos
Reply
Chris_W1
  • 3.55K
  • 158
  • 202
Forum Team
Forum Team
290 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: I AM PUZZLED

HI Oum87, Please let us know how the visit goes ^Chris. 

0 Kudos
Reply