Menu
Reply
llirp951753
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
730 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 Slow Internet

Good Morning 

I signed up to the M500 so I should be getting speeds between 400 to 500mbps down but i am only getting 202mbps and that is with just my computer directly connected to the hub 3 and nothing else connected to the network. 

I have also found that after about a week or two the speeds slow drop down till we start to notice streaming issues so we end up having to power the hub 3 off for 3 to 5 minutes to let it cool down and start again. 

I need this resolved urgently as i am not paying for a service that I am not getting 

jbrennand
  • 33.68K
  • 3.3K
  • 6.4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
701 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

Can you test it this way
____________________

As you expect >100Mbps then connect a 1GB enabled computer/laptop, with up to date drivers, via a NEW and working Cat5e/6a ethernet cable, directly to the Hub which you have put into “modem mode”

(https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-hub-modem-mode ).

This ensures that NO other devices are connected

Test speeds at https://speedtest.samknows.com/ - try on 2 different browsers.

If they are still low – boot your device into Windows safe+networking mode - to disable any potentially interfering software - and try again.

There are many posts on here (I have a list of ~30!) where QoS software, unknown/flaky software, old network card drivers, corrupted browsers, bad cables or other connected devices are limiting speeds on tests.

Report back what that gets.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
llirp951753
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
690 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

Already completed the first line checks which means nothing connected just my laptop at 1 Gbps Full Duplex same speeds 

Just to save time I work for an ISP/MSP so I know the issue is with Virgin and the Hub3, I have two issues the first one we are not being supplied with the correct bandwidth and the second one is the Hub 3. 

The Hub 3 has always been bad since the day Virgin first released it, that was the main reason I stayed with the Hub2 for 5+ years only upgraded it because we moved and wanted more speed. 

Ryan_N
  • 3.38K
  • 145
  • 289
Forum Team
Forum Team
630 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

Hi llirp951753, 

 

Thank you for your post and welcome to the forums. 

 

This is something that we can look into - not a problem at all.

 

Can you post your Hub status and logs please?

In your search bar on a web browser if you could go to: http://192.168.0.1 or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode.
From that point - please don't log in but press on 'Router Status'

Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs you can see - removing your MAC address from any of the information.

 

Can you also provide me a wired speed test here: (speedtest.net) and post the results please.

 

I would also advise to set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. it will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)


Give it around 24 hours once set up so the data can produce and then click 'Share Live graph' and paste the 'Direct Link' on to your post.

 

Cheers, 
Ryan. 
 



Ryan_N- Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
llirp951753
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
577 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

Cable Modem Status
Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz) 330750000 Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz) 46200000 Locked
Provisioning State Online
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 330750000 5.4 38 256 qam 25
2 202750000 6 38 256 qam 9
3 210750000 5.8 38 256 qam 10
4 218750000 5.5 38 256 qam 11
5 226750000 5.1 38 256 qam 12
6 234750000 4.8 38 256 qam 13
7 242750000 4.5 38 256 qam 14
8 250750000 4.5 38 256 qam 15
9 258750000 4.4 38 256 qam 16
10 266750000 4.5 38 256 qam 17
11 274750000 4.5 38 256 qam 18
12 282750000 4.6 38 256 qam 19
13 290750000 5 38 256 qam 20
14 298750000 5 38 256 qam 21
15 306750000 4.8 38 256 qam 22
16 314750000 5 38 256 qam 23
17 322750000 5.1 38 256 qam 24
18 338750000 5.5 38 256 qam 26
19 346750000 5.5 38 256 qam 27
20 354750000 5.9 38 256 qam 28
21 362750000 5.8 38 256 qam 29
22 370750000 5.8 38 256 qam 30
23 378750000 5.8 38 256 qam 31
24 386750000 5.8 40 256 qam 32



Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.9 41 0
2 Locked 38.9 36 17
3 Locked 38.9 31 19
4 Locked 38.9 34 0
5 Locked 38.9 21 0
6 Locked 38.9 25 0
7 Locked 38.6 33 0
8 Locked 38.9 35 0
9 Locked 38.9 27 0
10 Locked 38.9 43 0
11 Locked 38.9 38 0
12 Locked 38.9 18 0
13 Locked 38.9 20 0
14 Locked 38.6 30 0
15 Locked 38.6 31 0
16 Locked 38.9 31 0
17 Locked 38.6 24 0
18 Locked 38.6 51 0
19 Locked 38.9 36 0
20 Locked 38.9 45 0
21 Locked 38.9 70 0
22 Locked 38.9 49 18
23 Locked 38.9 48 15
24 Locked 40.3 36 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate  (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 46200000 34.8 5120 64 qam 1
2 32599995 35 5120 64 qam 3
3 25799940 35.5 5120 64 qam 4
4 39399971 34.8 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

General Configuration
Network access Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy Enabled
DOCSIS Mode Docsis30
Config file cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 21416
Max Traffic Rate 575000000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 21415
Max Traffic Rate 38520000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320
Scheduling Type BestEffort


Network Log
Time Priority Description
01/01/1970 00:01:43 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-ER=3.0;
02/07/2022 06:34:57 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2022 06:13:55 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 19:35:19 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 19:29:50 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-AC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 19:29:49 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 19:29:21 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-AC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 19:26:57 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 19:19:49 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:42 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/06/2022 18:57:5 Warning! LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM- MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-AC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/06/2022 10:54:25 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/06/2022 04:37:41 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-
VER=3.0;
23/06/2022 01:14:47 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2022 16:37:41 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-OS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2022 11:59:32 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2022 04:37:41 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-OS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/06/2022 12:21:21 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2022 16:37:41 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-OS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2022 14:33:31 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*3;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:*7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

llirp951753_0-1656933566414.png

llirp951753_1-1656933577301.png

 

 


Pings last 14 days from remote monitoring.

Server 1

llirp951753_2-1656933594311.png


Server 2

llirp951753_3-1656933604180.png

I have setup Broadband Quality Monitor today and will share when I have the results in 24 hours. 

 

Thank you for your help. 

0 Kudos
Reply
llirp951753
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
542 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

My Broadband Ping - RM9

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 6.9K
  • 354
  • 1.28K
Legend
537 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

There is something seriously wrong there. A constant baseline latency of 75mS shown on the BQM is most unusual, but your earlier tests show a more usual variable 20mS.

Have you done a factory reset reset of the Hub recently?

EDIT : I see from the log that you have. 

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 6.9K
  • 354
  • 1.28K
Legend
532 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

Although the Hub 3 has had its fair share of problems, with the latest firmware updates it performed reasonably well and this is not typical.  Perhaps a replacement is called for. 

0 Kudos
Reply
llirp951753
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
483 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

I did do a factory reset, to be honest since having this Hub3 when I moved in this year has been problematic. 

0 Kudos
Reply
llirp951753
  • 6
  • 0
  • 2
Tuning in
482 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 Slow Internet

Totally agree something is defiantly not right with this router 

0 Kudos
Reply