Menu
Reply
DieHardNerd
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
759 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

High latency several times an hour

Hi there,

I'm being hit quite often over the last few days with intermittent spikes (and occasional complete dropouts/reconnects) on my Hub 3 in Modem Mode. This is on a wired connection and I've rebooted both hub and router several times as well as reset the hub once.

Today's BQM so far:

DieHardNerd_0-1628263010340.png

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d8187d1b7c2d0ffddf14ca0f68eb814816...

This has happened previously but usually lasts a day and then goes away for months but we've been suffering this for the third day in a row now and tempers are short (mine in particular as I spend my work days SSH'd into various remote server where these spikes are infuriating).

I'm wondering if someone far more savvy than me could review my connection levels - when my SH3 arrived to replace my SH2, I was told I didn't need to connect the attenuator ... I guess I just want to make sure that was reasonable advice and, of course, any other advice is very welcome. Thanks in advance!

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

475000000

-0.5

38

256 qam

9

2

483000000

-0.7

37

256 qam

10

3

491000000

-1

37

256 qam

11

4

499000000

-1.5

37

256 qam

12

5

507000000

-1.5

38

256 qam

13

6

515000000

-1.4

37

256 qam

14

7

523000000

-1.2

37

256 qam

15

8

531000000

-1.7

37

256 qam

16

9

539000000

-2.5

37

256 qam

17

10

547000000

-3.4

37

256 qam

18

11

555000000

-3.7

37

256 qam

19

12

563000000

-3.7

37

256 qam

20

13

571000000

-3.2

37

256 qam

21

14

579000000

-3

37

256 qam

22

15

587000000

-3.2

37

256 qam

23

16

595000000

-3.7

37

256 qam

24

17

603000000

-4

37

256 qam

25

18

611000000

-3.7

37

256 qam

26

19

619000000

-3.7

37

256 qam

27

20

627000000

-3.9

37

256 qam

28

21

635000000

-4.5

37

256 qam

29

22

643000000

-5

37

256 qam

30

23

651000000

-5.2

37

256 qam

31

24

659000000

-4.5

37

256 qam

32

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

38.6

16

0

2

Locked

37.6

5

0

3

Locked

37.6

6

0

4

Locked

37.6

2

0

5

Locked

38.6

8

0

6

Locked

38.6

9

0

7

Locked

37.6

6

0

8

Locked

37.6

17

0

9

Locked

37.6

14

0

10

Locked

37.6

9

0

11

Locked

37.6

11

0

12

Locked

37.3

8

0

13

Locked

37.3

6

0

14

Locked

37.6

5

0

15

Locked

37.6

7

0

16

Locked

37.6

0

0

17

Locked

37.6

10

0

18

Locked

37.6

4

0

19

Locked

38.6

8

0

20

Locked

37.3

8

0

21

Locked

37.3

16

0

22

Locked

37.3

6

0

23

Locked

37.6

15

0

24

Locked

37.6

6

0

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

60300000

45.3

5120

64 qam

1

2

46200000

43.3

5120

64 qam

3

3

53700000

44.8

5120

64 qam

2

4

39399995

42.5

5120

64 qam

4

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.55K
  • 3.02K
  • 5.79K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
750 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Hub stats look ok - post up the network logs too.

There have been a few threads recently (see below) where similarly poor BQM's were due to a badly connected router. Can you go back into normal router mode on the VM Hub and run that for a few hours and see in the BQM "cleans up".

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Internet-connection-dropping/td-p/4781287/p...

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
DieHardNerd
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
739 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Thanks for the swift response, it's comforting to hear the levels look OK.

After reading through that thread, I'll try swapping out the ethernet cable between SH3 and router (Asus RT-AC58U) and pop it back into router mode for a period (the fact that I have a router in front of it at all is because of latency spikes due to the poor CPU in the SH3).

Whilst writing this post it dropped out altogether and is now reconnecting <sigh> - the fact it drops/reconnects at times means I don't expect the ethernet swap to have an effect, but running it back in router mode for a bit might trigger something under the covers.

Thanks again.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
DieHardNerd
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
737 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

And the network logs:

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

06/08/2021 13:48:31

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

05/08/2021 17:15:39

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

05/08/2021 14:07:3

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

01/08/2021 03:55:54

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

31/07/2021 21:01:39

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

26/07/2021 11:51:57

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

26/07/2021 10:48:5

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

24/07/2021 13:37:8

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

24/07/2021 11:51:10

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

21/07/2021 08:02:11

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

20/07/2021 23:51:9

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

18/07/2021 09:49:15

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

17/07/2021 11:51:8

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

14/07/2021 19:23:34

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

14/07/2021 00:05:23

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

10/07/2021 11:32:55

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

10/07/2021 10:36:56

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

06/07/2021 23:57:41

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

06/07/2021 22:36:55

Error

DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

04/07/2021 13:03:19

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.55K
  • 3.02K
  • 5.79K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
717 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Logs not too bad either. No real evidence of to many disconnections there. See if the BQM cleans up with the Hub in router mode.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 8.69K
  • 522
  • 876
Forum Team
Forum Team
637 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Hey @DieHardNerd,

 

Welcome to the community and thanks for taking the time to post here on our forums.

 

I'm sorry to hear of the issues that you're having, how have things been looking now and over the weekend?

 

I've had a check on our side but can also not see anything that would be causing the issues that you're having. 

 

Regards,

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.91K
  • 1.6K
  • 4.41K
Alessandro Volta
632 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

By my reckoning the 4.7 dBmV range of downstream power is too wide, and likely to cause a problem, and the live BQM link in the first post shows the problem is continuing.

@DieHardNerd  If you had an attenuator before and everything worked OK, try putting it back in and see if it makes a difference.  Failing that, put the hub in router mode, because staff can't remotely check the hub's status in modem mode.  Also, if changing hub mode, you'll get a different IP, so you need to edit your BQM settings to ensure continuity.  If the hub works perfectly in router mode, then the problem is probably with the connection to the Asus.  If the problem persists, then it's a coax problem and you'll need a technician.  As a short term measure to ensure decent wifi, put the hub in router mode but flip the Asus into access point mode.  

 

0 Kudos
Reply
DieHardNerd
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
626 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Hi Steven_L,

I've had it running most of the weekend back in router mode - the BQM graph looks different, worse in many ways (slightly thicker blue [avg latency] area and more unstable and bigger yellow area [max latency]):

DieHardNerd_0-1628502235503.png

I wasn't working over the weekend so couldn't really guage the pauses of a minute or so I've been suffering but the kids say it's been 'better' - frustratingly that could easily be due to it simply being transient (as has previously happened).

I plan to spend the working day with it in router mode (so I'll know straight away if it dips in and out again) and then switch back to modem mode this evening.

0 Kudos
Reply
DieHardNerd
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
617 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Thanks for taking a look Andrew - the attenuator was a long time ago (2 years+) and only ever attached to the SH2 before I was sent the SH3 and then later added the ASUS in front, not even sure where it is tbh but if the downstream power might be too wide, I'll go and look for it ... is there a simple ideal range (I've looked previously but never found any definitive answer)?

See my reply to Steven_L for status over the weekend - essentially I've had it in router mode most of Sat/Sun (I turned the ASUS off altogether and configured the SH3 with the same SSID/password, plus BQM is polling a duckdns DNS entry which one of my raspberry pi's updates every 5 minutes so there's continuity there too. I'm missing all my port forwarding etc. though so your access point mode suggestion is a really good one I hadn't thought of and it'll be interesting to see the BQM graph after offloading that work... will reconfigure that this evening after work and spend tomorrow in that state)

I'm conscious of only changing one thing at a time otherwise I'm not going to know what's had what effect...

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.91K
  • 1.6K
  • 4.41K
Alessandro Volta
598 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: High latency several times an hour

Just for reference, this is what a decent VM BQM looks like - my connection 5 August.  This is Hub 3 in modem mode with TP-Deco M4 mesh in router mode.  This is also what you should be seeing for your connection.  Looking at the last BQM you posted it appears to me to be a severe noise problem. 

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media 200 Mbps

0 Kudos
Reply