Menu
Reply
TDW
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
627 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

High Utilization (?)

The other year my area had a problem with over subscribing / High Utilization. 

It appears its happening again, all the same things.  Peak time speeds drop from what should be 200mb to 10/15mb, ping goes to 300+.  The connection at peak times is currently almost unusable and has been since July.

I've had an engineer out, who changed a few things, but still the same.  I'm being told it's not High Utilization.

Can someone look into it, please.  Many Thanks.

BQM Live 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14190000002.938256 qam32
2203000000438256 qam9
32110000003.738256 qam10
42190000003.538256 qam11
52270000003.238256 qam12
6235000000338256 qam13
72430000002.538256 qam14
82510000001.938256 qam15
92590000001.438256 qam16
102670000001.738256 qam17
11275000000338256 qam18
122830000003.938256 qam19
132910000004.440256 qam20
142990000004.838256 qam21
153070000004.838256 qam22
163150000004.940256 qam23
17323000000538256 qam24
183310000005.140256 qam25
193710000005.540256 qam26
203790000004.938256 qam27
21387000000438256 qam28
223950000003.238256 qam29
234030000002.938256 qam30
24411000000340256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.91010
2Locked38.9650
3Locked38.9610
4Locked38.9370
5Locked38.9830
6Locked38.6810
7Locked38.6940
8Locked38.61160
9Locked38.91430
10Locked38.61460
11Locked38.6680
12Locked38.9420
13Locked40.3530
14Locked38.91000
15Locked38.9700
16Locked40.3670
17Locked38.6780
18Locked40.3480
19Locked40.3590
20Locked38.6680
21Locked38.9550
22Locked38.91030
23Locked38.9960
24Locked40.3590

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000033.5512064 qam12
24620000033.5512064 qam11
35370000033.5512064 qam10
46030000035512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0050
4ATDMA0050
0 Kudos
Reply
paultechy
  • 19.76K
  • 1.74K
  • 4.1K
Alessandro Volta
605 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)

upstream power level on channels 1,2 and 3 showing on the very low side, would make sure all connections finger tight. since should all be similar to channel 4, can you post the network log
0 Kudos
Reply
TDW
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
558 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)

Network Log

Time Priority Description

30/12/2020 13:38:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 10:33:47noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 10:33:47ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/12/2020 06:46:57criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2020 22:33:47noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/12/2020 22:33:47ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/12/2020 21:49:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2020 10:33:46noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/12/2020 10:33:46ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/12/2020 15:35:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2020 22:33:46noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/12/2020 22:33:46ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/12/2020 11:43:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/12/2020 02:23:31noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/12/2020 02:23:31ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2020 14:39:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/12/2020 02:45:20noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 05:44:5noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 05:44:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/12/2020 05:14:6noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VE

 

Thanks for taking the time to reply, much appreciated.

0 Kudos
Reply
TDW
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
359 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)

3 weeks no reply from VM.  Still the same problem.  Please don't make me talk to the call centre, they are terrible. 😁

0 Kudos
Reply
paultechy
  • 19.76K
  • 1.74K
  • 4.1K
Alessandro Volta
353 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)

I've escalated this post for review by the forum staff, so should be a bit quicker reply
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 26.33K
  • 2.69K
  • 4.88K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
353 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)

A BQM will be informative in this regard.

So, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Eeeps
  • 899
  • 57
  • 157
Well-informed
338 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)


@TDW wrote:

I've had an engineer out, who changed a few things, but still the same.  I'm being told it's not High Utilization.

So did the engineer see your low speed and indicate they were OK.

Who is telling you it's not high utilisation? Your stats look fine in terms of the connection to the CMTS.
Do create the TBQM; it can be quite conclusive.

0 Kudos
Reply
Steven_L
  • 6.06K
  • 399
  • 624
Forum Team
Forum Team
308 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Utilization (?)

Hey @TDW

 

Sorry to hear that you're having issues with your broadband connection.

 

I have been able to find your account from your community profile and have found that there is congestion in your area at the moment and this is being worked on by our network team at the moment.

 

The current estimated fix time that we have for the problem is February 24th @15:00.

 

Thanks

Steven_L

0 Kudos
Reply