Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
449 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

High Ping and packet loss

Hi I'm getting very high ping spikes and constant packet loss, here is my ping test to Google's ip on my router and heres my stats . Please any help? Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
483000000


Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200019
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

ID

1483000000040256 qam30
21870000001.540256 qam7
31950000001.238256 qam8
42030000001.240256 qam9
52110000000.938256 qam10
62190000000.440256 qam11
72270000000.538256 qam12
82350000000.740256 qam13
92430000000.438256 qam14

ID

1462000194.525512064 qam1
2258000004.525512064 qam4
3325999984.525512064 qam3
4394000004.525512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
UBsgvca69834ncxv9873254k;fg87ds


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID348
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID347
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.93K
  • 511
  • 898
Legend
443 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

 

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
399 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3K
  • 177
  • 239
Forum Team
Forum Team
267 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

Hi angelastinson,

 

Thanks for posting and welcome to our community 🙂

 

Sorry to hear you're having some issue with your connections. 

 

How're things since your post on the 17th? Do you have an up to date BQM?

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
172 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

Still spiking to 200 ping plus and disconnects, especially at peak time, this is getting so annoying now https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/view/50d6958e390cfba790be8b268d9d0d82402...

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.93K
  • 511
  • 898
Legend
161 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss


@angelastinson wrote:

Still spiking to 200 ping plus and disconnects, especially at peak time, this is getting so annoying now https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/view/50d6958e390cfba790be8b268d9d0d82402...


Link comes up as 'Page Not Found'.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.55K
  • 570
  • 1.4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
158 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

Your last BQM link is to your logged-in profile on Thinkbroadband, so it doesn't work for anybody other than you.  You'll need to put up a link to a shared graph (I suggest a "live" graph at that).  Don't post an image or screenshot from your logged in account, it'll not be approved because it shows your IP address.

You may also want to re-post the hub's status data - when you did so before, your technique was right (selecting text, pasting as formatted text) but you hadn't included the full set of data, as each tab extends downwards.  For example there's 24 downstream channels, and error data per channel, but you only selected the power and SNR data for the first nine.  Also, the Network log is sometimes helpful in showing up a problem.  It is important that you post these as text, so that the forum software can obscure personal data like the IP addresses and MAC addresses - when you do that it'll throw up an "invalid HTML message", just click on "post" again.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.93K
  • 511
  • 898
Legend
152 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
76 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

My BQM 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b12c09a8fca1b6c990bc8585583406a2ee166248-26-09-2020

Its usually even worse than this tbh. And seems a lot worse when I'm in router mode and not modem mode.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
52 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping and packet loss

My BQM today 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b12c09a8fca1b6c990bc8585583406a2ee166248-26-09-2020
0 Kudos
Reply