Menu
Reply
MrMeeb
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,091 Views
Message 1 of 56
Flag for a moderator

High Ping Spikes

Hi guys, got a complex one here

For the last year I have been running a PFSense router behind a SH3 in modem mode, and everything has been completely fine. Suddenly, maybe a month ago, I found we were suddenly experiencing large latency spikes (up to around 500+ms for around 20-30s) fairly regularly. Multiple times an hour at its worst. I assumed there was nothing wrong with my hardware, and that VM were having issues, as does happen every now and then.

After a few back-and-forths with Virgin call centres, including a replacement SH3, they eventually suggested that I actually try using the VM SH3 as a router, for the sake of testing. Latency disappeared. I assumed this meant part of the hardware in my PFSense router was growing faulty. Ordered a replacement NIC, put it in the PFSense box, and saw the same issue. Strange. 

At this point, I replaced the entire machine with something I had laying around, that was considerably overpowered. Using an entirely new machine, and fresh config, I saw the same issue. 

Following this, I kept the SH3 in router mode for the time being, and connected my housemates to that, while personally I used a seperate network running under my PFSense router, continuing to monitor it. 

Ping disappeared. Any spikes I did see were also observed on a SH3 connection, so they were related.

Assumed whatever issue I was having had resolved itself after a couple of weeks, so earlier today I put the SH3 back into modem mode to try again. Ping returned. This time, I was monitoring it from the PFSense router itself, not a device connected to it.

Surely the fact that the PFSense router itself is experiencing high latency would suggest an issue in the connection between the SH3 modem and the router, and not an issue with what I have configured.

I'm really at a loss for what could be causing this. I want to be able to use the PFSense router, due to the advanced features it offers that I use. It had been working completely fine for the last year, but in the past month, my network has come grinding to a halt. 

Any support would be appreciated!

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,087 Views
Message 2 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

Firstly set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 link chain)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK

Then

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter.  When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’. Copy and paste the contents of each tab onto here, a Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

 

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
MrMeeb
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,079 Views
Message 3 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

My BQM 

Status

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
194750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32600000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11947500001.540256 qam8
22027500001.538256 qam9
32107500001.438256 qam10
42187500001.538256 qam11
52267500001.238256 qam12
62347500001.438256 qam13
72427500001.438256 qam14
82507500001.538256 qam15
92587500001.538256 qam16
102667500001.438256 qam17
112747500001.440256 qam18
122827500001.538256 qam19
132907500001.238256 qam20
142987500001.738256 qam21
153067500001.738256 qam22
163147500001.738256 qam23
173227500001.538256 qam24
184027500001.738256 qam25
194107500001.738256 qam26
204187500001.238256 qam27
214267500001.438256 qam28
224347500001.238256 qam29
234427500001.238256 qam30
24450750000138256 qam31

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.340
2Locked38.960
3Locked38.980
4Locked38.950
5Locked38.940
6Locked38.960
7Locked38.970
8Locked38.680
9Locked38.9110
10Locked38.9120
11Locked40.370
12Locked38.970
13Locked38.970
14Locked38.940
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.970
17Locked38.9180
18Locked38.920
19Locked38.960
20Locked38.900
21Locked38.960
22Locked38.960
23Locked38.960
24Locked38.9120

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1326000004.525512064 qam5
2462000004.625512064 qam3
3394000004.55512064 qam4
4537000004.65512064 qam2

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000



0 Kudos
Reply
MrMeeb
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,078 Views
Message 4 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxxl35016u-b.cm

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID176166
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID176165
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.33K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,064 Views
Message 5 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

Your BQM is showing "all red" - usually means you need to change the setting to allow it to accept WAN pings.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
MrMeeb
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,063 Views
Message 6 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

Yep, noticed that. Resolved
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.33K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,051 Views
Message 7 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

OK - let it run so a picture builds up over a 24h period.

Your other Hub stats are all spot on and look good, but can you post up your "Network Logs" as well. These may be more informative, at least for those who can interpret them!


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,048 Views
Message 8 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

When you do post the Network Logs can you also copy and paste the BMQ link as well please,

It saves scrolling up and down the page.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MrMeeb
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,042 Views
Message 9 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

I just tried returning to 192.168.100.1 and it now times out. When pinging from my PC, no reply. When pinging from my router, I received 1 of 3 pings back. I feel that isn't meant to happen, but it is actually something that I experience any time I use modem mode. Being able to connect to the device is spotty without rebooting it

It responded this time! Weird.

 
Network LogTime Priority Description
12/03/2020 10:59:2noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/03/2020 00:09:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/03/2020 14:31:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/03/2020 19:21:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/03/2020 16:20:12ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/03/2020 13:43:39ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/03/2020 01:15:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 03:10:53criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 03:09:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 03:04:2criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 03:02:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:59:57criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:58:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:58:2criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:56:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:55:48criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:54:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:53:53criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:52:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 02:52:3criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/8f36845a873d590d2f29f5f0396988bdb1... 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.33K
  • 2.4K
  • 3.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,021 Views
Message 10 of 56
Flag for a moderator

Re: High Ping Spikes

BQM looking ugly in these early days:-(

Logs don't look too bad to my untrained eye either - someone else should comment soon. Meanwhile can you just do a quick check that all of your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc with no “unterminated loose ends, and that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing. Also check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply