Menu
Reply
rdbrown1987
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
424 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Help please, not getting correct speed

Hi I'm wondering if someone can help me, I'm not getting the correct speed I pay for, paying for 500mbps and getting only around 30mbps via WiFi and wired for the last few months and I can't get through to customer services.

 
Network LogTime Priority Description
30/12/2020 23:58:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 19:40:36noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2020 19:40:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/12/2020 17:40:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 22:15:58noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 17:42:58Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 17:42:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 17:42:53criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 17:42:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 17:42:53criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 07:42:15Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 07:42:15criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 07:42:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 07:42:13criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 07:42:12Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/12/2020 07:42:12criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2020 09:46:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2020 07:40:36noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2020 07:40:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/12/2020 02:08:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
rdbrown1987
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
421 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help please, not getting correct speed

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1243000000338256 qam14
2139000000-1.234256 qam1
3147000000-0.735256 qam2
4155000000-0.535256 qam3
5163000000036256 qam4
61710000000.536256 qam5
7179000000137256 qam6
81870000001.437256 qam7
91950000001.237256 qam8
102030000001.737256 qam9
112110000002.237256 qam10
122190000002.537256 qam11
132270000002.737256 qam12
14235000000338256 qam13
152510000003.237256 qam15
162590000003.538256 qam16
17267000000438256 qam17
182750000004.438256 qam18
192830000004.838256 qam19
20291000000538256 qam20
212990000005.438256 qam21
223070000005.838256 qam22
233150000005.938256 qam23
243230000006.438256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.67957156182978
2Locked34.911863234938825
3Locked3510278515768318
4Locked35.79972928728978
5Locked36.69859156687887
6Locked36.69636055586910
7Locked37.39447117542438
8Locked37.39777934546191
9Locked37.39965491588652
10Locked37.69368525478039
11Locked37.69163834359798
12Locked37.68531197275177
13Locked37.68510205264920
14Locked38.68004275203575
15Locked37.67766865162810
16Locked38.6633085884007
17Locked38.6542555557677
18Locked38.6488784151492
19Locked38.9423700036511
20Locked38.6451795844672
21Locked38.6412093347220
22Locked38.9352599658457
23Locked38.9321008351222
24Locked38.6246499053327
0 Kudos
Reply
rdbrown1987
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
420 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help please, not getting correct speed

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13260000043512064 qam3
22580000043.5512064 qam4
33940000043.5512064 qam2
44620000042.5512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0060
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0050
4ATDMA0090
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 23.83K
  • 2.53K
  • 4.32K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
387 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help please, not getting correct speed

Does look like a problem - too many T3's on upstream channels and the RS error counts look ominous - but could be historical accumulation. Try this.

Can you first switch the Hub off for 5 minutes AND unplug it from the mains. Whilst it's off, do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box. Then switch it on again and leave 5 minutes

When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or so to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't. If they do (particularly the postRS ones) you have a problem (noise) that only a Tech visit will sort.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
360 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help please, not getting correct speed

Your Downstream Power Levels individually are all within spec but, the differential between the lowest at -0.7dBmV and the highest at +6.4dBmV is too great.

This will need an engineer to put right.

You can either call in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days (6 to 10 days average) until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.

 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1243000000338256 qam14
2139000000-1.234256 qam1
3147000000-0.735256 qam2
4155000000-0.535256 qam3
5163000000036256 qam4
61710000000.536256 qam5
7179000000137256 qam6
81870000001.437256 qam7
91950000001.237256 qam8
102030000001.737256 qam9
112110000002.237256 qam10
122190000002.537256 qam11
132270000002.737256 qam12
14235000000338256 qam13
152510000003.237256 qam15
162590000003.538256 qam16
17267000000438256 qam17
182750000004.438256 qam18
192830000004.838256 qam19
20291000000538256 qam20
212990000005.438256 qam21
223070000005.838256 qam22
233150000005.938256 qam23
243230000006.438256 qam24

*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
rdbrown1987
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
336 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help please, not getting correct speed

Thanks for your input I've managed to get through on the phone and an engineer is coming out to me 👍

0 Kudos
Reply
rdbrown1987
  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
335 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Help please, not getting correct speed

Thanks for the input I've got an engineer coming out to me 👍