Menu
Reply
Ann_Droid
  • 99
  • 5
  • 4
Up to speed
1,149 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Hi

27/08/2019 15:04:55noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
27/08/2019 15:06:59noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
27/08/2019 22:43:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Repeated phone calls, no sensible response.

History...

Upgraded to 100 mbps some time ago, clocked it with a laptop and ethernet at just over the TON, now that same combination struggles to get 75mbps.

The problem is my WiFi, my ethernet cable, my router, my ????????? everything except a VM problem.

 

Help or sympathy accepted, TIA.

 

 

 


All is Calm
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.18K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,143 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Restart the laptop in safe mode and try another speed test, and also try again with any "websafe" and AV programs paused.  Some of these add a significant overhead by routinely passing large amounts of data back to their parent company, if that's the case then it can be addressed by changing settings or using a different service.  If that still shows poor speeds, then go into router status (where you got the config data) and cut and paste the Upstream and Downstream tabs here.  If there's an obvious line problem then people round here can spot it, and armed with that knowledge VM can be asked to fix it.  That isn't an exhaustive test, but it'll cover quite of lot of possibilities.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Ann_Droid
  • 99
  • 5
  • 4
Up to speed
1,134 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Hi

Thanks.

Tomorrow I want to "RESET" and try "MODEM" mode.

AND intend to try using something Lite like Lubuntu as well as W10.

 

 

 


All is Calm
0 Kudos
Reply
Ann_Droid
  • 99
  • 5
  • 4
Up to speed
1,103 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Some added info.

Reset HUB and tried in MODEM mode.  Definitely no improvement, even a slightly lower figure.

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

16750000002.236256 qam30
24590000006.938256 qam7
34670000006.438256 qam8
44750000006.438256 qam9
54830000006.538256 qam10
64910000006.538256 qam11
74990000006.838256 qam12
85070000006.538256 qam13
95150000006.338256 qam14
105230000006.538256 qam15
11531000000638256 qam16
125390000006.138256 qam17
135470000006.138256 qam18
14555000000638256 qam19
15563000000638256 qam20
16571000000638256 qam21
175790000005.638256 qam22
185870000005.938256 qam23
195950000005.438256 qam24
206350000005.337256 qam25
216430000005.337256 qam26
22651000000537256 qam27
236590000004.437256 qam28
246670000001.736256 qam29



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked36.620
2Locked38.960
3Locked38.650
4Locked38.630
5Locked38.650
6Locked38.600
7Locked38.950
8Locked38.950
9Locked38.600
10Locked38.640
11Locked38.600
12Locked38.650
13Locked38.650
14Locked38.650
15Locked38.650
16Locked38.950
17Locked38.600
18Locked38.650
19Locked38.640
20Locked37.600
21Locked37.660
22Locked37.660
23Locked37.600
24Locked36.6180

 

1458000004.3512064 qam1
2274000004.25512064 qam3


Upstream is mostly 10.0 better than the 6 guaranteed minimum.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000

 

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
675000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
45800000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

 


All is Calm
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.18K
  • 1.09K
  • 2.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,096 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Looking at those stats I'm afraid I can't see anything obviously wrong.  So unfortunately you've exhausted the limits of my meagre tech-detective capabilities   Hopefully other more expert users can advise, or the Forum staff can take over.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Ann_Droid
  • 99
  • 5
  • 4
Up to speed
1,089 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Hi

Are you familiar with the Arabian Nights, VM Cust Services are.

Every time a different fairy tale.

Now I have my laptop connected and doing a dual speed test I get at best 79, pings about 14. 

Now the WiFi cannot do that speed alone, the ethernet on its own pings about 13 and gets 71.

Device name MAC address IP address Speed (Mbps) Connected to
MyLaptop     **:**:**:**:**:** 192.168.0.10/24 100 Ethernet
MyLaptop     **:**:**:**:**:** 192.168.0.11/24  67.93 WiFi 2.4 GHz VirginMedia
android-dog **:**:**:**:**:** 192.168.0.12/24  70.50 WiFi   5 GHz VirginMedia
AcerDevice  **:**:**:**:**:** 192.168.0.13/24 70.41 WiFi 2.4 GHz VirginMedia

Where is the 103 we clocked with the Acer over ethernet, my best is circa 93.

 

Thanks for help.

 


All is Calm
0 Kudos
Reply
Ann_Droid
  • 99
  • 5
  • 4
Up to speed
932 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Hi

FINALLY A SPEED READING/RATING OF OLD.

 

 PING ms   18      DOWNLOAD Mbps  112.35       UPLOAD Mbps   6.08
 
So my upload has dropped, but the Download is back to where it should be.
 
BUT the number of LIES I have had.  I have asked for the transcripts as part of my complaint.
 
latest was my Gbe Gigabit ethernet could never connect at more than 100 and I have to upgrade it.
 
I want to waste my time gathering the evidence to support my need to leave Virgin Media ASAP.
 
WHOOPS 
PING ms    32           DOWNLOAD Mbps   53.48              UPLOAD Mbps   5.88
 
PING ms     31          DOWNLOAD Mbps   50.52              UPLOAD Mbps    6.04
 
PING ms    15           DOWNLOAD Mbps    67.42             UPLOAD Mbps    6.03
 
 
 
 

 

 


All is Calm
0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 6.54K
  • 473
  • 1.14K
Legend
925 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Let's see the logs as well.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
Ann_Droid
  • 99
  • 5
  • 4
Up to speed
763 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

Hi

 

It would be nice to know what it all represents.

 

27/08/2019 15:04:55noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
27/08/2019 15:06:59noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
27/08/2019 22:43:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:03:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:03:51criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:03:51Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:03:52criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:03:57Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:07:31criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/09/2019 00:18:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 


All is Calm
0 Kudos
Reply
Roger_Gooner
  • 6.54K
  • 473
  • 1.14K
Legend
753 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: HUB3 at 50 - 75% speed for 3 weeks.

The logs show no recent problems. Whatr speeds are you getting with a wired connection?

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply