Menu
Reply
cadogi
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
905 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

Hi all,

I got a new Hub 4 delivered on 29th September and set it up as the Hub 3 was set up. However when speed testing on M500 I was regularly over 400Mbps (often over 500Mbps) and ~35 down, now that I have a shiny new Hub 4 with Gig1 package I am lucky to get 350Mbps most tests are under 300Mbps to my own router (nighthawk R8000) or laptop (both Gigabit ports) plugged directly into the hub 4 (cat5e/6/7 all tested) to be fair I am getting about 52Mbps upload (so Gig1 is enabled).

The problem is that https://samknows.com/realspeed/ shows 1Gbps so VM support don't care that my usable speed has dropped a couple of hundred meg. I have done file transfers >4GB from a 20Gbps capable source that used to go at >50MB/s 2 days ago which are now 19MB/s.

I realise these are still good speeds but I grudge paying more to upgrade and getting less than I had before with my entire network online (Hub 4 in modem mode), or if I just have 1 laptop plugged directly into into the Hub 4 (in router mode).

I have seen posts about dBmV being a red flag beyond +/- 6 so I've included the downstream channel information below too. 

Any help would be appreciated.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

25331000000-7.09999838.605377QAM25625
8195000000-1.70000140.946209QAM2568
9203000000-1.79999940.366287QAM2569
10211000000-2.20000140.366287QAM25610
11219000000-2.40000240.366287QAM25611
12227000000-3.00000038.983261QAM25612
13235000000-3.40000240.946209QAM25613
14243000000-3.70000138.983261QAM25614
15251000000-4.50000038.983261QAM25615
16259000000-4.50000038.983261QAM25616
17267000000-3.90000238.983261QAM25617
18275000000-4.29999938.983261QAM25618
19283000000-4.79999938.983261QAM25619
20291000000-5.00000038.983261QAM25620
21299000000-4.59999838.605377QAM25621
22307000000-5.00000038.605377QAM25622
23315000000-5.59999838.605377QAM25623
24323000000-6.40000238.605377QAM25624
26339000000-7.40000238.605377QAM25626
27347000000-7.40000237.636276QAM25627
28355000000-7.90000237.636276QAM25628
29363000000-7.90000237.636276QAM25629
30371000000-8.29999937.355988QAM25630
31379000000-8.90000237.355988QAM25631
32387000000-9.50000037.355988QAM25632
33395000000-9.90000237.355988QAM25633
34403000000-9.79999937.355988QAM25634
35411000000-9.90000237.355988QAM25635
36419000000-10.20000136.609653QAM25636
37427000000-10.09999837.355988QAM25637
38435000000-10.20000137.355988QAM25638
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
880 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

Most of your Downstream Power Levels are very high with some too high.

This will need an engineer visit to put them back into spec.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
cadogi
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
871 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

Hi Mike,

Thanks for your reply, would the high power levels have a negative impact on download speeds? I just don't understand how there can be such a drop off after installing the Hub 4. Or maybe the activation of the faster package did it?
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
864 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

My mistake they are too low. Min Power Level is -6dBmV.

Yes it will affect the download speeds the Hub will be struggling.

When you phone in the CS staff should check the levels.

They will probably ask you to reboot /factory reset the Hub. This will possibly be a short term fix.

Be firm with them and insist on an engineer visit.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
cadogi
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
857 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

ah ok,

so I guess the DOCSIS 3.1 power level is not ideal either then. I am on hold again to talk to support again. 

Channel ID | Lock Status | RxMER Data (dB) | PLC Power (dBmV) | Correcteds (Active Profile) | Uncorrectables (Active Profile)

159Locked       -25.97502783840

 

Thanks again Mike

 

==============================================================

*UPDATE*

That was the fastest I have ever gone through that queue. As soon as they looked at my power levels they said they will send an engineer out before I could even ask, so it's booked for Friday. Fingers crossed it gets sorted.

0 Kudos
Reply
cadogi
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
692 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

Final update on this for anyone who gets this far.

It turns out there were 2 line faults (both fractures in the old cabling), these were causing the low Power (dBmV) readings. once they were sorted the Power (dBmV) reading are now between -1.900002 and 2.599998, as well as the 3.1 power level being reduced to -6.3.

The really important thing to highlight here is that before the fix I could tell there was an issue from day to day usage and every speed test other than SamKnows showed my connection was now slower (between 200 and 400 Mbps). However SamKnows (via the hub 4) stated I was getting 1Gbps speeds the entire time. Now, and only now, that the faults have been fixed I am seeing other speed tests come in between 700 and 900 Mbps and SamKnows still shows 1Gbps (which it probably should now). I can also tell from my own usage that things are moving faster.

I think Virgin Media should be very careful about using the RealSpeed metrics on their own because there is clearly a flaw in that plan which is detrimental to customers actual speeds. Especially since their own engineers said they didn't think I could have been getting 1Gbps with the issues which have now been resolved.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
jamstar2k
  • 41
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
363 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 download speeds slower than M500 only difference is Hub 4

I find it really dissapointing that VM try to fob you off with SamKnows results when they know full well that there could be issues when you quesry the 1Gigga service. Im having the same issue right now, but we as customers shouldnt have to jump through hoops to get this sorted. it seems this service should only be sold to techies!

0 Kudos
Reply