Menu
Reply
uksb
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
632 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Been with VM a few months now on Gig1

Recently noticed slow speeds first thing in the morning until I reboot the router.

First thing getting ~100mb down

After reboot getting ~600mb down (wireless)

Not sure why this is happening

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.52K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.55K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
621 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Sounds like your hub has a connection problem due to power or noise levels.  A reboot causes it to renegotiate the 28 channels it uses to connect to VM's network gear and temporarily solves the problem, but because it doesn't address the underlying cause over time it recurs.

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  Log in and find the link "Check router status", or it may be buried under the various menus (I'd hazard a guess under Admin>Tools),  When you find that it will bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts, and the forum staff can advise on getting the problem fixed.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

uksb
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
617 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Thanks, here is the data

 

vm.png

0 Kudos
Reply
uksb
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
613 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

hmm seems I have to wait for image of data to be approved
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.52K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.55K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
567 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Never mind the moderation delay, the problem with screenprints and image grabs is (like these) that they end up too small to display properly.  Which is why it is best to paste as text.  And the Network log is useful to get a complete picture of what's going on.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
uksb
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
561 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

21470000003.638.6QAM2562
11390000003.738.6QAM2561
31550000003.639QAM2563
41630000003.237.6QAM2564
51710000003.338.6QAM2565
61790000003.538.6QAM2566
71870000003.639QAM2567
81950000003.639QAM2568
92030000003.639QAM2569
102110000003.639QAM25610
112190000003.538.6QAM25611
122270000003.339QAM25612
132350000003.438.6QAM25613
142430000003.238.6QAM25614
152510000002.738.6QAM25615
162590000002.838.6QAM25616
172670000002.939QAM25617
182750000002.839QAM25618
192830000002.839QAM25619
202910000003.138.6QAM25620
212990000004.339QAM25621
223070000004.338.6QAM25622
233150000003.938.6QAM25623
243230000003.839QAM25624
253630000003.439QAM25625
263710000003.438.6QAM25626
273790000003.239QAM25627
28387000000338.6QAM25628
293950000003.239QAM25629
304030000003.139QAM25630
314110000002.538.6QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

2Locked38.60537700
1Locked38.60537700
3Locked38.98326100
4Locked37.63627600
5Locked38.60537700
6Locked38.60537700
7Locked38.98326100
8Locked38.98326100
9Locked38.98326100
10Locked38.98326100
11Locked38.60537700
12Locked38.98326100
13Locked38.60537700
14Locked38.60537700
15Locked38.60537700
16Locked38.60537700
17Locked38.98326100
18Locked38.98326100
19Locked38.98326100
20Locked38.60537700
21Locked38.98326100
22Locked38.60537700
23Locked38.60537700
24Locked38.98326100
25Locked38.98326100
26Locked38.60537700
27Locked38.98326100
28Locked38.60537700
29Locked38.98326100
30Locked38.98326100
31Locked38.60537700
0 Kudos
Reply
uksb
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
560 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000047.85120 KSym/sec64QAM2
23940000046.85120 KSym/sec64QAM4
34620000047.35120 KSym/sec64QAM3
46030000048.85120 KSym/sec64QAM1



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
555 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Those stats look fine!

Are there any local issues?

The most useful and up to date info comes from the 0800 561 0061 number. Try that to see if there are any faults that the web service hasn't picked up!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 9.52K
  • 1.54K
  • 4.55K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
552 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

They look fine because the hub's been rebooted recently, which is why the pre-RS errors are all zero.

That's where the network log might help us if there's any timeouts, sync errors or partial service flags overnight.  But we'd also really want to see the hub's Downstream and Upstream data when speeds are slow and BEFORE it is rebooted.  @uksb the reason for this is that when you reboot the hub it clears the upstream and downstream error counters, and renegotiates all channels, as a result it looks like a good connection because (temporarily) it is a good connection.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
549 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig1 - Slow speed in the morning until router reboot

Apologies, I was meaning the power levels!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply