Menu
Reply
mvr_london
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
643 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

Been slow for a few days now, barely getting 100M.

I've rebooted the modem and double checked all connections.

It is in modem mode.

I've had Gig 1 for about a year with no issues until now.  Full speed usually

 

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

6178750000-0.29999937.355988QAM2566
11387500001.59999836.609653QAM2561
21467500001.29999937.636276QAM2562
31547500001.50000037.636276QAM2563
41627500000.79999937.355988QAM2564
5170750000-0.20000137.636276QAM2565
7186750000-0.59999837.636276QAM2567
8194750000-1.09999837.355988QAM2568
9202750000-1.40000237.355988QAM2569
10210750000-1.70000137.355988QAM25610
11218750000-1.90000237.355988QAM25611
12226750000-2.50000037.355988QAM25612
13234750000-2.90000237.355988QAM25613
14242750000-3.29999937.355988QAM25614
15250750000-3.50000037.355988QAM25615
16258750000-2.29999937.636276QAM25616
17266750000-2.20000137.355988QAM25617
18274750000-2.79999937.355988QAM25618
19282750000-3.09999837.636276QAM25619
20290750000-3.29999937.636276QAM25620
21298750000-2.79999937.636276QAM25621
22306750000-2.90000237.355988QAM25622
23314750000-3.29999937.636276QAM25623
24322750000-3.50000037.636276QAM25624
25330750000-3.59999837.355988QAM25625
26338750000-4.20000137.355988QAM25626
27346750000-3.90000237.355988QAM25627
28354750000-4.20000137.636276QAM25628
29362750000-4.90000237.636276QAM25629
30370750000-4.00000037.636276QAM25630
31378750000-4.00000037.636276QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

6Locked37.35598800
1Locked36.60965300
2Locked37.63627600
3Locked37.63627600
4Locked37.35598800
5Locked37.63627600
7Locked37.63627600
8Locked37.35598800
9Locked37.35598800
10Locked37.35598800
11Locked37.35598800
12Locked37.35598800
13Locked37.35598800
14Locked37.35598800
15Locked37.35598800
16Locked37.63627600
17Locked37.35598800
18Locked37.35598800
19Locked37.63627600
20Locked37.63627600
21Locked37.63627600
22Locked37.35598800
23Locked37.63627600
24Locked37.63627600
25Locked37.35598800
26Locked37.35598800
27Locked37.35598800
28Locked37.63627600
29Locked37.63627600
30Locked37.63627600
31Locked37.63627600



3.1 Downstream channels

Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159944K1840QAM4096424


3.1 Downstream channels

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159Locked40-4.627311350
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
625 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

Nothing is really jumping out!

What does U/S look like?



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
mvr_london
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
622 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000044.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM3
23260000043.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM5
33940000043.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM4
45370000044.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM2



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
mvr_london
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
616 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

I've also just reset the modem using the 60 sec pinhole method.

Then tried speeds again in router mode using a laptop directly connected via ethernet cable, result - 80Mbps

Put back into modem mode and tried again - still getting 80Mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 3.85K
  • 259
  • 724
Community elder
615 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

Same for that.. I can't see any issues with the posted levels.

I'd hang tight for a VM forum rep to get to this - they will be able to run some tests and see if they can spot an issue!

In the meantime - COuple of things to check:

1. Is there QoS enabled on the 3rd party router?
2. What speeds is the 3rd party router capable of getting?
3. What speed do you get when you take an ethernet (cat6) out of the hub and into a laptop?



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 19.53K
  • 800
  • 2.07K
Alessandro Volta
561 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted


@mvr_london wrote:

I've also just reset the modem using the 60 sec pinhole method.

Then tried speeds again in router mode using a laptop directly connected via ethernet cable, result - 80Mbps

Put back into modem mode and tried again - still getting 80Mbps


Not much you can do then unless you have bad cables

do a speed test here and change Connections from Multi to single do you get the same speed in both modes?

Speedtest by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test

 

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 33.59K
  • 3.3K
  • 6.38K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
554 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

If the ethernet cable has "broken" it will usually default to the old 10/100 standard and give you ~80-90. So first thing is to swap to a new Cat5e/6 one. Also check that the NIC card hasn't dropped from 1GB to 10/100 - if it has - update the drivers or change it manually if you can

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
carl_pearce
  • 1.41K
  • 91
  • 309
Knows their stuff
550 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted


@mvr_london wrote:

I've also just reset the modem using the 60 sec pinhole method.

Then tried speeds again in router mode using a laptop directly connected via ethernet cable, result - 80Mbps

Put back into modem mode and tried again - still getting 80Mbps


Depending on the third party router you are using you can check the WAN connection speed between the two devices:

 

0 Kudos
Reply
mvr_london
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
474 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted


@jbrennand wrote:
If the ethernet cable has "broken" it will usually default to the old 10/100 standard and give you ~80-90. So first thing is to swap to a new Cat5e/6 one. Also check that the NIC card hasn't dropped from 1GB to 10/100 - if it has - update the drivers or change it manually if you can

It wasn't the cable - I used a new cable and connected directly to the modem in router mode.  Same issue.  Laptop showed ethernet connection negotiated at 1Gb

Anyway, after 2-3 reboots, the modem has fixed itself.  Nothing changed anywhere else.  I just tried a pinhole reboot again and it started working.

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 6.12K
  • 315
  • 545
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
378 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Gig 1 slow speeds - please check levels posted

Glad to hear that you have managed to get this resolved @mvr_london

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply