Menu
Highlighted
Joining in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

[GIG1] Bad wireless speeds

Hey guys, my wired speeds are fine. Getting 920-970mbps wired to my PC, but my wireless is not great at all. Sat next to the router I get 300-400mbps on my Galaxy S10+ that is WiFi 6 capable which I understand is more than enough for any task, buy why is it less than half? I then re-run a speed test downstairs and get like 180mbps. I've also read that the HUB 4 isn't WiFi 6 capable, which could be capping speeds to devices that are WiFi 6 to lower speeds? *shrug*. Can someone shed some light on the situation and if my current situation seems correct? I'm a complete rookie to this sort of thing, and completely understand that VM doesn't guarantee any wireless speeds at all. Thanks.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: [GIG1] Bad wireless speeds

Your wireless speeds seem fine given its by the hub but if you think you can do better get your own router and use the hub in modem mode.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Superfast
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Wifi is as fast as the slowest device is capable of, and the distance the signal has to travel.

In this case it is the HUB 4 that is the weakest link.

Wifi 6 is still in the early stages of development, however in theory yes, if you get a Wifi 6 router and put the HUB 4 in modem mode you could get faster Wifi speeds.

Do you really need more than 180 - 200Mbps on a phone?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Alessandro Volta
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

@carl_pearce wrote:

Do you really need more than 180 - 200Mbps on a phone?

Its like people want 1Gb in their hand.🤑

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Problem sorter
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

WIFI 6ax is final, my Intel card was Certed in Sep 2019, that is the BS excuse VM give in the HUB4 section of forum.