Menu
Reply
OhDearItBroke
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
715 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Frequent dropouts :-(

Hi everybody.

I've only been with Virgin a month but I'm getting quite frustrated with the dropouts. I didn't really notice it for the first couple of weeks because I still had my previous ADSL running so everything on wi-fi was just falling over to it instead without me really noticing. Now that it's gone, I'm seeing lots of issues. It's the M500 service with a Hub 3.0 for info.

I've setup a BQM. Here's the past few days worth.

21st:

908f23414b83969cfb76b1c025c44a24bbf08239-21-07-2020

20th:

eb3e7b21688f33574e3bfb2dc3e6a370087dec55-20-07-2020

19th:

b2a4604b6bbafa0625542a086ec5aa9a18380163-19-07-2020

It's like the whole router resets when the connection drops out - I get disconnected from the wi-fi and have to reconnect. But this isn't fully reflected in things either as the uptime of the router doesn't change - sometimes it still says X number of days for system uptime.

Having just had a dropout in the last half hour, I grabbed the info from the router status page.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

11470000006.538256 qam2
21390000006.538256 qam1
31550000006.338256 qam3
41630000005.838256 qam4
51710000005.840256 qam5
61790000005.140256 qam6
71870000005.340256 qam7
8195000000540256 qam8
92030000004.538256 qam9
102110000004.540256 qam10
112190000004.140256 qam11
122270000004.340256 qam12
132350000003.540256 qam13
142430000003.540256 qam14
152510000003.240256 qam15
16259000000340256 qam16
172670000003.240256 qam17
18275000000340256 qam18
19283000000340256 qam19
20291000000340256 qam20
212990000003.440256 qam21
223070000003.240256 qam22
233150000003.238256 qam23
243230000003.440256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.69181261
2Locked38.611700
3Locked38.940
4Locked38.900
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.300
7Locked40.930
8Locked40.350
9Locked38.940
10Locked40.340
11Locked40.300
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.300
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.300
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.350
18Locked40.350
19Locked40.340
20Locked40.370
21Locked40.340
22Locked40.340
23Locked38.950
24Locked40.300

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999374.3512064 qam11
2326000004.3512064 qam13
3393999914.3512064 qam12
4537000244.3512064 qam10


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

The network log shows this from roundabout when it last broke:

21/07/2020 15:53:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/07/2020 15:53:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Any ideas?

 

Cheers

OhNoItBroke

0 Kudos
Reply
bring8550
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
703 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

I have been  having the same issue since i moved to Virgin, the service is very poor and never get a response from support and its terrible that you can't call them, I will be cancelling my contract when its due for renewal.

jbrennand
  • 22.45K
  • 2.4K
  • 4K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
698 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

BQM's definitely showing network drops. Down channel one has PostRS errors which might indiacate a noise issue. Check them regularly and see if the are continuing to increase.

In the meantime do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly and hold it there for 60 seconds – release the pin then leave it 10’ to stabilise. But, make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first !

See if the RS errors start appearing again and whether the drops reappear.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Andrew-G
  • 6.13K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.6K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
696 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

@OhDearItBroke :  Your power levels, SNR and modulation aren't out of the ordinary, but the error levels indicate a problem.  I can see from the very low error counts on some channels that the hub has recently been restarted, but the level of post-RS errors on channel 1 is a problem, and the BQM shows that your connection is unstable.  I'll flag your post for the forum staff.

There's a chance that VM will blame the hub (it is fairly unlikely to be the hub) but if that happens, go with the replacement, and come back here when/if it doesn't solve the problem.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

OhDearItBroke
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
695 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

@bring8550 The thing is that when it works well, it's very fast indeed. The problem is stability. And it always seems like Virgin's network is much flakier than anybody else's. Someone down the road gets connected up, you have issues for weeks afterward. When other competitors are available and as fast, Virgin becomes less attractive.

0 Kudos
Reply
OhDearItBroke
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
681 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

@jbrennand, I'll give it all a double check. I doubt it's the problem, but at least it's something scored off the list.

@Andruser, I noticed the errors on channel 1 as well since it's the only channel that's non-zero, but it's a bit meaningless to me 🙂 If you can flag it and I can jump through the hoops I'll do that.

Cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
Katie_WT
  • 4.85K
  • 295
  • 548
Forum Team
Forum Team
662 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

Hi there @OhDearItBroke

 

Thanks for popping along to our Community and for your first post to our wall; I was sorry to understand that you have been having some issues with your broadband recently; thanks so much for posting your BQM charts; we certainly can see that you have had some dropouts recently. 

 

I have been able to locate your account from your forum information in order to go through some checks for you; I can confirm that our system has identified some short term performance issues over the last couple of days and hours. 

 

This has now been logged on your account for it to be monitored over the next 24 hours or so. Can you also confirm if you have checked the wiring as per our user @jbrennand advised? Make sure connections are all finger tight and no damage can be seen. If you can also confirm if you have tried the PIN hole reset for us, that would be great. 

 

Let us know how things are again in around 24 hours, we can refresh everything this end and go from there for you. If the issue is still happening then a technician would be required which we can book for you here 🙂 

 

Keep us posted. 

 

Cheers

 

 

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


OhDearItBroke
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
598 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

Hi @Katie_WT,

I can confirm that I checked all connections were tight, nothing loose. I've also done the pinhole reset, but only as of tonight. I'll check again in the morning to see if the BQM graph looks any better, but I'm not holding out much hope.

Has monitoring at your end shown anything up?

0 Kudos
Reply
Katie_WT
  • 4.85K
  • 295
  • 548
Forum Team
Forum Team
473 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

Hi there @OhDearItBroke

 

Sorry we missed your reply last week - cheers for checking the connections for us and doing a PIN hole reset for us; how's things been looking over the last week? Do you have an updated BQM for us at all? 

 

I have refreshed at this end - it's been almost 5 days since the Hub was rebooted. No known area issues are showing in your region - I can see a few timeout errors though. The signal levels all seem to be within the levels we would expect though. 

 

I've gone through the same diagnostics at this end that I did last week - no further performance issues are registering as yet. If you are still having issues, then we would need to try a replacement Hub for you. This can be posted and self-installed. Once ordered, this is usually with you within a couple of days. 

 

Keep me posted and we can get one ordered if you're still having issues. 

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
OhDearItBroke
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
313 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Frequent dropouts :-(

Hi @Katie_WT

Apologies I missed the email notification to say you'd replied, but things behaved for a while so was all good.

Sadly however, over the last few days I've noticed things getting worse again. The BQM graphs don't look too bad in comparison to what they were, but I'm having some terrible error numbers.

Yesterday's graph:

674ec97e5d2cadf03b0e9361d31dab5ec343c2c7-19-08-2020

Day before:

15e9b285fdd44b94b7e9b9a1a5e8f1238bdb5ab9-18-08-2020

I grabbed the downstream data from the router but forgot to make a note of the upstream.

Downstream bonded channels     
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
1187000000-5.537256 qam7
2139000000-4.735256 qam1
3147000000-636256 qam2
4155000000-10.536256 qam3
5163000000-6.536256 qam4
6171000000-7.535256 qam5
7179000000-8.235256 qam6
8195000000-10.236256 qam8
9203000000-6.536256 qam9
10211000000-7.935256 qam10
11219000000-8.236256 qam11
12227000000-5.237256 qam12
13235000000-9.537256 qam13
14243000000-6.237256 qam14
15251000000-9.236256 qam15
16259000000-935256 qam16
17267000000-7.537256 qam17
18275000000-10.736256 qam18
19283000000-6.738256 qam19
20291000000-8.236256 qam20
21299000000-5.737256 qam21
22307000000-4.737256 qam22
23315000000-7.536256 qam23
24323000000-4.738256 qam24
      
      
Downstream bonded channels     
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors 
1Locked37.61120028363320 
2Locked35.713620671484653 
3Locked36.616068931963367 
4Locked36.116327201925428 
5Locked36.819713161751356 
6Locked35.513959821277106 
7Locked35.517014261128937 
8Locked36.3851133438986 
9Locked36.8850601243567 
10Locked35.7817887397123 
11Locked36.6863924398973 
12Locked37.6783029460663 
13Locked37.3902126547132 
14Locked37.3834207417499 
15Locked36.3882526472734 
16Locked35.5897416421818 
17Locked37.3889916314497 
18Locked36.6946056363861 
19Locked38.6790285183609 
20Locked36.6790411211682 
21Locked37.6683881176132 
22Locked37.3673331171327 
23Locked36.6662092236511 
24Locked38.6575254184474 

 

At this point the internet just stopped working for a period of probably half an hour and the post RS error counters were just growing. Eventually something happened and the router appeared to reset itself. That was half an hour ago and I've watched the post RS error counters go up again. The following pastes are only half an hour old:

Downstream bonded channels     
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
11870000003.439256 qam7
2139000000538256 qam1
31470000004.438256 qam2
41550000003.538256 qam3
51630000003.940256 qam4
61710000003.238256 qam5
71790000003.236256 qam6
81950000002.438256 qam8
92030000002.540256 qam9
10211000000238256 qam10
112190000002.238256 qam11
122270000002.440256 qam12
132350000001.438256 qam13
142430000001.740256 qam14
152510000000.740256 qam15
162590000000.738256 qam16
172670000000.738256 qam17
182750000000.240256 qam18
192830000000.940256 qam19
202910000000.538256 qam20
212990000001.540256 qam21
223070000001.238256 qam22
23315000000138256 qam23
243230000001.540256 qam24
      
      
Downstream bonded channels     
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors 
1Locked39.38415530294 
2Locked38.99228043049 
3Locked38.95686721039 
4Locked38.911291733419 
5Locked40.311078741250 
6Locked38.97888632331 
7Locked36.610572656470 
8Locked38.96328317646 
9Locked40.33887313480 
10Locked38.95088214988 
11Locked38.94961113606 
12Locked40.34208217021 
13Locked38.95912918813 
14Locked40.34258312136 
15Locked40.34892213467 
16Locked38.95190714395 
17Locked38.95192315671 
18Locked40.36181016738 
19Locked40.93974314202 
20Locked38.95401413793 
21Locked40.34574617415 
22Locked38.94897813998 
23Locked38.94167210082 
24Locked40.3278588923 

 

Upstream bonded channels     
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
1394000954.7512064 qam12
2461999594.4512064 qam11
3537000024.8512064 qam10
4603000244.625512064 qam9
      
      
Upstream bonded channels     
ChannelChannel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Not sure if there's been issues in the area - someone I know that lives a couple of blocks away from me and is a Virgin customer has been having a lot of dropouts over the last few days as well.

If there's anything you can do that would be much appreciated!

0 Kudos
Reply