Menu
Reply
dodgymexican1
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
454 Views
Message 1 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Fluctuating speeds

Hi we are getting severely fluctuating speeds. I have spoken to the technical guys rebooted hub loads of times but nothing seems to fix the problem. We have 3 people working from home with one person in an outhouse at the end of the garden. The wireless connection doesn't stretch that far so I have set up a mesh network using Tends Nova MW6 modules. We were on 100mb broadband and at the end of the link we were only getting 20mb. I upgraded to 200mb to see if that would boost the speed and if did. But for the last month or so it has been dropping consistently. Some points we are only getting 1mb in the front room at the start of the nesh network. Today we are at a constant 80/90mb. We are not the only people with this problem. I have attached screenshot of my connection list from the hub. And I have subscribed to thinkbroadband to get a detailed analysis of what's going on. Please can someone help?

Screenshot_2020-12-31-10-13-53-140_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_2020-12-31-10-14-01-789_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_2020-12-31-10-14-13-500_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20**:**:**:**:**:**-713_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20**:**:**:**:**:**-234_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20**:**:**:**:**:**-461_com.android.chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20**:**:**:**:**:**-282_com.android.chrome.jpg

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.11K
  • 1.35K
  • 3.67K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
447 Views
Message 2 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

You'll need to repost those as text - screenshots are often illegible, and won't get approved if they include IP or MAC addresses.

You may also want to setup a BQM.  Results won't be useful until there's 24 hours of data, but you can post a link to a shared, live graph now and it will always show the latest data.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
dodgymexican1
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
433 Views
Message 3 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

Thanks. I have set up the BQM. Will post results tomorrow.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
dodgymexican1
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
432 Views
Message 4 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

IMG_20201231_120505.jpg

IMG_20201231_120635.jpg

IMG_20201231_120656.jpg

IMG_20201231_120724.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
dodgymexican1
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
431 Views
Message 5 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

I have cropped the images hope this helps?

 

IMG_20201231_120759.jpg

IMG_20201231_120823.jpg

IMG_20201231_120854.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.95K
Alessandro Volta
429 Views
Message 6 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds


@dodgymexican1 wrote:

Thanks. I have set up the BQM. Will post results tomorrow.

 


Post it now, if there is a problem with the setup we can let you know rather than starting again in 24 hours.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 8.11K
  • 1.35K
  • 3.67K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
422 Views
Message 7 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

@dodgymexican1 I have cropped the images hope this helps?

Not for me.  Screenshots and images are just a pain for those who are otherwise happy to help you.  Compare my hub's text copy/paste data below to the legibility of the screenshots you've posted.  

Open your Downstream tab status tab, select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time, that's where the forum software is stripping out IP and MAC identifiers.

PasswordShow
 


 
Router status
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14510000002.438256 qam40
22670000003.438256 qam17
32750000003.538256 qam18
42830000003.438256 qam19
52910000003.738256 qam20
62990000003.738256 qam21
73070000003.938256 qam22
8315000000438256 qam23
9323000000438256 qam24
103310000004.138256 qam25
113390000003.938256 qam26
123470000004.140256 qam27
13355000000438256 qam28
14363000000438256 qam29
15371000000438256 qam30
16379000000438256 qam31
173870000003.538256 qam32
183950000003.538256 qam33
194030000003.238256 qam34
204110000003.438256 qam35
21419000000338256 qam36
22427000000338256 qam37
234350000002.938256 qam38
244430000002.538256 qam39


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.91363280
2Locked38.6155980
3Locked38.6183290
4Locked38.6204600
5Locked38.6221410
6Locked38.6287320
7Locked38.6308480
8Locked38.9290330
9Locked38.9303670
10Locked38.9301910
11Locked38.9352290
12Locked40.3331370
13Locked38.93615717
14Locked38.9426110
15Locked38.9511790
16Locked38.6680080
17Locked38.9825877
18Locked38.6989050
19Locked38.911679236
20Locked38.61385450
21Locked38.61286370
22Locked38.91242350
23Locked38.61152950
24Locked38.91237350

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

dodgymexican1
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
415 Views
Message 8 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
409 Views
Message 9 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

that looks like a near-perfect connection so far
0 Kudos
Reply
dodgymexican1
  • 22
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
398 Views
Message 10 of 27
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating speeds

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1298750000340256 qam21
22027500001.440256 qam9
32107500001.240256 qam10
42187500001.240256 qam11
52267500001.540256 qam12
62347500001.940256 qam13
72427500002.240256 qam14
82507500002.240256 qam15
92587500002.540256 qam16
102667500002.440256 qam17
112747500002.440256 qam18
122827500002.440256 qam19
132907500002.740256 qam20
143067500003.440256 qam22
153147500003.740256 qam23
163227500004.440256 qam24
174027500005.540256 qam25
184107500005.540256 qam26
194187500005.540256 qam27
204267500005.540256 qam28
214347500005.540256 qam29
224427500005.640256 qam30
234507500005.640256 qam31
24458750000640256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3814246
2Locked40.9476249
3Locked40.3540231
4Locked40.9760206
5Locked40.9412203
6Locked40.3578197
7Locked40.9456186
8Locked40.3492187
9Locked40.9301201
10Locked40.9493192
11Locked40.3364226
12Locked40.9517222
13Locked40.9449248
14Locked40.9308280
15Locked40.3327286
16Locked40.9295292
17Locked40.3312207
18Locked40.9447211
19Locked40.9287224
20Locked40.3287264
21Locked40.3238257
22Locked40.9276260
23Locked40.9278272
24Locked40.3245273
0 Kudos
Reply