Menu
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
876 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Hi,

I had M500 Fibre Broadband installed on Saturday and have noticed that my speed is very unreliable. I've checked via a LAN cable connected to the Hub and it seems to be all over the place, varying from 426Mbps right down to 31Mbps with the lower speeds being more frequent than the higher ones. I have even experienced dropouts with no connection whatsoever. Wi-Fi speeds seem abysmal as well. Can anybody help please?

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
858 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
843 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Hi Mike,

Thank you so much for getting back to me.

I've checked all the things you suggested and everything is fine.

Router Status Details are as follows:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1402750000837256 qam29
22507500008.537256 qam15
32587500008.637256 qam16
42667500008.537256 qam17
52747500008.437256 qam18
62827500008.837256 qam19
72907500009.137256 qam20
82987500008.538256 qam21
93067500008.537256 qam22
103147500009.138256 qam23
113227500008.937256 qam24
123307500008.937256 qam25
133787500008.537256 qam26
143867500008.337256 qam27
153947500008.537256 qam28
164107500007.637256 qam30
174187500007.937256 qam31
184267500007.537256 qam32
194347500006.537256 qam33
204427500006.637256 qam34
214507500006.637256 qam35
22458750000637256 qam36
234667500005.837256 qam37
244747500005.937256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.371710
2Locked37.61700
3Locked37.32230
4Locked37.63200
5Locked37.62400
6Locked37.62480
7Locked37.63020
8Locked38.63440
9Locked37.66480
10Locked38.66250
11Locked37.67540
12Locked37.67120
13Locked37.625790
14Locked37.641140
15Locked37.354170
16Locked37.384980
17Locked37.694740
18Locked37.3131780
19Locked37.6158250
20Locked37.3213190
21Locked37.6256030
22Locked37.3306420
23Locked37.6398900
24Locked37.6548700

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000004.375512064 qam2
2537000004.55512064 qam1
3394000004.375512064 qam3
4326000004.225512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

03/08/2020 14:13:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/08/2020 14:05:35Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/08/2020 18:33:58noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/08/2020 20:04:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/08/2020 14:12:44noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
01/08/2020 14:10:50noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/08/2020 14:10:46ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
01/08/2020 14:07:59noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.83K
  • 2.22K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
839 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Stats all in range (down channels a little high but in range). Try this first...

First do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then try a factory reset – a lot of the VM techies on here suggest it as a first option and it has worked for many customers.

Note that a pinhole reset on a Hub3 can be a bit problematic - so do it (again) EXACTLY this way (not as the VM website says!).

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !

With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail/SIM tray “tool” or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT restart the Hub after that. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings/admin one to access the Hub (it is a six digit numeric one).



--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
816 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Hi John

Thank you for your post.

I made all the physical checks and performed a factory reset, as you described. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to have made any difference. I tried using the VirginMediaConnect App to see if that could detect any issues and got the following message:

BasildonBond2_0-1596490931430.png

The signal strength of the Hub is Poor. But no worries! We can sort this by rebooting your Hub.

I followed the procedure but to no avail.

I live in a small modern house, so I expected the speeds and Wi-Fi to perform quite well - I really don't understand why the speeds are so erratic and coverage so poor.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
812 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
773 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Hi Mike,

The BQM link is as follows:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/99d4c7c5a71e7eb4bc83fc9b151b36f579... 

I'll get the other data to you shortly.

Many thanks.

0 Kudos
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
770 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500008.537256 qam29
22507500008.537256 qam15
32587500008.837256 qam16
42667500008.537256 qam17
52747500008.837256 qam18
62827500008.937256 qam19
72907500009.437256 qam20
82987500008.837256 qam21
93067500008.537256 qam22
103147500009.337256 qam23
11322750000937256 qam24
123307500009.137256 qam25
133787500008.937256 qam26
143867500008.837256 qam27
15394750000937256 qam28
16410750000837256 qam30
174187500008.437256 qam31
18426750000837256 qam32
194347500007.137256 qam33
204427500007.336256 qam34
214507500007.336256 qam35
224587500006.636256 qam36
234667500006.536256 qam37
244747500006.836256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.6441060
2Locked37.615760
3Locked37.619700
4Locked37.630330
5Locked37.620650
6Locked37.325770
7Locked37.634360
8Locked37.338880
9Locked37.348220
10Locked37.652640
11Locked37.363590
12Locked37.360450
13Locked37.3176390
14Locked37.6259220
15Locked37.3337790
16Locked37.3521770
17Locked37.3572330
18Locked37.3714700
19Locked37.3877810
20Locked36.61154180
21Locked36.61370680
22Locked36.61516790
23Locked36.61771840
24Locked36.62061300

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
769 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1461999424.325512064 qam2
2537000254.5512064 qam1
3393999854.325512064 qam3
4326000004.2512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
BasildonBond2
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
767 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Fluctuating Speeds After New Install

Network Log

Time Priority Description

03/08/2020 18:59:18noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/08/2020 18:18:8noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/08/2020 17:34:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/08/2020 14:13:11noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/08/2020 14:05:35Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/08/2020 18:33:58noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/08/2020 20:04:19noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/08/2020 14:12:44noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file
01/08/2020 14:10:50noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/08/2020 14:10:46ErrorDisruption during SW download - Power Failure
01/08/2020 14:07:59noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:38criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply