Menu
Reply
IamJohnRiley
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
432 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Desperate for HELP

Hi, I am a retired university Sen. lecturer in physics and ICT. I have been a virgin customer for 25+ years. (yes some may think I am an absolute MUG!!!)

My home PC is a bang up to date Desktop PC with AMD Ryzen 7 CPU, 64Gb XPG DDR 4 Ram, and Samsung 970 NVME Ram 'C' O/S disk, runnng MS Windows 10 (latest upgrade) and therefore it deserves the fastest home connection availalble.   

 I have the Ultimate OOmph package with supposedly - M500 Fibre Broadband, I constantly get broken and slow connections (Today 50 -150 Mbs approx down). I have given up calling the helpline as it is too frustrating if I go outwith the prepared Virgin Script for the Mumbai operative!.

Can you help me?

My router extract details are as follows:

Cable Modem Status
Item Status Comments
Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
299000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
60300000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

Refresh data
Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 60300000 51 5120 64 qam 1
2 46200069 49 5120 64 qam 3
3 39399931 47.8 5120 64 qam 4
4 53699956 50.3 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 6 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 6 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 5 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 6 0

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 299000000 1.7 38 256 qam 21
2 187000000 1.4 38 256 qam 7
3 195000000 1 38 256 qam 8
4 203000000 0.9 38 256 qam 9
5 211000000 0.7 38 256 qam 10
6 219000000 0.2 38 256 qam 11
7 227000000 -0.4 37 256 qam 12
8 235000000 -0.7 38 256 qam 13
9 243000000 -1.2 37 256 qam 14
10 251000000 -1.4 37 256 qam 15
11 259000000 -0.4 37 256 qam 16
12 267000000 0.5 38 256 qam 17
13 275000000 0.5 38 256 qam 18
14 283000000 0.7 38 256 qam 19
15 291000000 1.2 38 256 qam 20
16 307000000 1.5 38 256 qam 22
17 315000000 1.5 38 256 qam 23
18 323000000 2.2 38 256 qam 24
19 379000000 0.2 37 256 qam 25
20 387000000 0.5 37 256 qam 26
21 395000000 0 37 256 qam 27
22 403000000 -0.4 37 256 qam 28
23 411000000 0 38 256 qam 29
24 419000000 0.4 38 256 qam 30


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 1544 8743
2 Locked 38.6 1139 12768
3 Locked 38.9 1248 12617
4 Locked 38.6 1151 11693
5 Locked 38.6 1160 10798
6 Locked 38.6 1366 10428
7 Locked 37.3 1491 9714
8 Locked 38.6 1587 8966
9 Locked 37.6 1554 8537
10 Locked 37.6 1457 8651
11 Locked 37.6 1435 8289
12 Locked 38.6 1391 8221
13 Locked 38.9 1379 8338
14 Locked 38.6 1284 8277
15 Locked 38.9 1219 8832
16 Locked 38.9 1413 9007
17 Locked 38.6 1245 9167
18 Locked 38.9 1246 9600
19 Locked 37.6 1453 9258
20 Locked 37.6 1425 8385
21 Locked 37.6 1438 8676
22 Locked 37.3 1514 8830
23 Locked 38.6 1487 8147
24 Locked 38.6 1518 7928

 

Network Log report

22/06/2020 11:02:3 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/06/2020 00:17:1 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/06/2020 04:35:42 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/06/2020 04:24:31 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2020 12:39:28 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/06/2020 06:19:1 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/06/2020 20:54:27 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/06/2020 22:18:28 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2020 14:05:16 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2020 14:05:16 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2020 12:16:12 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 01:23:31 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 01:22:48 critical Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 01:18:47 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 01:18:46 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 01:18:46 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2020 01:18:46 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/06/2020 16:02:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2020 20:40:1 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/06/2020 22:41:49 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 29.22K
  • 1.79K
  • 3.83K
Alessandro Volta
423 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP

Virgin don’t have a call centre in Mumbai 🤔

Anyway, you upstream levels are a touch high and there’s a fair amount of post-RS errors on the downstream.

When was the hub last rebooted?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
IamJohnRiley
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
414 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP

Tnx for the speedy reply.  Hub last rebooted less than 7 days ago.  Please enlighten me on where the call centre is?

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.83K
  • 2.22K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
410 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP


@IamJohnRiley wrote:

Please enlighten me on where the call centre is?


They have them in many places e.g. UK, Indonesia, India


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.83K
  • 2.22K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
409 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Desperate for HELP

Reboot the Hub and check that the RS error counts reset to 0 and then watch them every few hours to see if they start building up again - the postRS ones shouldnt.

As your set up deserves the best connection, I assume you are connecting on Cat6e (or better) ethernet cable and not on wifi - is that correct?

Also, in the meantime. If you havent already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 29.22K
  • 1.79K
  • 3.83K
Alessandro Volta
391 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP

Not sure what the location of the call centre has to do with anything?

Please do as John has advised and reboot the hub and post the stats back later for a comparison. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
IamJohnRiley
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
388 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP

tnx John,

Yes cat 6 on port 1. i have been registered with ThinkBroadband BQM since March and there is evidence of latency and dropout issues. Have reported it by phone and online numerous times. Everything is fine!!! I shall do another reboot and I am sure there will be a definitive no broadband signal which will reassure me that my router in the off state  does not work perfectly. (LoL). I'll check RS errors etc. I am not expert on broadband, router technology.

Cheers

John Riley

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.83K
  • 2.22K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
375 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP

Also check the upstream power level after a reboot as they are at the top of the recommended range (max is 51dBmV).

It might be worth doing a pinhole reset of the Hub a lot of the VM Techs on here are recommending it as a first option - but do it this way....

with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly and hold it there for 60 seconds – release the pin then leave the Hub 10’ to stabilise before going back in. But, make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first !!!

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
IamJohnRiley
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
339 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Desperate for HELP

Hi John, Post RS Errors all reset to 0 and remain there, did a speed test (x 3 over 60 mins)  still only getting around the 150Mbps Down, Up is around 36mbps which is ok, just dissapointed that this is best I am getting, 6 months ago it was consistently over 500Mbps, as you will be aware my total package costs £1800 per annum, would just like value for my money!

Cheers,

John

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.83K
  • 2.22K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
336 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Desperate for HELP

Try this...

Connect the PC directly to the Hub - which you have put into modem mode (see VM website for the "how to") this ensures only your one device is connected. Check speeds like that first.

If they are still low - then, boot up into "safe mode with networking" (to disable any software on it that could be limiting speeds - lots do - I have a list!). Run your speedtests at speedtest.net (do them on x2 close VM servers) using 2 different browsers - preferably with one of which is a fresh download of one you haven’t previously used (e.g. Firefox, Opera, Safari etc) - there are several reports on here of certain browsers causing speed issues (also on my list!).

See if that gets you full speeds and report back.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply