Menu
Reply
wilsy96
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,195 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Currently getting 0 upload speed.

Over the last couple of days i have been experiencing periods of time where i have been getting very slow upload speeds anywhere from 0 to 0.08mb/s. Thios problem seems to have become permenant over the last day only getting a maximum upload speed of 0.02mb/s. downloads speeds seem to be unaffected though. Due to the near non exsistent upload speeds our interent has been unuseable. i have tried following the advice online such as resetting the hub, and turning it off for 15 minutes then turning it back on. Service status also says there are no problems. all other posts with similar problems on this forum seem to require a engineer to vist if that is true could someone here help me arrange that? We pay for the m500 fibre broadband so we should be getting up to 36mb/s upload speed and this is needed more now than ever since people are working from home. Any help i could get would be much appreciated.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
FrogCF
  • 86
  • 6
  • 11
Dialled in
2,183 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

Hi,

Please could you provide speedtest information and login your router and send us your signals
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
wilsy96
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,175 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12347500001.940256 qam13
21387500000.538256 qam1
3146750000140256 qam2
4154750000140256 qam3
5162750000140256 qam4
61707500000.740256 qam5
7178750000140256 qam6
81867500001.440256 qam7
91947500001.540256 qam8
102027500001.540256 qam9
112107500001.238256 qam10
122187500001.438256 qam11
132267500001.540256 qam12
142427500001.740256 qam14
152507500001.540256 qam15
162587500001.540256 qam16
172667500001.540256 qam17
182747500001.440256 qam18
192827500001.440256 qam19
202907500001.240256 qam20
212987500001.240256 qam21
22306750000140256 qam22
233147500001.240256 qam23
243227500001.240256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.9140
2Locked38.9160
3Locked40.3100
4Locked40.3100
5Locked40.370
6Locked40.3340
7Locked40.3250
8Locked40.3200
9Locked40.3220
10Locked40.3190
11Locked38.990
12Locked38.9130
13Locked40.380
14Locked40.390
15Locked40.9100
16Locked40.380
17Locked40.380
18Locked40.980
19Locked40.340
20Locked40.350
21Locked40.3100
22Locked40.9230
23Locked40.9180
24Locked40.3170

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462003665.196512016 qam1
2393994915.2512016 qam2
3326000465.2512016 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000

 

i don't know how to post a screen shot here but the speed test by Ookla on speedtest.net came back showing 12ms ping 15.85Mbps Download and 0.01Mbps Upload.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
2,172 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

Your Upstream Channels have problems ...

You have three Upstream Channels, we would expect to see four.

Two of those channels are above maximum power.

Any noise on your line will pull your connection down.

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
wilsy96
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,161 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

my BQM link 

The "check service status" show no issues i will call the number soon and see what that tells me.

Thank you for the replys.

0 Kudos
Reply
Anonymous
Not applicable
2,144 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.


@wilsy96 wrote:

my BQM link 

The "check service status" show no issues i will call the number soon and see what that tells me.

Thank you for the replys.


As Mike says the upstream channels have high power levels, as well as a channel being missing. The qam value is also out of spec (Should be 64 qam):

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462003665.196512016 qam1
2393994915.2512016 qam2
3326000465.2512016 qam3

 

An engineer visit is required.

wilsy96
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,139 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

I assumed as much. Thank you for the reply hopefully a member of the forum staff will be around soon to help me arrange an engineer.

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
2,130 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

Are you using a third party router behind the VM Hub ?

If yes, you need to set it to 'respond to ping'.

If no, you have a major outage in the area and you need to phone in to let them know.

You can contact VM to report your problem using ...

Text service on 07533051809

150 from Virgin landline.

0345 454 1111 from any other UK  phone.

The best time to call is weekdays 08:00 to get a UK agent, anything after 10:00 you must realise that you are quite likely to get through to an offshore agent that doesn't speak English as a first language.

Or you can wait on here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread but this may take a few days.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
wilsy96
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
2,120 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

no i am not using any 3rd party router. I called the service check number you supplied earlier and it said they are aware of problems in my postcode. i'll wait till a member of the staff picks this thread up to let me know what to do going forward thank you for the help.

0 Kudos
Reply
FrogCF
  • 86
  • 6
  • 11
Dialled in
2,113 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Currently getting 0 upload speed.

Hi,

If you have outage in your area and you spoken to Customer Care then please check for update via here https://my.virginmedia.com/faults/service-status You can run own checks.
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
0 Kudos
Reply