Menu
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
285 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Hi there,

My Virgin Media connection had been fine for ages, but I've since been having trouble this week. it is supposed to be 200mbps download speed but after having issues with my WFH virtual desktop it was returning speeds around 4mbps. I switched the hub off and on again it it went up to 110mbps and that was fine. But now the problems have returned with speeds dropping as low as 0.5mbps and sometimes the speed tests not even running.

A reset does solve the issue again, but the issue then returns 20minutes later and I have to reset again.

I guess a few things are confusing me

- why would this suddenly happen when it's been fine for ages

- why would a reset solves it temporarily and then it go bad again.

I joined that broadband quality monitor website and have also got those log things from logging into my router, let me know what I need to provide and I will do this.

Any help would be great!

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 772
  • 70
  • 102
Superfast
230 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Can you please upload your router stats

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

For Hubs 2 & 3 - DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status”

For Hub 4 - When the page appears LOG IN then click on:

Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again. You can use more than one post for each item if needed.

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here asap.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
222 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500008.638256 qam30
22027500007.537256 qam9
32107500007.937256 qam10
42187500007.637256 qam11
52267500007.537256 qam12
6234750000737256 qam13
72427500007.337256 qam14
8250750000737256 qam15
92587500007.637256 qam16
102667500007.638256 qam17
11274750000837256 qam18
12282750000837256 qam19
132907500008.437256 qam20
142987500008.437256 qam21
153067500008.537256 qam22
163147500008.537256 qam23
173227500008.838256 qam24
18330750000938256 qam25
193707500008.538256 qam26
203787500009.137256 qam27
213867500008.538256 qam28
223947500009.138256 qam29
234107500009.138256 qam31
244187500008.538256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6130
2Locked37.360
3Locked37.630
4Locked37.680
5Locked37.690
6Locked37.6200
7Locked37.6150
8Locked37.650
9Locked37.6130
10Locked38.680
11Locked37.690
12Locked37.670
13Locked37.6140
14Locked37.650
15Locked37.6230
16Locked37.670
17Locked38.680
18Locked38.610
19Locked38.6240
20Locked37.630
21Locked38.6100
22Locked38.6150
23Locked38.980
24Locked38.6230
0 Kudos
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
221 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000047512064 qam2
24620000047512064 qam1
32580000046.5512064 qam4
43260000046.8512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID401302
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID401301
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Network LogTime Priority Description
01/02/2021 08:09:34noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/01/2021 17:26:25noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/01/2021 17:07:10Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/01/2021 16:14:56Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 19:59:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 17:24:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 10:52:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 00:06:49ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 03:51:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/01/2021 12:06:49ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/01/2021 14:09:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/01/2021 00:06:49ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 18:38:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/01/2021 04:42:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 02:49:24noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
13/01/2021 02:47:21noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
0 Kudos
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
219 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/d97ba836cdb9a25e175d9ab0c7a258a05ef3ce8f
0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 772
  • 70
  • 102
Superfast
204 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Your router stats are within spec and show nothing out of the ordinary and your BQM is fine also with a few signs of packet loss which I'm guessing was you rebooting the router.

Just wondering are you doing tests wireless or wired?

It's a bit of a strange issue and could be attributed to a faulty router but can't be sure but if it's wireless it could be a wireless problem, so when it happens again don't reboot the router and run a test at https://speedtest.samknows.com/ with direct wired connection from PC/Laptop to router using a Cat 5e cable or better with a 1Gbps capable Ethernet network card and see does the speed increases, also when it goes into this state take another copy of your router stats and post them to see if there is anything changing on the line.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
190 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Hi Conman thanks for your response.

Guess this wasn't what I was hoping for I've got to buy an ethernet cable and usb-etherent adaptor now.

I am using wireless right now so I guess it is worth checking but again the laptop's been fine for 4 years before last wednesday so I'm hoping it's not this.

Cable getting delivered tonight will post new results tomorrow.

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 772
  • 70
  • 102
Superfast
186 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Just look at it as an investment, at least this way you always have them for future tests 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
170 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

OK so don't know if this helps, I've got another laptop that if I put in the same place has a much better speed (albeit not 200mbps, maybe like 50 mps) which is significantly better than the 1 mps I'm getting on the current device, any idea what this could mean because that means it can't be the wifi signal?

Unsure as to what other variables could be at play

0 Kudos
Reply
Counttom
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
158 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Constantly need to reset to maintain download speed

Ok so this laptop was connecting to 2.4 GHz and not 5 GHz so I've disabled 2.4 Ghz and that seems to have solved the problem.

I'm unsure whether my laptop decided to switch channels in the middle of last week or whether it was always on 2.4 and the 2.4 Ghz connection suddenly turned terrible in the middle of last week. Guess I'll never know.

It doesn't really explain why the 2.4 connection is 1mbps though, but I guess I'm fine for now.

0 Kudos
Reply