Menu
Reply
Russell_Mulcahy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
426 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Change in latency from not-great to bad

Hi, 

I know there are a lot of posts on latency but, after checking them out, I'm not sure where my problem lies or how to fix it.

I have a Hub 3, 200 Mb connection and run in modem mode with a Google Wifi router. I've just started some online music jamming (using Jamulus) and so latency is now critical to me. It used to be just about OK (a few days ago) but yesterday went up significantly and has now made the online jams unusable. Here's the work so far:

  • Download and upload speeds are fine and there are no issues reported in my area by Virgin
  • The latency is pretty much unaffected by using a wired connection, using another device or disabling other devices on my network
  • The connection is to a Google cloud server which is showing  very low (single digit, almost inreadable) latency when monitored by ThinkBroadband.
  • I can't seem to monitor my own Google Wifi router, as there is apparently no way to make it respond to pings.
  • Tracing is below, which suggests to my uneducated eyes a problem within the Virgin network
  • Restarting the Hub has no effect.
  • A Virgin self-test last night reported a "critical issue",did something and restarted my hub. Today it reports no issues but the latency is the same (worse, if anything).

Any ideas? Is this just a problem with Virgin's network? Would an upgrade to a Hub 4 help (if I can get one?

Trace:

1 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms testwifi.here [192.168.86.1]
2 9 ms 10 ms 9 ms 10.53.34.9
3 20 ms 12 ms 11 ms gate-core-2b-xe-520-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.240.85]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 27 ms 60 ms 28 ms tcl5-ic-4-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.192.246]
6 26 ms 28 ms 24 ms cpc69435-hink4-2-0-cust116.8-2.cable.virginm.net [62.252.5.117]
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 31 ms 29 ms 31 ms 74.125.242.97
9 34 ms 28 ms 26 ms 74.125.242.114
10 27 ms 25 ms 25 ms 74.125.246.161
11 28 ms 30 ms 29 ms 108.170.232.164
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 103 ms 67 ms 67 ms nnn.nnn.nnn.nn.bc.googleusercontent.com [nn.nnn.nnn.nnn]

Cheers,

Russell

0 Kudos
Reply
Megan_L
  • 2.67K
  • 161
  • 280
Forum Team
Forum Team
282 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

Hi Russell_Mulcahy,

Thanks for using the forums to get this issue looked into with your internet connection, I am sorry for the delay in getting back to you and for any frustration this issue may be causing. 

I understand your HUB 3 is in modem mode and you're using your own 3rd party router, can I ask if you've tried turning the HUB off modem mode and seeing how the connection is whilst running without the 3rd party router? 

Also, I just want to confirm that the speed and connection is fine over an Ethernet cable, but its actually the WIFI that is the issue? 

Let me know,

Thanks.

Megan_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Russell_Mulcahy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
236 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

Hi

I've been away, so this is also a slow reply!

I haven't yet  tried reconfiguring the hub as a router but I will. Actually, it looked to me as if the delays were beyond the hub but I'm not confident. 

No, it's not true that's it's fine over Ethernet. It's pretty much the same wired or over wifi.

Cheers


Russel

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
234 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

 

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

………………………………………………………………………..


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Russell_Mulcahy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
217 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

Hi, Mike

Thanks for the quick reply.

No reported issues and the connections all seem fine.

I have previously tried to set up a BQM, but it was just 100% dropped packets, which I had assumed was just because pings were being ignored. Here is a new one, though.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b6abec9365d6a9eb3165e040dda51d4487186854

 Hub logs below in separate messages. I see some errors and timeouts but I don't know if they are significant. "Critical" doesn't look good.

Looking forward to the Words Of The Guru.

Cheers

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Russell_Mulcahy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
216 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1275000000-3.438256 qam18
2139000000-2.938256 qam1
3147000000-338256 qam2
4155000000-2.938256 qam3
5163000000-2.738256 qam4
6171000000-2.738256 qam5
7179000000-2.738256 qam6
8187000000-2.738256 qam7
9195000000-2.738256 qam8
10203000000-2.738256 qam9
11211000000-338256 qam10
12219000000-338256 qam11
13227000000-3.238256 qam12
14235000000-3.238256 qam13
15243000000-3.538256 qam14
16251000000-3.438256 qam15
17259000000-3.538256 qam16
18267000000-3.438256 qam17
19283000000-3.238256 qam19
20291000000-338256 qam20
21299000000-2.538256 qam21
22307000000-2.438256 qam22
23315000000-2.538256 qam23
24323000000-2.238256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9560
2Locked38.92930
3Locked38.91290
4Locked38.6860
5Locked38.9790
6Locked38.9700
7Locked38.6690
8Locked38.6470
9Locked38.9450
10Locked38.9470
11Locked38.6500
12Locked38.6380
13Locked38.6460
14Locked38.9480
15Locked38.6530
16Locked38.6460
17Locked38.9740
18Locked38.9560
19Locked38.6780
20Locked38.6730
21Locked38.9920
22Locked38.6770
23Locked38.9530
24Locked38.9570

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Russell_Mulcahy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
215 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15369995245.3512064 qam10
23940000043.8512064 qam12
34620000043.8512064 qam11
46030000045.3512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0020
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0030
4ATDMA0030

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

16/10/2020 13:19:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2020 01:53:57noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2020 01:53:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/10/2020 01:53:54ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/10/2020 17:22:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 13:38:53noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 13:38:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/10/2020 10:42:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/10/2020 00:07:45noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
09/10/2020 00:05:36noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
07/10/2020 19:26:27criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 14:06:15noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/10/2020 14:06:15ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/10/2020 17:10:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 19:09:33noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 19:02:29Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 14:07:37noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt044-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/10/2020 14:07:37ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/10/2020 21:32:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/09/2020 02:07:37noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt044-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
211 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

The odd 'Critical' in the Network Log isn't anything to worry about.

Your BQM is still showing all red. In the Google Wi-Fi Router check the ICMP setting if it has one.

 


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Russell_Mulcahy
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
209 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Change in latency from not-great to bad

I believe it's not possible to enable ICMP in a Google Wifi router, sadly.

0 Kudos
Reply