Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
Tuning in
327 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Can someone please check my stats

Hi guys, I'm having a speed issue (1 Gigabit connection) and just wanted to check if it's internal before I move on. I'm running in modem mode but did put the router into router mode and checked Samknows/realspeed and getting 1072Mbps to the hub 4 and 908 Mbps to computer so as far as I can tell the line is fine. I'm just wondering is the bottle neck on my PC cable or router. On Wifi 6 I'm getting 800 Mbps on my iPhone 11 plus so everything is cool there but every time I do a speed test via Speedtest.net on my PC via Ethernet (1Gbps port) I'm getting around 570Mbps and sometimes around 700Mbps but drops quickly to around 430Mbps during test. I'm waiting on a new Cat 8 cable coming today as I have a feeling the cable has gone bad and don't have a spare Cat 5e cable to replace it with but just wanted to check my stats are ok.

Cable Modem Status

 

Item

Status

Comments

 

Cable Modem Status

Online

DOCSIS 3.1

 

Primary downstream channel

Locked

SC-QAM

 

Channel Overview

Downstream

Upstream

 

DOCSIS 3.0 channels

31

4

 

DOCSIS 3.1 channels

1

0

 

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

25

331000000

-1.000000

38.605377

QAM256

25

1

139000000

0.299999

40.366287

QAM256

1

2

147000000

0.099998

40.366287

QAM256

2

3

155000000

0.099998

40.366287

QAM256

3

4

163000000

-0.099998

40.366287

QAM256

4

5

171000000

-0.200001

38.983261

QAM256

5

6

179000000

-0.200001

38.983261

QAM256

6

7

187000000

-0.200001

38.983261

QAM256

7

8

195000000

-0.299999

38.983261

QAM256

8

9

203000000

-0.299999

38.983261

QAM256

9

10

211000000

-0.400002

40.366287

QAM256

10

11

219000000

-0.500000

40.366287

QAM256

11

12

227000000

-0.500000

38.983261

QAM256

12

13

235000000

-0.400002

38.983261

QAM256

13

14

243000000

-0.599998

40.366287

QAM256

14

15

251000000

-0.799999

38.605377

QAM256

15

16

259000000

-0.700001

38.605377

QAM256

16

17

267000000

-0.799999

38.605377

QAM256

17

18

275000000

-1.099998

38.983261

QAM256

18

19

283000000

-1.599998

38.605377

QAM256

19

20

291000000

-1.799999

38.983261

QAM256

20

21

299000000

-1.799999

38.983261

QAM256

21

22

307000000

-1.500000

38.983261

QAM256

22

23

315000000

-1.000000

38.605377

QAM256

23

24

323000000

-0.700001

38.983261

QAM256

24

26

371000000

-1.299999

38.983261

QAM256

26

27

379000000

-1.299999

38.983261

QAM256

27

28

387000000

-1.500000

38.605377

QAM256

28

29

395000000

-1.400002

38.605377

QAM256

29

30

403000000

-1.500000

38.983261

QAM256

30

31

411000000

-1.700001

38.605377

QAM256

31

***********************************************************************************************************************************

My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
Tuning in
324 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats

3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
25 Locked 0 0 0
1 Locked 870116695 0 0
2 Locked 889956668 0 0
3 Locked 512587251 281 0
4 Locked 511993416 0 0
5 Locked 511215096 0 0
6 Locked 511309936 0 0
7 Locked 512246801 0 0
8 Locked 390612334 0 0
9 Locked 390511743 0 0
10 Locked 391162864 0 0
11 Locked 390386062 0 0
12 Locked 388533792 0 0
13 Locked 389014900 0 0
14 Locked 388586717 0 0
15 Locked 388476552 0 0
16 Locked 389483077 0 0
17 Locked 389963180 0 0
18 Locked 389983926 0 0
19 Locked 388854983 0 0
20 Locked 390464418 0 0
21 Locked 391541058 0 0
22 Locked 390897395 0 0
23 Locked 390764280 0 0
24 Locked 515794079 0 0
26 Locked 516570608 0 0
27 Locked 516886148 0 0
28 Locked 516446840 0 0
29 Locked 516953373 0 0
30 Locked 516316127 0 0
31 Locked 1097919654 0 0

3.1 Downstream channels
Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
159 88 4K 1720 QAM4096 424

3.1 Downstream channels
Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
159 Locked -0.7 678574190 0

3.0 Upstream channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 36.020599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 4
2 46200000 36.270599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 3
3 53700000 36.270599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 2
4 60300000 36.770599 5120 KSym/sec 64QAM 1

3.0 Upstream channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 1 0
2 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 1 0
3 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 1 0
4 US_TYPE_STDMA 0 0 1 0

General Configuration
Network access true
Maximum Number of CPEs 1
Baseline Privacy true
DOCSIS Mode 3.1
Config file 69834ncxv9873254k;fg87dsfd;kf

Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 27396
Max Traffic Rate 1200000450
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0

Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 27395
Max Traffic Rate 55000270
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320
Scheduling Type bestEffort

Network Log
Time Priority Description
Sat 14/11/2020 21:57:26 5 MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Mon 16/11/2020 06:54:11 3 No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

***********************************************************************************************************************************

My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.47K
  • 757
  • 1.82K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
318 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Can someone please check my stats

Power levels and SNR are all good.  Can't comment on the low speeds coming out of your router, although I've seen reports of similar from other Hub 4 users - you might want to trawl through the forum to see if anything useful turns up (bearing in mind the forum search engine isn't great).

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
Tuning in
301 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats

Cheers mate, I'll wait until my Cat 8 cable arrives and replace that before moving on to the next stage, don't want to mess around with settings and stuff until I've tried the new cable and then I'll take it from there. I'm hoping it's just a quick fix via faulty cable. I'll get a search around the forum in the meantime 🙂

Thanks again 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************

My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
Tuning in
238 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats

So I changed the cable and I’m still suffering the same slow speeds. After 1 hour on the phone to VM and getting cut off,  I then had to ring back I was on hold for another 1 1/2 hours I finally got put through to the Tier 2 team and to cut a long story short they found faults on my line and said it would be fixed between 5-7 working days. They said everything was fine on my own equipment and the faults were showing between the cabinet and exchange. I wasn't given any reference number and don't know if I can track the fault, all they gave me was a number for checking faults in my area which I though was pretty stupid as I can do this via my account anyway.

I need some advice as I am in my 14 day cooling off period and the 5-7 days repair time puts me beyond the time frame for cancelling if it’s not repaired. How do I stand on this?

I’d rather go back to a stable 200mb connection than pay double the price for a 400mb connection. I don’t mind paying the price for the 1 gigabit line I signed up for or even 700-800mb but at the minute it’s just not worth it. I know things fail from time to time and need to be repaired but reading around the forum the time scales VM set are not very realistic and I see customers have been waiting months for repairs and still waiting so in the end I just don’t want to get caught in an 18 month contract with a crap line speed.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
235 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats


@conman33158 wrote:

So I changed the cable and I’m still suffering the same slow speeds. After 1 hour on the phone to VM and getting cut off,  I then had to ring back I was on hold for another 1 1/2 hours I finally got put through to the Tier 2 team and to cut a long story short they found faults on my line and said it would be fixed between 5-7 working days. They said everything was fine on my own equipment and the faults were showing between the cabinet and exchange. I wasn't given any reference number and don't know if I can track the fault, all they gave me was a number for checking faults in my area which I though was pretty stupid as I can do this via my account anyway.

I need some advice as I am in my 14 day cooling off period and the 5-7 days repair time puts me beyond the time frame for cancelling if it’s not repaired. How do I stand on this?

I’d rather go back to a stable 200mb connection than pay double the price for a 400mb connection. I don’t mind paying the price for the 1 gigabit line I signed up for or even 700-800mb but at the minute it’s just not worth it. I know things fail from time to time and need to be repaired but reading around the forum the time scales VM set are not very realistic and I see customers have been waiting months for repairs and still waiting so in the end I just don’t want to get caught in an 18 month contract with a crap line speed.


Speak to retentions and see if there is something they can do whilst you aren't getting the full speeds (Reduction in £/month).

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
Tuning in
198 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats

So got a text saying it's fixed and still getting speeds at 450mb one minute and 850mb the next, I guess this is just how it going to be on this 1 gigabyte service. I'll give it a few days and hopefully it will get sorted out. Just not very impressed if I'm honest, at least when I was on the M200 my speeds were constant, I think this 1 gigabyte service is in its infancy and needs a few things ironed out. Time will tell I guess!

***********************************************************************************************************************************

My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
196 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats


@conman33158 wrote:

So got a text saying it's fixed and still getting speeds at 450mb one minute and 850mb the next, I guess this is just how it going to be on this 1 gigabyte service. I'll give it a few days and hopefully it will get sorted out. Just not very impressed if I'm honest, at least when I was on the M200 my speeds were constant, I think this 1 gigabyte service is in its infancy and needs a few things ironed out. Time will tell I guess!


Create a BQM (Broadband Quality Monitor) here, and post the live link.

You can see any discrepancies on your line.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 33
  • 1
  • 2
Tuning in
162 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/4cc3e81776c10e1bba31a64c182fbc1972...

***********************************************************************************************************************************

My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
151 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone please check my stats


@conman33158 wrote:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/4cc3e81776c10e1bba31a64c182fbc1972...


Average latency is high and you appear to have several 'spikes' over a number of hours.

0 Kudos
Reply