Menu
fayz
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Can someone explain why my xbox downloads are capped at 50mbps?

Hi,

I am a network engineer who has built servers for schools. So i’ve done all the tests and tweaks to prove that it narrows it down to the xbox live servers, or virgin media throttling my connections (judging by the history of throtlling tunnels and vpn’s i think it’s virgin media.

i even have a cache server (look up LanCache.net) which saves my xbox downloads to my local cache server, so when I redownload, i download at my max lan speeds (because of the hard drive in the xbox is not an ssd i get about 200mbps)

so my speedtests are all good. But my xbox downloads are throttled to 50mbps. Sometimes they can go higher to 60-70 but 50mbps seems like the throttle.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
conman33158
Knows their stuff
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Can someone explain why my xbox downloads are capped at 50mbps?

Virgin do not throttle speeds 🙂

I'd be inclined to look at whichever way the xbox is connected, i.e decent network cable, cat 5e or better and not going through switches or home plugs etc plus direct wired connection to the Hub. What speed are you getting from your PC to Hub? If speeds are on par this way then the xbox server or xbox itself is the problem.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
mjpartyboy
Fibre optic
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator