Menu
Reply
srkain
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
692 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

Hi all,

I am in the Bromley area BR1 and I am experiencing high latency and dropped packets constantly.

35476b60bd4b3ffd7c08156bb552baa440670e30-09-12-2020

Please find below my live BQM link:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/485db3b88ac404688ba177ae3cd218136174c996

 

I've tried rebooting the HUB 3 several times and it didn't improve the situation.

 

Is it a problem with the HUB or a Bromley BR1 area issue?

 

Thanks,

 

Rennan

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
683 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

On the very limited data so far, I'd say far more likely to be an area fault or cable problem than a fault with the hub.  Hubs do occasionally go wrong, but not normally in a manner that creates a latency and packet loss issue between the hub and CMTS.

I must say that I'm suspicious it'll turn out to be over-utilisation, but we'll only be able to say when we've seen what's happening across a full 24 hours.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
srkain
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
655 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

Thanks for your reply.

The packet losses are making very difficult to WFH as people can't hear me properly on VoIP calls.

Also, very bad lag when gaming.

 

I've tried phoning 0800 561 0061 and apparently, there are no issues reported in the area as of now.

Please find below more info from the hub itself after rebooting the modem a few minutes ago:

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
402750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39399983
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500003.538256 qam30
22027500003.237256 qam9
3210750000337256 qam10
4218750000337256 qam11
52267500002.937256 qam12
6234750000337256 qam13
72427500002.537256 qam14
82507500002.537256 qam15
92587500002.537256 qam16
102667500002.737256 qam17
112747500002.737256 qam18
122827500003.238256 qam19
13290750000337256 qam20
142987500003.237256 qam21
153067500003.238256 qam22
163147500003.237256 qam23
173227500003.238256 qam24
183307500003.538256 qam25
193707500003.438256 qam26
203787500003.238256 qam27
213867500003.538256 qam28
223947500003.438256 qam29
234107500003.538256 qam31
244187500003.538256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.950
2Locked37.350
3Locked37.660
4Locked37.360
5Locked37.660
6Locked37.640
7Locked37.600
8Locked37.670
9Locked37.350
10Locked37.670
11Locked37.650
12Locked38.660
13Locked37.640
14Locked37.650
15Locked38.6180
16Locked37.660
17Locked38.650
18Locked38.600
19Locked38.600
20Locked38.650
21Locked38.6140
22Locked38.650
23Locked38.600
24Locked38.600

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13939998349512064 qam3
23260000049512064 qam4
34620006349512064 qam2
45370004149512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca6983



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID21182
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID21207
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
JohnEpton
  • 31
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
644 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

Hi

i am in Br6 and I been suffering this exact same problem for 6m +. Despite lots of promises and posts to this Forum, nothing has changed. I get very similar graphs to you, apart from the middle of the night when it settles down.

I had  VOIP telephone service with Vonage an I have had to cancel my contract. It was not possible to have a clear conversation for more than about 10 minutes. 50% of the words were randomly missing. Following tests, the utilisation and Latency issues were between me and VM. It did not seem to be a fault with Vonage.

Best of luck with this one.

John

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
626 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

@srkain Unfortunately there's nothing wrong with your hub's status data.  Unfortunate because power and noise problems are usually an easy fix.  Let's see how it is looking tomorrow.  If the BQM is all good between half midnight and 8:00am and then goes to pot again, then it is over-utilisation. 

 

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
606 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

Just looked at your live BQM, and I'm afraid that it is over-utilisation, and a bad case at that.

Some advice we've given to somebody else in the same boat here.  And in case you want to believe VM's protestations of a fix date in a few weeks, try reading this from start to finish.  And then when you get to the end of that and it all sounds quite promising, read this.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
srkain
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
570 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

@Andrew-G Thanks for your reply.

 

I've read the threads you mentioned and it does seems I am facing the same issues.

I've signed my contract on 10 January 2020 so I am out next month. Do I need to call them now and give the 30 notice for cancelations?

 

Shame as I believe there are no other broadband options in the area with the kind of speeds that VM offers, but this latency is killing any useability for work or gaming, even though downloads work just fine.

 

My BCM graph looks horrendous and I can't use a rely on a network that only works properly from midnight to 8am.

 

340215482cf4375fbbd0c84f0bd3e5f73e302691-10-12-2020

 

I'll try to research other providers around here.

0 Kudos
Reply
srkain
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
565 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets


@JohnEpton wrote:

Hi

i am in Br6 and I been suffering this exact same problem for 6m +. Despite lots of promises and posts to this Forum, nothing has changed. I get very similar graphs to you, apart from the middle of the night when it settles down.

I had  VOIP telephone service with Vonage an I have had to cancel my contract. It was not possible to have a clear conversation for more than about 10 minutes. 50% of the words were randomly missing. Following tests, the utilisation and Latency issues were between me and VM. It did not seem to be a fault with Vonage.

Best of luck with this one.

John

Hi John,

Thanks for your message.

Are you still with VM or moved to another provider?

Thanks,

 

Rennan

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.9K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
548 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

@srkain I've signed my contract on 10 January 2020 so I am out next month. Do I need to call them now and give the 30 notice for cancelations?

Well, first of all check that it's a 12 month contract.  For a while now VM have been using disgraceful 18 month contracts (along with other large ISPs) whilst the clowns at Ofcom lark around and pour custard down each others trousers.  Or whatever it is that Ofcom do, it certainly isn't looking after end users.  If you're in an 18 month contract then I'd suggest formal complaint to VM, if/when that doesn't get a results escalate to the arbitration service CISAS, asking for release from contract immediately and without penalty, plus compensation for the shoddy service in previous months.

Assuming it is a 12 month contract, don't issue your 30 days yet, do your research (including checking any prospective ISP's customers' opinions on Trustpilot and ISPReview), if you're good to go then get connected and ONLY THEN cancel VM.  Admittedly that gives VM another month's revenue for a sub-par service, but the planned overlap means that if the new install is delayed or faulty you don't get left without a connection. 

And if you're committed to leaving, cancel by post so that you don;t have to endure either the poor VM telephone service, or have the siren voices of the retentions team promising heaven and earth to get you to stay.

And finally, although it may seem otherwise, I'm disappointed to be offering this advice.  In my opinion VM could make a fairly modest number of strategic changes that would give customers far better service and outcomes, but senior management choose not to, and continue with their heads firmly in the sand.  Good luck whatever way you choose to go.  

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
JohnEpton
  • 31
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
532 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - High latency and dropped packets

Rennan

i am still with VM. I have dropped Vonage and signed up for a VM landline. So far the quality is very, very good and I finally got my old Vonage number ported to the new line. ( after about 5 attempts)

john

0 Kudos
Reply