Menu
Reply
Gexton
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
1,139 Views
Message 1 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

Hi, 

I'm in BR4, on Hayes Chase and currently experiencing terrible broadbands speeds. 

For the past week or so my connection speed jumps around all over the place, making video and even audio calls over the internet via Teams/Bluejeans/Skype almost impossible. 

I'm connected to the hub via cat6 ethernet cables and i've hard reset the hub only yesterday. 

I'm on the 200mbps package and not getting anything like the experience i expected. 

I did finally manage to get through to someone on the help support number this morning (after 50 minutes of waiting) and they reported that there was a fault in the area and enginners were on site. Mysteriously though this is not mentioned on the service status page and I have no way of verifing that the issue either exists or whether it has been fixed and my connection issues are related to something else. 

Hopefully someone from virgin will reply to this post and update me. Others I see are having similar experience in Bromley.  

Here's my hub stats and link to live broadband monitor graph. 

My Broadband Ping - home internet

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
330750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
46200000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13307500003.538256 qam25
2266750000-0.537256 qam17
32747500000.237256 qam18
42827500001.537256 qam19
5290750000238256 qam20
62987500002.738256 qam21
73067500002.938256 qam22
8314750000338256 qam23
93227500003.238256 qam24
103707500004.138256 qam26
113787500004.538256 qam27
123867500004.538256 qam28
13394750000438256 qam29
144027500003.238256 qam30
15410750000338256 qam31
16418750000338256 qam32
174267500003.438256 qam33
184347500003.538256 qam34
194427500003.738256 qam35
20450750000438256 qam36
214587500003.738256 qam37
224667500003.538256 qam38
234747500003.538256 qam39
244827500003.438256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6120
2Locked37.32740
3Locked37.32000
4Locked37.6820
5Locked38.6320
6Locked38.6300
7Locked38.6280
8Locked38.9230
9Locked38.6180
10Locked38.9270
11Locked38.9190
12Locked38.6150
13Locked38.9210
14Locked38.9260
15Locked38.6350
16Locked38.9370
17Locked38.9380
18Locked38.9320
19Locked38.6410
20Locked38.6550
21Locked38.9550
22Locked38.61030
23Locked38.91200
24Locked38.61660

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1462000004.825512064 qam3
2326000004.775512064 qam5
3394000004.775512064 qam4
4537000004.775512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,133 Views
Message 2 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

If they have told you there is an outage you will have to accept that there is, keep checking the Status Page and your connection is the only way forward at the moment.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.57K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.04K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
1,118 Views
Message 3 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

As well as trying the “check service,” weblink (at the top of this forum board), there is also a Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually tells you of more local issues down to postcode level (that might even not yet be listed on the Service Status web page) - that may give you more info.
If nothing shows on there call it in as a fault (on 150 VM line - or 0345 454 1111 others) and see what they say when they test your connection and if possible, get a fault reference number. After all, if customers don’t report faults, VM don’t know about them.

Or, a VM mod should pick this thread up in a day or so and should be able to help more.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Gexton
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
1,068 Views
Message 4 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

Hi, 

Can anyone tell me if my BMS chart looks like it should?

I'm having the same issue this moring. At 7am it looked like the issue had been resolved overnight but after having two video calls with colleagues, i'm already being told that my voice and video is breaking up and when i run intermittent speed tests i sometimes only get 1 or 2mbps download. 

Have tried calling virgin three times only to be cut off, text service not responding after saying my query was being transfered and no one replying to tweets. 

Making doing any work very difficult. 

Any help or guidence greatly appreciated. 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,066 Views
Message 5 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

Post a link to your live BQM graph.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Gexton
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
1,064 Views
Message 6 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

Hi Mike, 

The live chart is my original post above, but here it is as you've suggsted.

Thanks,
Gareth

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/2015a892ce570775e6b1383de376549576... 

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,062 Views
Message 7 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

It is a mess apart from the quiet hours as if somebody is switching something on at breakfast time and bringing the system down.

You can try phoning it in or wait here for one of the VM Staff to pick up the thread, someone should be along within a couple of days.

Don't bump your thread; it doesn't get answered any quicker.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
Gexton
  • 34
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
1,056 Views
Message 8 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

Or everyone in the area logging into WFH???

Where I live I imagine the vast majority of people are WFH and starting work between 8 and 9 o'clock. I imagine the system is just not coping with the amount of traffic.

Could this be it?
As the day goes on it gets worse and worse, to the point yesterday it just because unresponsive in the evening.

Currently on hold to Virgin, again... 38 minutes and counting. Hopefully it wont disconnect like it did yesterday.
0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
1,052 Views
Message 9 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

While you are waiting on the phone try the Check Service Status link again.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
matt5905
  • 15
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
1,034 Views
Message 10 of 66
Flag for a moderator

Re: Bromley - BR4 - Fluctuating speed

I'm also in the same area (comparing BQM graphs I think I am on the same piece of network infrastructure as @Gexton, who started his post off the back of mine.)

Comparing back to christmas time/January, I can see that even during peak hours and weekends, the latency was nowhere near as bad. During evening/weekends now the graphs are almost entirely blue (and worse for @Gexton who seems to be getting a lot of packet loss.) So I have to think something is amiss in the network beyond the extra usage during working hours.

Maybe VM did some helpful 'tweaking' of the network to prepare for the onslaught. I have to say, my upload/download speeds are holding up much better than they used to at busy times (for a couple of years we had abysmal peak hour throughput of only 1-2 Mbps.) It's just the latency/jitter that sucks and makes things like phone calls and remote desktop unuseable.

Unfortunately I can't see when things got bad as my IP changed at the end of Jan and I forgot to update my BQM. But I can see the graphs have got even worse in the last few days, including staying bad out til 1am in the morning.

Cheers,

Matt.

0 Kudos
Reply