Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
413 Views
Message 1 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Broadband stability question - new customer

Hello Virgin Media Community,

New customer here, M100 Fibre BB set up and contract running as of yesterday (less than 24hrs ago).

I ran a premature speed test as our new router was setting up and I hit the max speeds for our connection, obviously very pleased with that.

Last night, noticed lots of lag on a PS4 (hardwired ethernet) and Netflix struggled with 4k/Dolby content (not used concurrently).

Today, have conducted multiple speed tests using all the big test services (speedtest.net / fast.com / testmy.net / Google Speed Test / speedof.me - to name but a few).

I live in a little bungalow so signal strength really shouldn't be an issue but regardless, tests were conducted while hardwired to Hub 3, Wi-Fi sat next to Hub 3, hardwired ethernet in office, Wi-Fi in all rooms able to receive decent Wi-Fi - basically, I've been testing in all of the high-usage locations in both wired/Wi-Fi scenarios.  

Ignoring the slower DL/UL speeds in those locations furthest away from router and those where a long ethernet cable is being used and I've found the service to be highly temperamental with regular drop outs and really poor uploads in equal measures with the good results.

My questions...

Should I receive a 100Mbps+ DL on one test and 12Mbps on the next, both hard wired?

Should a 10m hardwired Cat7 ethernet cable see upload go from 9.9Mbps to less than 1Mbps?

Does fibre from Virgin need time to settle in, as with other providers?

In all, I'm quite confused as I've only ever had a new service jump up & down like this when it takes time to 'bed in' which I expect from BT etc. but from what I've seen, Virgin is unique in this not being the case.

Thank you to any/all who may read this and comments or advice that may follow.

A

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.14K
  • 160
  • 287
Dialled in
405 Views
Message 2 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Could you access your router using http://192.168.0.1/ . Don't log in, select the 'Check Router Status' option and paste your 'Downstream', 'Upstream', and 'Network Log' tabs?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
284 Views
Message 3 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Hello Carl, thank you for replying so quickly to my (in hindsight, overly long) post.

As requested:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500007.340256 qam29
2250750000940256 qam15
3258750000940256 qam16
42667500009.140256 qam17
5274750000940256 qam18
6282750000940256 qam19
72907500008.940256 qam20
8298750000940256 qam21
9306750000940256 qam22
103147500008.940256 qam23
113227500008.840256 qam24
123307500008.840256 qam25
133787500007.540256 qam26
143867500007.340256 qam27
15394750000740256 qam28
164107500007.540256 qam30
174187500007.440256 qam31
184267500007.440256 qam32
19434750000740256 qam33
20442750000740256 qam34
21450750000740256 qam35
22458750000740256 qam36
234667500006.840256 qam37
244747500006.640256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3190
2Locked40.340
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.960
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.3100
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.950
9Locked40.9190
10Locked40.3170
11Locked40.9220
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.9110
14Locked40.960
15Locked40.3190
16Locked40.980
17Locked40.9200
18Locked40.3170
19Locked40.3170
20Locked40.3170
21Locked40.3190
22Locked40.340
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.900
 
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
397 Views
Message 4 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 4.025 5120 64 qam 2
2 32600000 3.975 5120 64 qam 3
3 25800000 3.95 5120 64 qam 4
4 46200000 4.05 5120 64 qam 1


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0


Network Log
Time Priority Description
09/07/2020 13:01:20 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/07/2020 15:10:57 notice SW download Successful - Via Config file
08/07/2020 15:09:10 notice SW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:38 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2020 14:50:30 notice Unit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2020 14:41:3 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/06/2020 14:41:3 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:41 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2020 15:54:25 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2020 15:54:25 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2020 15:54:24 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2020 13:11:45 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2020 16:15:8 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-V03b070232460788a.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2020 16:15:8 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/01/2020 20:26:41 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2020 23:07:58 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2020 02:52:20 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/01/2020 03:12:32 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/01/2020 22:55:47 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/12/2019 17:22:33 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


I'm a little confused as to the 2019 and early 2020 log updates... especially the update from 1970!

Am I in the unique position of owning a time travelling Virgin router?  😉
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.14K
  • 160
  • 287
Dialled in
389 Views
Message 5 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

You've missed off the 'Downstream' tab!

Regarding 1970 this occurs when the HUB is reset to factory defaults, as displayed on a previous row. This would have been done before shipping out to you.

Routers may not be brand new. It's pretty common to receive a recon unit, hence the old dates.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
374 Views
Message 6 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Derp!  Sorry Carl, I had copy/pasta'd it in but must have edited it out by mistake.

Here you go...

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500007.340256 qam29
2250750000940256 qam15
3258750000940256 qam16
42667500009.140256 qam17
5274750000940256 qam18
6282750000940256 qam19
72907500008.940256 qam20
8298750000940256 qam21
9306750000940256 qam22
103147500008.940256 qam23
113227500008.940256 qam24
123307500008.840256 qam25
133787500007.540256 qam26
143867500007.340256 qam27
15394750000740256 qam28
164107500007.540256 qam30
174187500007.440256 qam31
184267500007.440256 qam32
19434750000740256 qam33
20442750000740256 qam34
21450750000740256 qam35
22458750000740256 qam36
234667500006.840256 qam37
244747500006.640256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3190
2Locked40.940
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.370
5Locked40.350
6Locked40.3100
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.950
9Locked40.3190
10Locked40.9170
11Locked40.9220
12Locked40.350
13Locked40.3120
14Locked40.960
15Locked40.9190
16Locked40.380
17Locked40.3200
18Locked40.3170
19Locked40.3170
20Locked40.9180
21Locked40.9190
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.300
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
373 Views
Message 7 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Yes, I did suspect the 1970 date to be a result of a reset... shame, cracking time travel could have made this the best broadband subscription ever!
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.14K
  • 160
  • 287
Dialled in
371 Views
Message 8 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Everything looks 'Ok'.

One thing to note is the PSN has recently been throttling, due to recent goings-on.

https://www.ccn.com/think-playstation-downloads-are-insanely-slow-you-aint-seen-nothing-yet/ 

Can you confirm if you have another wired device, laptop or Desktop, you could try speed tests with?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
362 Views
Message 9 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

Thank you for running through all that info.

Yes, I'm aware of PSN throttling speeds due to high demand but the PS4 was one of the reasons why I decided to speed test, not the device I used to do the tests.

I used my work laptop for running tests around the property and direct to the router.

If the VM Fibre speed is supposed to be stable right from the get-go, are there any explanations as to why I'd be getting such varied speed results?

I understand that not each speed test uses the same servers, some even located outside the UK but surely you'd expect a speed test conducted on the same server to come back with similar results when performed in short succession?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 23
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
280 Views
Message 10 of 46
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband stability question - new customer

As an example, these were done 1m apart...

This is Wi-Fi, in a bungalow, with one wall dividing the signal, approximately 12m away.

From my BT router in a similar position, prior to the switch, I had 17Mbps.

I know there can be all sorts of things to compromise signal so I've turned off my phone Wi-Fi and there were no other devices using the fibre connection when I performed the tests.

 

GST wifi 1528 09.07.20.JPGGST wifi 1529 09.07.20.JPG

0 Kudos
Reply