Menu
Reply
Tanya9790
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
560 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Broadband speed

I've gone through the self help options, all wires/leads fine, hub open space. And my Internet speed is low. I've run a test and we currently pay £58 a month for 350m and are getting 20m average. Which isn't good enough for how much we are spending. The hub u have has been the same one for years, im think I may need a need hub sending to keep up with the speeds.

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.08K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
553 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

This could be a wireless problem, or a cable connection problem.

To rule out a cable problem, could you connect to the hub, don't log in, but at the log in page click on the link that says "Check router status".  That brings up a window with five tabs.  If you can copy and paste in replies here (as text, not images) the entire contents of three of those tabs, the ones call Downstream, Upstream and Network log, that'll give us an idea whether the problem lies with the cable connection or the wifi side of things.  When we've got that we can move on to the next stage in diagnosing the problem.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Tanya9790
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
548 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

Downstream:

Password
 


 
Router status
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12110000006.335256 qam10
2139000000834256 qam1
3147000000833256 qam2
41550000007.934256 qam3
51630000007.534256 qam4
61710000007.635256 qam5
71790000007.134256 qam6
81870000007.334256 qam7
91950000006.834256 qam8
10203000000634256 qam9
112190000005.634256 qam11
122270000005.534256 qam12
13235000000535256 qam13
142430000004.834256 qam14
152510000004.434256 qam15
162590000004.534256 qam16
17267000000434256 qam17
182750000004.134256 qam18
192830000003.734256 qam19
202910000003.934256 qam20
212990000003.734256 qam21
223070000003.734256 qam22
233150000003.734256 qam23
243230000003.235256 qam24


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked3523436182
2Locked34.31357035509
3Locked33.92464675600
4Locked34.4271395890
5Locked34.975245733
6Locked3540746172
7Locked34.962686465
8Locked34.4158646190
9Locked34.920116063
10Locked34.922446356
11Locked34.957816758
12Locked34.4336506288
13Locked3555856495
14Locked34.992396404
15Locked34.9125246231
16Locked34.4384446459
17Locked34.4307446357
18Locked34.960926229
19Locked34.4158816404
20Locked34.4163586534
21Locked34.3486596690
22Locked34.4153126634
23Locked34.916337021
24Locked352992

7034

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tanya9790
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
547 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

Password
 


 
Router status
Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1325999863.55512064 qam3
2258000003.5512064 qam4
3393999913.6512064 qam2
4462000093.7512064 qam1


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Tanya9790
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
542 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

Password
 


 
Router status
General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
wrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv98732


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID11136
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID11135
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.38K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.04K
Alessandro Volta
508 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

Are these wired or wireless speeds?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Tanya9790
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
501 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

These are wireless speeds. 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.38K
  • 1.88K
  • 4.04K
Alessandro Volta
489 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

You need to speedtest when wired direct to the hub 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.08K
  • 1.07K
  • 2.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
466 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

Looks to me that the downstream signal to noise ratio is too low, and the range of power levels is too wide (possibly because of the SNR issues), and as a consequence you're getting high uncorrected error counts.  That would explain slow speeds and disconnections.  This will need a technician visit to fix, best option is usually to wait for the forum staff to pick this post up and advise on next steps.

I don't think you need to do any more speed tests, the status data shows the connection has a fault.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Chris_W1
  • 4.05K
  • 181
  • 252
Forum Team
Forum Team
317 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed

Hi Tanya9790, thanks for messaging us, we are sorry to hear that you are having issues with the service and want to get this resolved. We will send you a PM ^Chris 

0 Kudos
Reply