Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
515 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Broadband speed not matching M200

Hi,

I've had an M200 package now for quite sometime. Originally internet speeds have consistently been 200mbs (sometimes slightly more) however in the last 6 months this has gradually been reducing, now down to a consistent sub 70mbps (80 if i'm lucky). I have an VMDG490 hub in modem mode, worked in this mode for several years. I test using Speedtest.net on a wired PC that has a 1Gb nic using cat5e cable. I notice a lot of pre and post errors these have been gradually increasing also, despite clearing the log errors they still mount up. Router has been power cycled, all other network kit power cycled, speedtest done with short direct cat5e cables etc, still same speed.

Can you advise please - do i need to replace the hub? (this was replaced via this forum last time i had these issues about 5 years ago). 

 

 

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.73K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
474 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed not matching M200

First do a quick check that all of your coax connections are in nice and "finger" tight at the Hub and wall box and at any splitters/attenuators/etc with no “unterminated loose ends – disconnect then and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly and hold for 60 seconds – release pin then leave 10’ to stabilise.

If that’s all good.... Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon at top right (SH2’s) or text at bottom-middle of first page up (Hub3) and then copy/paste 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

Also, in the meantime. Set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take an hour or two to start seeing a sensible picture.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

You can try for a Hub swap - try the "free" SH1/2/2ac upgrade/replacement scheme - see the link below - as they are trying to get everyone onto Hub3's.

If you get the - "Ooops - please call" message, then come back here for more assistance.

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/hub-swap.html?buspart=uk_app_connect2_hubswap


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
215 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed not matching M200

thanks i will try this today when no one is using internet 🙂

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
202 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed not matching M200

I've reset and checked cabling here are my results;

 

 

 

Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8

Frequency (Hz)138750000146750000154750000162750000170750000178750000186750000194750000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID12345678
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)1.862.052.142.232.372.552.812.90
RxMER (dB)35.4235.9736.1736.3936.8436.8437.0937.36
Pre RS Errors23855120067364519776375345297311
Post RS Errors291302280268314291296308

 

Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4

Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID2314
Frequency (Hz)46200000394000005370000032600000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)40.5039.0043.0037.75
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts1000
T4 Timeouts000

0

 

Network Log

First TimeLast TimePriorityError NumberDescription
27/06/2020 09:36:17 GMT27/06/2020 09:36:17 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
27/06/2020 09:34:38 GMT27/06/2020 09:34:38 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
27/06/2020 09:32:24 GMT27/06/2020 09:32:24 GMTWarning (5)66050310Auth Success - Web login successful.
27/06/2020 09:31:04 GMT27/06/2020 09:31:04 GMTWarning (5)66050300Auth Fail - Web login failed.
27/06/2020 09:29:00 GMT27/06/2020 09:29:00 GMTError (4)68010302DHCP WAN IP - x.x.x.x
27/06/2020 09:27:58 GMT27/06/2020 09:27:58 GMTError (4)68000407TOD established
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)82000200No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedNotice (6)84000510Downstream Locked Successfully
26/06/2020 19:10:39 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:39 GMTError (4)68010400DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response
26/06/2020 19:10:35 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:35 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:10:34 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:34 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:10:32 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:32 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:10:28 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:28 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:10:19 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:19 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:10:02 GMT26/06/2020 19:10:02 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:09:28 GMT26/06/2020 19:09:28 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4
26/06/2020 19:08:20 GMT26/06/2020 19:08:20 GMTError (4)68010100DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.51K
  • 265
  • 523
Forum Team
Forum Team
157 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed not matching M200

Hello Trippy6

It would be best to check as few things in a bit more detail

I have booked the first engineer appointment we have available
You can check and reschedule this appointment through your online account if you need to
You can also cancel it if the fault has gone 
Can you please let me know how the visit goes 

In the mean time what speeds do toy get straight from our hub hard wired?
Gareth_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
147 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband speed not matching M200

Thanks Gareth I see I have had a text now detailing a home visit. Speeds hard wired are around 80 down and 20 up.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7
  • 1
  • 0
Tuning in
127 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband speed not matching M200

Engineer has replaced my hub with a super hub 3! all good now 219 down and 20 up😁 

0 Kudos
Reply