Menu
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,109 Views
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

After being upgraded to M500 my download speed is now slower I get ~100, with the "Our minimum download speed guarantee" I should be getting 250 at least surely Smiley Frustrated.  

I wish I didn't upgrade as it was getting ~200 before Smiley Mad

I have checked all connections and nothing obviously wrong.

Image from Speedtest.net

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,106 Views
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
307000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32600005
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 
 

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 307000000 -8.2 36 256 qam 22
2 139000000 -2.7 37 256 qam 1
3 147000000 -3 37 256 qam 2
4 155000000 -3 37 256 qam 3
5 163000000 -3.2 37 256 qam 4
6 171000000 -3.5 37 256 qam 5
7 179000000 -4 37 256 qam 6
8 187000000 -4.5 37 256 qam 7
9 195000000 -5.2 37 256 qam 8
10 203000000 -6 36 256 qam 9
11 211000000 -6.5 36 256 qam 10
12 219000000 -6.9 35 256 qam 11
13 227000000 -7 36 256 qam 12
14 235000000 -7.2 36 256 qam 13
15 243000000 -7.5 36 256 qam 14
16 251000000 -7.7 36 256 qam 15
17 259000000 -7.5 36 256 qam 16
18 267000000 -7.2 36 256 qam 17
19 275000000 -7.4 36 256 qam 18
20 283000000 -7.2 36 256 qam 19
21 291000000 -7.7 35 256 qam 20
22 299000000 -7.7 36 256 qam 21
23 315000000 -8.5 36 256 qam 23
24 323000000 -8.4 36 256 qam 24



0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,105 Views
Message 3 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 36.6 903 7792
2 Locked 37.3 614 390
3 Locked 37.3 656 409
4 Locked 37.3 1046 6534
5 Locked 37.6 763 6490
6 Locked 37.6 894 513
7 Locked 37.3 955 599
8 Locked 37.3 237 545
9 Locked 37.3 288 666
10 Locked 36.6 460 628
11 Locked 36.6 894 6180
12 Locked 35.5 2108 6595
13 Locked 36.3 1182 5881
14 Locked 36.3 887 5983
15 Locked 36.6 541 6154
16 Locked 36.6 412 5859
17 Locked 36.3 597 5842
18 Locked 36.6 596 6029
19 Locked 37.3 622 6308
20 Locked 36.6 1385 6225
21 Locked 36.3 3823 4840
22 Locked 36.6 953 7799
23 Locked 36.6 658 7792
24 Locked 36.3 479 6582
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,105 Views
Message 4 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 32600005 5.1 5120 64 qam 5
2 39400000 5.1 5120 64 qam 4
3 46200078 5.1 5120 64 qam 3
4 53700000 5.1 5120 64 qam 2


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,105 Views
Message 5 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

General Configuration
Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
Vcb573b2ee9a9587e.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow
SFID 3980
Max Traffic Rate 575000000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0


Primary Upstream Service Flow
SFID 3979
Max Traffic Rate 38520000
Max Traffic Burst 42600
Min Traffic Rate 0
Max Concatenated Burst 16320
Scheduling Type BestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,083 Views
Message 6 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

I just found this old speedtest.net which shows I was getting 218 back in January 2018.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 13.39K
  • 1.04K
  • 3.13K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
5,081 Views
Message 7 of 19
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

downstream levels are too low - upstream levels are as high as they want to be and arguably too high

you need a tech to sort that out

why that should happen with the upgrade is a bit of a mystery - maybe they were like that before and not impacting your speeds

you can ring and hope CS dont want to take you through their scripts - whatever they say they can do nothing so end the call if they wont book a tech and wait here for VM

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 521
  • 28
  • 122
deviousiphone
Rising star
5,066 Views
Message 8 of 19
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

Just a heads up I have been showing slow speeds when using Speedtest.net for the last few days. Try http://www.dslreports.com/speedtest as that seems to work as expected. I don’t know if it’s something to do with Speedtest.net or a windows update but I just can’t max out my connection using it like I used too. Yet I am downloading at like 40MB/s on steam when downloading games on my 350mbps so there really is no speed issue.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 953
  • 45
  • 128
happywithmy350
Well-informed
5,063 Views
Message 9 of 19
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

Then just get them to undo the install using the speed guarantee - or leave if they can't fix it. The guarantee on 500 if I remember rightly is something like 458 or 498 That's a ballsy move as someone was told "good luck getting them to do anything as it's "up to" on another thread - but then thing is it's no longer up to that's the speed you will get or you can leave.
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10
  • 0
  • 2
catchcoder
Tuning in
5,061 Views
Message 10 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband slower after upgrade to M500

Thanks, I have had the issue for since the upgrade over a month ago, however, I checked and seems consistant.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply