Menu
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
918 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Broadband service has hit a new low

4747F4A2-028C-4476-ACA4-1CEF661B98A8.png

 my broadband has been horrendous for the last few days. I called to find out what the issue was and I was told I would still have intermittent outages. However, I’ve hardly had any service full stop. It hit an all time low not long ago. I pay for 350 mbps speed, but I have been chugging around 280-300 kbps. Are we back on dial-up?

0 Kudos
Reply
jpeg1
  • 6.71K
  • 344
  • 1.23K
Legend
897 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

You graphic hasn't been approved yet. What device is showing this speed and how is it connected?

0 Kudos
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
868 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Hi,

I check my speed on multiple apps. However, my screenshot was from fast.com, which is what a virgin engineer showed me last time they were by to check my connectivity issue. I usually check my network on my iPhone 11. However, various devices have confirmed my spotty/poor performance, like my Apple TV.

Richard

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.1K
  • 1.62K
  • 4.56K
Alessandro Volta
862 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

The image shows a fast.com rest result of 280 kbps, but can't be approved because the client IP address is shown.  Curiously that is an IPv6 address, which certainly is possible but has been a hotly debated* topic as to whether VM support that or not.  Other possible causes exist for that IPv6 address which might explain poor speeds, including using VPN's, unintentionally misconnected LANs, none of which I can comment on.  At speeds that low, and with a loaded latency of 1.6 seconds I don't think a simple wifi problem is a likely cause.

How about you pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.  Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

* Hotly debated only by a tiny, tiny minority to whom the hum of server room air conditioning over the otherwise near anechoic chamber stillness is the soundtrack to normal life.

0 Kudos
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
850 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Hi Andrew,

last time, they didn’t believe it was a downstream power issue. It ended up being an upstream one. That was supposedly fixed. However, I think they were doing work recently and knocked out the service. That was restored, but it has been horrendous ever since. Fine so far this morning. Although, I am still getting low speed readings on Speed Test and my Nest Wifi apps. VM CS told me it was lasting a few days longer. However, it is getting really irritating with the lack of consistent internet with WFH, etc. Does the sam still apply to check the status if my Hub 3 is in modem mode?

0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 10.1K
  • 1.62K
  • 4.56K
Alessandro Volta
828 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Yes, status checking works the same way in modem mode:  

Pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here as TEXT not screenshots.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.  Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

If there's a reported area fault then VM won't send out a technician until that is marked as resolved, so perhaps worth waiting if you've been given a fault number and a fix date, since any status readings no matter how bad will result in no action until that area fault clears, and potentially that's the cause of your speed problem. 

0 Kudos
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
783 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Thanks. Will post once I can actually get to the hub page.

0 Kudos
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
755 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12347500000.230256 qam13
2138750000026256 qam0
3146750000-0.225256 qam0
4154750000-1.225256 qam0
5162750000-1.524256 qam0
6170750000-326256 qam0
7178750000-1.729256 qam6
8186750000-0.732256 qam7
9194750000-0.231256 qam8
0 Kudos
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
754 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000050.8512064 qam1
23940000050.3512064 qam2
32580000044.3512032 qam4
43260000045.8512064 qam3



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
rcrismale
  • 17
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
753 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband service has hit a new low

Network Log

Time Priority Description

19/09/2021 06:56:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:56:39Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:55:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:55:28Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:49:43Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:49:42Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:47:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:47:40Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:45:26Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:45:25Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:44:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:44:58Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:43:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:43:38Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:43:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:43:31Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:43:6Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:43:6Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:42:53Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/09/2021 06:42:53Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply