Menu
Reply
conman33158
  • 1.27K
  • 109
  • 233
Superfast
645 Views
Message 1 of 59
Flag for a moderator

Broadband issues on Hub 4

Can someone from Virgin staff check my connection for faults in my area. I called the number but no faults showing. I have added my stats and as you can see my Post RS Errors are starting to rise and my speed went down to around 200mb on a 1 Gigabyte connection. I have no noise on my line and all within spec and my upload modulation is still sitting at 64 QAM. I have reset the router with the same results and my BQM in my signature is showing what looks like over utilisation, although I'm hoping it's just a fault as this came out off nowhere and not a gradual thing.

I run my Hub 4 in modem mode but if you need me to run it in router mode I will gladly change it over if needed but have ran it in router mode with the same results 🙂

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

25

331000000

-1.799999

38.605377

QAM256

25

1

139000000

-0.700001

38.605377

QAM256

1

2

147000000

-0.799999

38.605377

QAM256

2

3

155000000

-0.900002

40.366287

QAM256

3

4

163000000

-1.099998

38.983261

QAM256

4

5

171000000

-1.200001

38.983261

QAM256

5

6

179000000

-1.200001

38.983261

QAM256

6

7

187000000

-1.299999

38.983261

QAM256

7

8

195000000

-1.200001

38.983261

QAM256

8

9

203000000

-1.299999

38.605377

QAM256

9

10

211000000

-1.400002

38.983261

QAM256

10

11

219000000

-1.400002

40.366287

QAM256

11

12

227000000

-1.500000

38.983261

QAM256

12

13

235000000

-1.400002

38.983261

QAM256

13

14

243000000

-1.400002

40.366287

QAM256

14

15

251000000

-1.700001

38.983261

QAM256

15

16

259000000

-1.500000

38.983261

QAM256

16

17

267000000

-1.799999

38.605377

QAM256

17

18

275000000

-2.099998

38.605377

QAM256

18

19

283000000

-2.500000

38.983261

QAM256

19

20

291000000

-2.700001

38.983261

QAM256

20

21

299000000

-2.799999

38.983261

QAM256

21

22

307000000

-2.400002

38.983261

QAM256

22

23

315000000

-1.900002

38.605377

QAM256

23

24

323000000

-1.500000

38.605377

QAM256

24

26

371000000

-2.200001

38.983261

QAM256

26

27

379000000

-2.200001

38.983261

QAM256

27

28

387000000

-2.299999

38.605377

QAM256

28

29

395000000

-2.299999

38.605377

QAM256

29

30

403000000

-2.400002

38.983261

QAM256

30

31

411000000

-2.500000

38.983261

QAM256

31

 

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel

Lock Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

25

Locked

38.605377

23

0

1

Locked

38.605377

5

0

2

Locked

38.605377

1

0

3

Locked

40.366287

4430

0

4

Locked

38.983261

4

0

5

Locked

38.983261

4

0

6

Locked

38.983261

5

0

7

Locked

38.983261

8

0

8

Locked

38.983261

9

0

9

Locked

38.605377

13

0

10

Locked

38.983261

10

0

11

Locked

40.366287

16

0

12

Locked

38.983261

21

0

13

Locked

38.983261

13

0

14

Locked

40.366287

18

0

15

Locked

38.983261

22

0

16

Locked

38.983261

31

0

17

Locked

38.605377

51

0

18

Locked

38.605377

23

0

19

Locked

38.983261

18

0

20

Locked

38.983261

42

1

21

Locked

38.983261

38

0

22

Locked

38.983261

29

0

23

Locked

38.605377

72

1

24

Locked

38.605377

49

0

26

Locked

38.983261

79

0

27

Locked

38.983261

82

0

28

Locked

38.605377

38

24

29

Locked

38.605377

76

0

30

Locked

38.983261

100

6

31

Locked

38.983261

88

0

 

3.1 Downstream channels

Channel

Channel Width (MHz)

FFT Type

Number of Active Subcarriers

Modulation (Active Profile)

First Active Subcarrier (Hz)

159

88

4K

1720

QAM4096

424

 

 

 

[MOD EDIT: Subject title changed for clarity]

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 260
  • 9
  • 50
Fibre optic
573 Views
Message 2 of 59
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

I'll do it for them...

Every looks fine on our end.

Continue to monitor.

risc19_5-1617790643482.png

 

conman33158
  • 1.27K
  • 109
  • 233
Superfast
567 Views
Message 3 of 59
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

Be about right...lol 😄

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Alex_RM
  • 4.19K
  • 235
  • 316
Forum Team
Forum Team
545 Views
Message 4 of 59
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

Hi conman33158,

 

Thanks for posting and sorry to hear you're having some issues with the service at the moment.

 

I've been able to locate your account using your forum details and can see we've identified a short term period of network instability.

 

We believe it will only be a short term issue and it will be fixed very soon.

 

However, in the mean time, it would be great if the customer could check that the coax cables are connected securely to the Virgin Media equipment, any splitters (standard and powered) and to the wall socket.

 

Alex_Rm

conman33158
  • 1.27K
  • 109
  • 233
Superfast
538 Views
Message 5 of 59
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

No problem Alex, and many thanks for coming back to me, that's good to know. The cables are all tight, checked and rechecked and everything is fine my end 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
Adduxi
  • 2.7K
  • 201
  • 563
Trouble shooter
532 Views
Message 6 of 59
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4


@conman33158 wrote:

No problem Alex, and many thanks for coming back to me, that's good to know. The cables are all tight, checked and rechecked and everything is fine my end 🙂


If you are referring to your unusual BQM "tower" spike as shown below, I also have the same on my BQM, but nothing in the hub logs?  However, it also went back to normal around the same time, so I'm guessing some sort of national outage somewhere? 

Adduxi_0-1617794449441.png

 

conman33158
  • 1.27K
  • 109
  • 233
Superfast
521 Views
Message 7 of 59
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

Hopefully it's not going to happen too often and they get it fixed as soon as 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Alex_RM
  • 4.19K
  • 235
  • 316
Forum Team
Forum Team
512 Views
Message 8 of 59
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

No worries conman33158,

 

Thanks for checking the cabling! 

 

Please keep us posted with your connection and hopefully we'll have the stability issues resolved asap.

 

Alex_Rm

risc19
  • 260
  • 9
  • 50
Fibre optic
506 Views
Message 9 of 59
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4

Amazingly it didn't happen on mine!

That being said I would be happy to swap your connection for mine.

Fancy it? VM says all is good...

conman33158
  • 1.27K
  • 109
  • 233
Superfast
493 Views
Message 10 of 59
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin Staff Member-Please Help - Broadband issues on Hub 4


@risc19 wrote:

Amazingly it didn't happen on mine!

That being said I would be happy to swap your connection for mine.

Fancy it? VM says all is good...


lol...so far so good, I do most of my stuff during the day for work and stuff and downloads in the background but still like to stream in the evening, it was even a struggle browsing the net last night which was pretty awful and being in contract you sort of think the worst, but sure if it were to stay like that I would have the joys of chasing after them looking for some dollars off my bills...lol 😄

I just reset everything and done the Mac clone on my router as well so have a new IP address so we'll see how it goes for now 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply