Menu
Reply
Wedgeh
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
707 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Hello,

I've been experiencing cripplingly slow broadband speeds for a week now. This makes it incredibly frustrating during these work from home times. I'm on the M350 package, but I barely scrape 20 down and 2 up, on a wired ethernet connection.

I've reset the router, hard reset via the button, refreshed and renewed my IP, flushed the DNS, changed the ethernet cable and even swapped the cable between the wall box and router due to having a spare from a home move. I've ensured the cabling is not damaged and connected tightly on each socket. Nothing I do seems to alleviate the situation.

I'm pasting the upstream, downstream and network logs from the hub 3.0 to which I hope someone sheds some light on this.

Thanks in advance.

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1371000000940256 qam28
22510000008.640256 qam15
32590000008.940256 qam16
42670000008.840256 qam17
5275000000940256 qam18
62830000009.440256 qam19
72910000009.840256 qam20
82990000009.940256 qam21
93070000009.640256 qam22
103150000001040256 qam23
1132300000010.340256 qam24
123470000008.840256 qam25
133550000008.940256 qam26
143630000009.140256 qam27
15379000000940256 qam29
16387000000940256 qam30
173950000009.140256 qam31
184030000009.140256 qam32
19411000000940256 qam33
204190000008.640256 qam34
21427000000940256 qam35
224350000008.940256 qam36
234430000008.640256 qam37
244510000008.540256 qam38


Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000244.25512064 qam1
2393999794.025512064 qam4
3462000214.075512064 qam3
4536999884.275512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network log

Network Log

Time Priority Description

22/04/2020 17:05:4noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2020 13:42:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2020 01:59:55ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2020 19:34:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2020 12:37:55ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2020 13:58:36criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/04/2020 08:36:19ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 15.97K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
701 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

nothing there really stands out - the downstream levels are towards the max which is +10 but are within it - maybe its that - some of the techs on here will comment

post the second page from the downstream - see if thats ok

____________________

Tony
Wedgeh
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
698 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Thanks for the quick response Tony. Here's the 2nd part of downstream.

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.960
2Locked40.900
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.900
5Locked40.950
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.950
8Locked40.930
9Locked40.900
10Locked40.9140
11Locked40.900
12Locked40.960
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.940
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.960
17Locked40.950
18Locked40.950
19Locked40.950
20Locked40.900
21Locked40.900
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.320
0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 15.97K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
688 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

assuming they are not just after a reboot they are fine - you have tried most things - i can suggest a couple more

try different test sites - try a different browser - some say that can be the problem - run a speed test in modem mode and finally run the same modem mode speed test with a wired pc in safe mode

if all those come back slow then we are both pulling hair out

____________________

Tony
Wedgeh
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
677 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Thanks again Tony.

Unfortunately, switching to modem mode made no difference. Edge, Chrome, Firefox and Opera still hit the same issue, approx 20 down and 2 up on speedtest.net.

Downloads via Steam around 2 megabytes a sec which would match up with the 20 down. Speedtest for Stadia from Google also gave the same result of 20mb down.

Also tried a laptop on 5G wireless along with my Pixel 3 XL, they also report the same speedtest result when going back to router mode and enabling the wireless. I feel, as you've suggested, that a Tech agent may need to look at this.

0 Kudos
Reply
-tony-
  • 15.97K
  • 1.26K
  • 3.76K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
672 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

ok - last input from me i guess - try a full reset - a full 30 sec on button - it will revert all settings to default so anything you have changed will have to be setup again - main thing is splitting the wifi bands and turning off smart wifi 

run another speed test and see if that helps

____________________

Tony
0 Kudos
Reply
Wedgeh
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
651 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Unfortunately, still hitting the same issue. Hard reset for 30 seconds, set up all the wifi again, disabled smart wifi and separated 2.4 and 5g SSIDs. Still getting 20 down and 2 up on a wired connection.

I tried some traceroutes to a handful of websites and they're all timing out after the 3rd hop four a couple of jumps. Not sure if this may be related. Thanks for looking into this though Tony, really appreciate it. Fingers crossed a Tech views it soon.

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.18362.778]
(c) 2019 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert bbc.co.uk

Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [151.101.192.81]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 2 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 10 ms 9 ms 9 ms 10.229.208.1
3 11 ms 10 ms 9 ms gate-core-2a-xe-714-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.7.25]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 16 ms 16 ms 15 ms tcl5-ic-5-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.84.66]
7 20 ms 19 ms 25 ms 157.52.127.10
8 17 ms 15 ms 14 ms 151.101.192.81

Trace complete.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert google.co.uk

Tracing route to google.co.uk [216.58.204.227]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 2 ms 192.168.0.1
2 10 ms 8 ms 7 ms 10.229.208.1
3 23 ms 12 ms 8 ms gate-core-2a-xe-714-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.7.25]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 18 ms 16 ms 15 ms tele-ic-8-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.252.224.94]
6 15 ms 21 ms 15 ms 126-14-250-212.static.virginm.net [212.250.14.126]
7 17 ms 22 ms 17 ms 74.125.242.65
8 22 ms 20 ms 19 ms 172.253.71.199
9 21 ms 21 ms 17 ms par21s06-in-f227.1e100.net [216.58.204.227]

Trace complete.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>tracert twitch.tv

Tracing route to twitch.tv [151.101.194.167]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms 1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 10 ms 9 ms 8 ms 10.229.208.1
3 14 ms 10 ms 21 ms gate-core-2a-xe-1102-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.0.146.21]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 18 ms 21 ms 17 ms tcl5-ic-5-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.84.66]
7 19 ms 19 ms 19 ms 157.52.127.10
8 18 ms 16 ms 14 ms 151.101.194.167

Trace complete.

C:\WINDOWS\system32>

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 15.42K
  • 662
  • 1.51K
Alessandro Volta
619 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Looks like VM QoS is working here just not enough bandwidth to go around.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Wedgeh
  • 9
  • 0
  • 3
Tuning in
538 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Well time of day definitely does not affect this problem. I'd say this is day 7/8 with crippling internet, speedtested around 2am, still getting the 20 down 2 up, then again at 9:30 this morning with the same result.

Trying to get through on the phone is nigh on impossible currently, so hoping a tech agent views this soon.

0 Kudos
Reply
Martin_N
  • 4.92K
  • 200
  • 276
Forum Team
Forum Team
515 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband below 10% of normal speeds.

Hi Wedgeh,

 

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community.

 

I'm sorry to hear about the issue you're having. 

 

I have taken a look on our side and am unable to see any issues on the account. At this point I would advise giving our team a call on 150/0345 454 1111 so they can check over the billing side of things to ensure everything is in order. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply