Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
503 Views
Message 1 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Broadband Speed Check

100 Fibre Broadband

Ref 112492_2330

New Hub 3.0 arrived and no difference, very poor, slow and intermittent connection
Speetest.net download still varying between 0.00 and 35.00, typical result below and logs as requested

From browser - 

speedtest.net
Ping 66ms
Download 4.52 Mbps
Upload 2.20 Mbps 

tracert virginmedia.com
Tracing route to virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 166 ms 3 ms 4 ms 192.168.0.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 14 ms 12 ms 11 ms uddi-core-2a-xe-823-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.242.161]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 24 ms 25 ms 29 ms know-dclcore-1a-port-channel1.network.virginmedia.net [62.254.85.18]
6 21 ms 20 ms 21 ms www.virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]

From Hub - 
Trace Statistics : traceroute to virginmedia.com (213.105.9.24), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
1 * * *
2 uddi-core-2a-xe-823-0.network.virginmedia.net (82.2.242.161) 10.000 ms 20.000 ms 10.000 ms
3 * * *
4 know-dclcore-1a-port-channel1.network.virginmedia.net (62.254.85.18) 20.000 ms 20.000 ms 20.000 ms
5 * * *
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * * (and continues all the way to number 30)

Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 259000000 9.5 38 256 qam 16
2 251000000 9.3 40 256 qam 15
3 267000000 9.5 38 256 qam 17
4 275000000 9.4 40 256 qam 18
5 283000000 9.6 40 256 qam 19
6 291000000 9.5 40 256 qam 20
7 299000000 9.9 40 256 qam 21
8 307000000 9.9 38 256 qam 22
9 315000000 9.4 38 256 qam 23
10 323000000 9.6 38 256 qam 24
11 347000000 9 40 256 qam 25
12 355000000 8.9 40 256 qam 26
13 363000000 9.3 40 256 qam 27
14 371000000 9.1 40 256 qam 28
15 379000000 9 38 256 qam 29
16 387000000 8.9 38 256 qam 30
17 395000000 8.9 38 256 qam 31
18 403000000 8.9 38 256 qam 32
19 411000000 8.6 38 256 qam 33
20 419000000 8.5 38 256 qam 34
21 427000000 8.5 40 256 qam 35
22 435000000 8 40 256 qam 36
23 443000000 8 40 256 qam 37
24 451000000 7.8 38 256 qam 38


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 38.6 5 0
2 Locked 40.3 3 0
3 Locked 38.9 7 0
4 Locked 40.3 8 0
5 Locked 40.3 6 0
6 Locked 40.3 6 0
7 Locked 40.3 6 0
8 Locked 38.9 3 0
9 Locked 38.9 8 0
10 Locked 38.9 5 0
11 Locked 40.3 14 0
12 Locked 40.3 6 0
13 Locked 40.9 1 0
14 Locked 40.9 6 0
15 Locked 38.6 8 0
16 Locked 38.9 3 0
17 Locked 38.6 10 0
18 Locked 38.9 9 0
19 Locked 38.6 8 0
20 Locked 38.9 8 0
21 Locked 40.9 10 0
22 Locked 40.3 10 0
23 Locked 40.3 11 0
24 Locked 38.9 20 0

Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 39400000 3.7 5120 64 qam 2
2 46200268 3.7 5120 64 qam 1
3 25800190 3.65 5120 64 qam 4
4 32600283 3.625 5120 64 qam 3


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0

Network Log
Time Priority Description
17/04/2020 12:28:32 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2020 12:22:30 notice SW download Successful - Via Config file
17/04/2020 12:20:41 notice SW Download INIT - Via Config file
01/01/1970 00:01:37 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/02/2020 04:51:28 notice Unit has been restored to factory defaults from a software issued command;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:44 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 16:15:59 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 16:15:59 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 16:15:58 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 16:15:58 critical SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/09/2019 16:15:58 Warning! RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/09/2019 07:14:34 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 22:12:44 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 22:12:44 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 07:45:52 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/09/2019 02:22:0 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/09/2019 17:19:6 Error DHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2019 10:48:21 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2019 07:22:41 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsxl20016u+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/09/2019 07:22:41 Error DHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;


0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
493 Views
Message 2 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

I'm guessing this is a wireless connection?

The first line of your traceroute would suggest wireless interference from somewhere.
Tracing route to virginmedia.com [213.105.9.24]over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 166 ms 3 ms 4 ms 192.168.0.1

The "166 ms" is the time to get a response between your device and the router. 166ms is very high. I imagine it's also varying each time you do a traceroute or ping.

There's some things we can do to figure out what's causing it. If you tell me what device(s) do you use to connect to the internet we should hopefully figure it out.

Also can you describe where the router is and where you would be in relation to it when you get bad speeds?
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
485 Views
Message 3 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

Router Hub 3.0 has been in same location for over three years, no issues until now 
A replacement arrived this morning 
Upstairs in room two, corner of building 

Use Acrylic a few times each year to compare local routers 
Channel 11 applied manually

Connected devices - 
Laptop One located on ground floor directly under router
MAIN-PC
Distance to router about 5 metres 

Laptop Two located on ground floor directly under router 
LAPTOP-TWO 
Distance to router about 5 metres 

Panasonic TV located on ground floor directly under router
65AX900
Distance to router about 2 metres 

Sony Home Cinema located on ground floor directly under router 
Blu Ray
Distance to router about 2 metres 

iPhone 5C (one) located on ground floor directly under router 
XXXX
Distance to router about 5 metres
Virgin Media Connect App in use, returns Good service on test connection 

HP Officejet located upstairs on opposite of building from router 
HP6XXX
Distance to router about 10 metres

None of these devices move throughout the property 
There are other devices, not currently connected, but not had any issues with any of these in the past

Laptop One and Two are identical (purchased both at the same time) 
When the connection is slow or unresponsive I turn on Laptop Two and compare 
Browser is Google Chrome 

Devices connect to the router without any issue

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
465 Views
Message 4 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

Tried a few different URL

tracert 192.168.0.1
Tracing route to 192.168.0.1 over a maximum of 30 hops
1 8 ms 5 ms 4 ms 192.168.0.1
Trace complete.

tracert bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [151.101.0.81] over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 116 ms General failure.
Trace complete.

tracert facebook.com
Tracing route to facebook.com [157.240.1.35]over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 38 ms 5 ms 4 ms 192.168.0.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 13 ms 14 ms 12 ms uddi-core-2a-xe-823-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.242.161]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 33 ms 33 ms 19 ms tcl3-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.198]
6 24 ms 41 ms 22 ms m494-mp2.cvx3-a.ltn.dial.ntli.net [213.104.85.238]
7 44 ms 35 ms 86 ms po161.asw01.lhr3.tfbnw.net [129.134.44.204]
8 23 ms 24 ms 30 ms po556.psw01.lhr6.tfbnw.net [129.134.44.223]
9 22 ms 32 ms 25 ms 173.252.67.37
10 30 ms 77 ms 20 ms edge-star-mini-shv-01-lht6.facebook.com [157.240.1.35]
Trace complete.

tracert sky.com
Tracing route to sky.com [90.216.128.5]over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 36 ms 4 ms 3 ms 192.168.0.1
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 21 ms 10 ms 13 ms uddi-core-2a-xe-823-0.network.virginmedia.net [82.2.242.161]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 24 ms 24 ms 24 ms telw-ic-2-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.174.81]
7 69 ms 34 ms 25 ms m478-mp2.cvx3-a.ltn.dial.ntli.net [213.104.85.222]
8 39 ms 36 ms 34 ms 02780903.bb.sky.com [2.120.9.3]
9 34 ms 34 ms 39 ms 027ff13f.bb.sky.com [2.127.241.63]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
457 Views
Message 5 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

Brilliant, ta. Never heard of Acrylic before, just checked it out. Looks good. If you've already used this to make sure you're on a clear channel then we've at least ruled that out.

The trouble with wifi scanners is that they can only see wifi channels in use. The 2.4ghz frequency unfortunately is full of all kinds of other noise as it was pretty unregulated, which you might already know about.

The easiest solution here would be to move to a 5ghz channel but unfortunately that needs the laptops to have a 5ghz capable wifi adapter which they don't all have. If you want to share the make and model of the laptops I can check if they're able to use 5ghz.

If 5ghz isn't an option we can look at what's going on on the 2.4ghz range and see if we can figure out what could be causing it. One thing, when you scan the other networks around you is there any on channels 10 or 12, as unfortunately the channels overlap slightly? Ideally we'd need one with no-one on either side of it.

If you don't have Acrylic handy and you're using Windows, a very quick way to get info about surrounding wifi is to open a command prompt (press Windows button on keyboard then type 'cmd' without quotes) then type in:
netsh wlan show networks mode = bssid

then press enter. You can just copy and paste it from above. It will tell you how many networks are in your area and what channel they're all on.

Let me know how you get on. Hopefully the laptops will be able to use 5ghz. If so I'm confident we could have this sorted this evening.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
446 Views
Message 6 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

Laptops One and Two 
Toshiba C55-C-1M9
Result from 
netsh wlan show drivers
Radio types supported : 802.11n 802.11g 802.11b
So sadly 2.4GHz only, do not support 5.0GHz, but I already knew that 
However, my Panasonic TV supports 5.0GHz, so it is the only device connected 

As you can see I have forced Channel 11 on the Hub and there is no overlap, hence why I chose it
SSID is
Space Bear

** Attempted to upload JPG image, but all I ended up with was a generic triangle **
2020 04 17-01.jpg

netsh wlan show networks mode = bssid

Interface name : WiFi
There are 7 networks currently visible.

SSID 1 : Space Bear
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP

SSID 2 : SKYL1Q5G
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP

SSID 3 : BTHub6-3T8X
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP

SSID 4 : VM2259614
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP

SSID 5 : Virgin Media
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Enterprise
Encryption : CCMP

SSID 6 : VM1701398
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP

SSID 7 : BTHub6-7TJR
Network type : Infrastructure
Authentication : WPA2-Personal
Encryption : CCMP

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 25
  • 0
  • 7
On our wavelength
352 Views
Message 7 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

The picture will eventually upload. I imagine the delay is there to make sure we don't post anything too saucy 🙂

Good work with the tests. Pity about the laptops.

I'm struggling to think what it could be. The trouble is it sounds like you know what you're doing with troubleshooting wifi problems, and you've said nothing changed when this began, but then those lag spikes on your first hops are almost definitely due to some sort of interference. It is possible to have some external interference, but then that would affect your neighbours as well and the only equipment that could produce it would be something industrial that you'd notice.

The most common issue I used to encounter was wireless phone base units. I don't suppose there's one of those near the router is there?

The only other thing I can think of just now would be, could you run this in command prompt please?
ping -t 192.168.0.1

Let it run for about 30 seconds and then paste the results in here. This is just to try and see if there's a pattern to it.

EDIT: Sorry, also the channel numbers are missing from the netsh command. Can you run it again and just make a note of the channel numbers please?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
382 Views
Message 8 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

Tested my Panasonic TV with this replacement Hub 3 
The Netflix App is still stalled, which confirms the broadband speed is insufficient for the 4K account (as it did this in October 2019 and was eventually traced to this issue)
When I login to my Netflix account and set to HD the App loads, but as soon as I select anything in 4K the App stalls

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
369 Views
Message 9 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

Connected both Laptops direct to Hub
Speed is even worse!
2020 04 18-01.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 87
  • 0
  • 6
On our wavelength
362 Views
Message 10 of 34
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Speed Check

It has taken over 5 minutes to get an internet connection again once connected back to WiFi network
2020 04 18-02.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply