Menu
Reply
MrB999
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
701 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

I wonder if anyone can help please, as our broadband does not work as expected.  For particularly the past week, our broadband has been flaky at best.  We are on the 200MB package, Hub 3 with currently two new Virgin Media Wifi Extenders, two gaming PCs plugged into the extenders for a LAN connection and multiple wifi connected devices. We are set using the default (supposedly) Intelligent Wifi settings (auto-switch between 2.4 and 5, same name, extenders with same network name as Hub 3 etc).

The LAN connected PCs speeds keep dropping - the latest this morning on one of the PCs was 0.49 download, 5.41 upstream, and that is when it had a connection.  The speeds keep fluctuating.  In addition, we can see full bars on the wifi, but sometimes slow speeds and on some occasions no connection (to the point one of our iPhones has used up all its Three data allowance this month, despite being in the house for most of it, as it has defaulted to Three instead of Virgin Media - when Three is an improvement, there is obviously something wrong 🤣).  As you can appreciate, this is causing a lot of annoyance with the kids gaming, and me constantly trying to solve it!  This has been happening off and on for weeks - I have been on to technical support a few times, resulting in the two extender kits so far (a third one is on its way today as their suggested solution), but that doesn't seem to be solving the issue. On wifi connected devices, unless in the room with the Hub, we are lucky to get near 10 downstream at any time (and the main time we may see near 200mbs is when we have reset the router). 

The router status reports downstream/upstream mentioned on another thread are as follows:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14027500001.438256 qam30
22027500002.938256 qam9
32107500002.237256 qam10
4218750000238256 qam11
52267500001.937256 qam12
62347500001.437256 qam13
72427500001.238256 qam14
82507500001.937256 qam15
92587500002.538256 qam16
102667500002.538256 qam17
112747500002.438256 qam18
12282750000238256 qam19
132907500002.238256 qam20
142987500002.238256 qam21
153067500002.438256 qam22
163147500002.538256 qam23
173227500002.938256 qam24
18330750000338256 qam25
193707500001.438256 qam26
20378750000138256 qam27
21386750000138256 qam28
223947500001.238256 qam29
234107500001.538256 qam31
244187500001.438256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.63050
2Locked38.62670
3Locked37.62640
4Locked38.62070
5Locked37.63210
6Locked37.62940
7Locked38.62990
8Locked37.61970
9Locked38.63470
10Locked38.61610
11Locked38.61690
12Locked38.61870
13Locked38.61560
14Locked38.62180
15Locked38.91820
16Locked38.62580
17Locked38.92210
18Locked38.62730
19Locked38.93920
20Locked38.64720
21Locked38.943015
22Locked38.93440
23Locked38.635712
24Locked38.63110

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394000004.654512064 qam6
2258000004.654512064 qam8
3326000004.654512064 qam7
4462000004.654512064 qam5



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

I have tried resetting the Hub (pinhole, more than 60 seconds), resetting the extenders, using the new Cat cables that came with the extenders, switching router and extenders off and on again (the default technical response), but then there may be a brief improvement followed by fluctuating connection and generally slow speeds again.

Any suggestions to solve this would be appreciated please.

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
695 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

What is your connection like with a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 cable between the Hub and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
0 Kudos
Reply
MrB999
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
677 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Thank you for your reply.  I have just tested now, while it seems to be behaving, with my laptop plugged directly into the router.  I am at the moment getting:

Wired, 164 Mbps

Wifi  8.2 Mbps down/8.6Mbps up

The wired doesn't look bad in this scenario, but the computers are not based in this room and I understood when plugged into the Virgin Wifi-Extenders we would get reasonable speeds through both the LAN and also the wifi. 

It looks like I need to go through and again reset the extenders.

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
MikeRobbo
  • 15.27K
  • 1.17K
  • 1.94K
Alessandro Volta
668 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

VM Hubs are renowned for their poor Wi-Fi, and at the best of times Wi-Fi is a fickle beast that can be affected by numerous things such as distance from the Hub,  building construction, other electronic devices, neighbouring Wi-Fi, basically all sorts.

VM supply to the Hub, after the Hub it is up to you.

Many on here, myself included advocate the use of a third party Gigabit capable Wi-Fi router or Mesh system.

You may be as well refining your Wi-Fi management, it might not fix your problem but will certainly help keeping track of your Wi-Fi frequencies.

Instructions for Hub 3

Log in to the Hub.

Advanced Settings > Wireless Signal > click ‘Disable Channel Optimization’ > Click ‘Apply Changes’.

Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security > Add 2 to the 2.4GHz Channel name > Add 5 to the 5 GHz Channel name > Click ‘Apply Changes’

You can leave the passwords the same as they are. 

Log out of the Hub.

You will need to reconnect all you Wi-Fi devices some will want to connect to 5Ghz and some to 2.4GHz and some will connect to either.

2.4GHz is a stronger signal but slower than 5GHz so if you have problems on 5GHz change to 2.4GHz.


*********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
BT Smart Hub 2 with 70Mbs Download,18Mbs Upload, 9.17ms Latency & 0.35ms Jitter.
MrB999
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
594 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Thank you.

I reset the router and the Wi-fi extenders - they took HOURS to re-pair despite being in the next sockets and returning to factory settings. A couple seem to have forgotten the settings again this morning as they are showing their original name and password, not the router settings that were copied over last night, and flashing red. 

I have separated 2.4 and 5, but I suspect I will have to change them back as some phones are now dropping the Wi-fi rather than switching to the other signal.

Life as a Virgin Media customer is never smooth - we shouldn't even need the extenders if the Hub 3 worked properly. We had BT previously and it was a joy with a strong/stable Wi-fi signal throughout the house and everything connecting by Wi-fi - despite "only" having 50mbps at the time compared to 200 now!

0 Kudos
Reply
Katie_WT
  • 4.81K
  • 292
  • 543
Forum Team
Forum Team
586 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Hi there @MrB999

 

Hope things are looking better after our Community member @MikeRobbo has given you some advise. 

 

I was able to take a look at your account from your forum information and can see we have recently sent more Boosters to you in addition to the ones you already have. Have these arrived as yet? We're they meant as a replacement or addition?

 

I've tried going through some checks at this end - I can see that it's been around 24 hours since a reboot and all signal levels are where they should be. We have no errors showing and we have no known area issues so that's a good positive start. 

 

As you are using boosters, we can't do many more checks remotely as we can't see your devices; we can see however that there is one device that is too close to the Hub and is causing interference with your bandwidth.

 

Let us know about those Boosters if you can so we can update your account. 

 

Cheers

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
MrB999
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
558 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Thank you Katie - the additional wifi booster arrived yesterday.  I phoned 150 and went through to broadband faults, and this was the solution they suggested to resolve further wifi blackspots. As I understood it was free and included in my package, I accepted their recommendation.  If you can tell from your system what device is interfering with the wifi signal, please can you share the MAC by PM?  We haven't made any changes to any devices near it in years, and it is this past week or so that we have been having significant drop-out issues on the broadband.

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 3.06K
  • 195
  • 298
Forum Team
Forum Team
525 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Hi MrB999,

 

I'm happy to hear that the boosters arrived yesterday. Have you been able to set them up yet? Let us know how things go with them in place.

 

Sadly, we wouldn't be able to confirm your MAC address, as this is classed as personal account/equipment information. However your MAC address will be written on the sticker on the bottom of your router. 

 

Are there any devices that are quite close to the router connected via WiFi? Where possible, I'd recommend connecting devices close to the hub via Ethernet cable.

 

We wouldn't be able to confirm the exact device name over a public post. If you would still like to understand the exact device that may be causing interference, let me know and I'll send you a PM.

 

Kind regards,

 

Beth

0 Kudos
Reply
MrB999
  • 18
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
522 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Thanks Beth, if you could confirm by PM which device is causing interference that would be greatly appreciated to narrow it down.

Yes we have the extenders set up - they are not as straightforward as the instructions suggest as it took hours (not 10 mins!) trying to get them paired, even when in the next socket. They are mostly working, but every so often can drop the connection with the flashing red light. I am not sure if there is a way to stop that?

Thank you.

0 Kudos
Reply
Beth_G
  • 3.06K
  • 195
  • 298
Forum Team
Forum Team
516 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Broadband Slow, Particularly on LAN, Wifi Issues

Hi MrB999,

 

No problem - I'll pop you over a PM so I can pass security and then confirm that with you. You can find my message over at the purple envelope 🙂

 

In regards to the boosters issue, I would say that it's likely that the boosters are losing initial connection to the internet. If you have recently noticed other hard wired devices losing connection, I would say it's going to be the same problem affecting the boosters, rather a fault with the boosters themselves.

 

Beth

0 Kudos
Reply